09/17--PHOEBE- amps-500, +7-74, +8-86, +9-117, pmps-271, +4-96, +5-87,, +6-69, +6.5-101, +7-126

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...61-pmps-91-1-5-129-4-225.268467/#post-3000379

well skipping that evening insulin for the 91 not so good.....
note : learn more on giving insulin when low and on time.
I have faith--I have great support.
When you're new to this they usually tell you not to give insulin if it's 150 or below post and ask for advice something like Date Phoebe the BG number Stalling Help
You will stall for 20 minutes and test her again and see if it's going up on it's own
As long as you can test her until her BG is safe ,you have your med and high carb food and honey .

Found this on one of your posts that Kyle posted
SLGS says:


Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check forketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilars users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
  • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.

@eva eva
 
Last edited:
You shot a 188 BG on 9-10 PMPS and she earned the reduction, you just have to be able to monitor her in the future if it's around the same BG and you shoot.
But you can always post and ask for advice
@eva eva
 
BFF play chicken cherish
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 135%
gave 2 tsp and ate 1

the other stuff was 14 % carb I believe Friskies turkey and cheese in gravy. i have aanother can marked "rescue"

?symptomatic? jump off her stool and did the "whoa!" I landed on the floor" action. recovered. laying down right now grooming herself.
 
BFF play chicken cherish
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 135%
gave 2 tsp and ate 1

the other stuff was 14 % carb I believe Friskies turkey and cheese in gravy. i have aanother can marked "rescue"

?symptomatic? jump off her stool and did the "whoa!" I landed on the floor" action. recovered. laying down right now grooming herself.
The BFF chicken cherish was fine
I'll be watching for when you test again
Yes the
Turkey & Cheese Dinner in Gravy = 14% carbs
 
86-----do i add somewhere --remarks?--on RX?

Wait an hour and check again---or another tsp?---no symptoms
 
Last edited:
Congrats on the reduction. I’d get a +2 or +3 and unless dropping you will likely be able to call it a night. You will hold 1.5 fir 7 days unless the bg falls under 90. If that happens you take another reduction. With SLGS any cycle where there’s a bg under 90 you reduce at the next cycle.
 
Congrats on the reduction. I’d get a +2 or +3 and unless dropping you will likely be able to call it a night. You will hold 1.5 fir 7 days unless the bg falls under 90. If that happens you take another reduction. With SLGS any cycle where there’s a bg under 90 you reduce at the next cycle.

Thank-you for the help.
Now we are out +4 and she is 96. Recheck in 1 hour? or give lc food and recheck in 1 hour?
@tiffmaxee
@Diane Tyler's Mom
 
one hour later----after theh bff 5% cho-----69. friskies 14% turkey and cheese with gravy. 1-2 tsp lapped up mostly gravy.--testing in 1/2 hour
 
one hour later----after theh bff 5% cho-----69. friskies 14% turkey and cheese with gravy. 1-2 tsp lapped up mostly gravy.--testing in 1/2 hour
Man is Phoebe really working that insulin, another reduction earned, post again in 1/2 hour , I'll look. While you're waiting write in your remarks section on your SS what you fed
@eva eva
 
ah finally.....She settling in....126 without any added cho.
night time.
Beautiful , I think you can go to bed , She's doing so amazing
Talk to you tomorrow :bighug::bighug::cat:
@eva eva

Edit don't forget new dose tomorrow is 1.25 units
She's come so far
Do you have another pic of her so we can see her up close
Love her little white paws , looks like she has a white bib on :p
Shes adorable
 
Last edited:
Back
Top