09/15 Blackie AMPS 291; +4 125; PMPS 138; +4 228

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 09/15 Blackie AMPS 291

Sounds like Mannie - not much of a player, more of a watcher/investigator. Fun when they do play.

Have a great day, hope you see good numbers today for Blackie.
 
Re: 09/15 Blackie AMPS 291; +4 125; PMPS 138

Can you say... SSSSWWWWWEEEEETTTTTTT? :D

Makes me wonder what she did between +4 and PMPS, however, I'll take those #'s. :) I wasn't hesitant about shooting the full dose, either. My only concern is that I hope that she doesn't drop down to the low greens tonight. I can't be awake all night to test her. She'll get a test at +5 tonight before I go to bed, and then she'll get a snack after her test.
 
Re: 09/15 Blackie AMPS 291; +4 125; PMPS 138

Awesome PMPS!! flip_cat YAY!!!

Angela, please do get a +1 test and post it...you don't know for sure whether she is rising or falling, and it will give you an idea of how closely you need to monitor her. Do you have HC and test strips?

(Did I do ok, Ronnie? :mrgreen: )
 
Re: 09/15 Blackie AMPS 291; +4 125; PMPS 138

You've never shot this low before. PLEASE get a +1 and a +2. This is for Blackie's safety.
 
Re: 09/15 Blackie AMPS 291; +4 125; PMPS 138

At +1, she'd be rising, which she did 2 days ago as it was food spiked. I normally get a minimum of a +3 to +6 as I believe that's when the insulin starts taking affect...? I'm sure that I'm wrong in saying that, but I thought I read that somewhere.
 
Re: 09/15 Blackie AMPS 291; +4 125; PMPS 138

Angela, you don't know that, you need to test. If she is falling and you wait until +3, she may be too low already. When you shoot a low PS, you reduce your safety margin, so you need to monitor more closely. Blackie will be fine, you just need to do the testing.

I know what's "supposed" to happen, but you know how kitties are, they don't always follow the rules! ;-)

I shoot low numbers, but I always get a +1 and +2, you need to do that for safety.
 
Re: 09/15 Blackie AMPS 291; +4 125; PMPS 138

angela, on monday you wrote:
Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
No, the 3.25 was not a typo. I didn't want to shoot 4.25 for fear of her hypo-ing so I dropped the dose 1 unit. These blue #'s are extremely new to me, and I'm feeling apprehensive about shooting 4.25 when she's at a good #. I don't want her dropping into the 20's again.
please take some time to review the lengthy response i wrote: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... 54#p249654.
click on the links. we're dealing with overlap and carryover with lantus. there's a steep learning curve, but after awhile it all makes sense.

one of the points mentioned...
"ok, so i polished up my BOS, took a deep breath, and shot a full dose on the lowest preshot number i've yet to see. now what?
get those early spot checks... the +1 and +2, for sure. why? because the +1 *should* be higher than the ps number (food spike). the +2 *should* be about the same as the ps number. if they're not, that's your clue to monitor more closely than usual. depending on the cat (ECID) you may even want to feed a little bit to slow the drop. the first few times you go through this, i encourage you to post for guidance. there is always someone around who has "been there, done that" and will be happy to guide you through."


please, ask any questions you may have.

there's no way to tell by just looking at a cat if their numbers will continue to drop before the next shot kicks in. you've only collected one +1 since blackie started on lantus. that's just not enough data collected for anyone to be able to draw any conclusions as to how blackie or any other kitty will react at any given time.

as i mentioned, those early spot checks are important when shooting numbers lower than what you're used to seeing.
we don't want blackie dropping into the 20s any more than you do... that's why the suggestions have been made.

another suggestion...
after you post, please check back whenever you can to see if there are any responses. if something doesn't sound right to you or if you have any questions, let's talk about it.

we all have the same goals. we're here not only to help you bring down blackie's numbers, but we want a happy and healthy kitty.
safety is and always has been the number one priority. kwim?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top