09/14---PHOEBE--amps-300, +5.75-136, +7-163, pmps 427, +4-232

eva eva

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-7-102-pmps-341-6-75-301.268346/#post-2999413

each morning a little lower on the sugar---let's keep this going!

Wellness Core dry original is now being ignored.....:blackeye::(

has anyone tried to spray a home made chicken broth on dry food to get their babies to eat?
I wonder what a real chicken broth would be in carbs? Any calculators out there?

Snickers is fighting tooth/nail not to eat moist. He cries each feeding--I give in after 20 min, Friskies party.
Phoebe she hates the new so she just eats her moist for what I can monitor.
One-eyed Jack eats-- my 16 lb yellow tiger--but now not the dry
Moosey eats moist and dry but turns up her nose to the Wellness Core and all other dry.
Except ALL of them love the Friskies Party Mix --Original the best and Beachside crunch second.

Outside kitties, Eyesy, Momma Kitty, and Tigger are loving the FF left overs. They get Friskies moist also.
They don't like the new dry kibbles either. No sign of Sassy yet.
Winter is coming. I feed extra in the cold months, Oct-March, outside for their internal heat needs.
What is a mother to do?
 
Go over to this thread you posted I gave some suggestions
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-12-phoebe-working-on-getting-lc-dry-kibble.268301/

Also try putting a little tuna water on the wet food, only the tuna packed in water
I also see some members sprinkle
fortiflora on the wet food

Did a search and also found this posted by a member
sprinkle food with :
- forta flora -- a probiotic you can get at vets or online. is very smelly and cats love the taste of it.
- parm. cheese
-
- Purebites Duck Liver -- crushed and put on as a topper.
- bonito tuna flakes
- halo chicken treats -- crumble into dust over food
- poor a little water from tuna in water over food ( I use low sodium/no sodium added as other kinds in water has veg. broth in it and I assume that means onions, which are toxic to cats-- check labels)
-powdered oregano. yep sounds weird . but some cats like it and it will entice them to eat.

other ideas of foods to offer your kitty to stim appy:
Chicken broth low sodium
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
 
Last edited:
Go over to this thread you posted I gave some suggestions
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-12-phoebe-working-on-getting-lc-dry-kibble.268301/

Also try putting a little tuna water on the wet food, only the tuna packed in water
I also see some members sprinkle
fortiflora on the wet food

Did a search and also found this posted by a member
sprinkle food with :
- forta flora -- a probiotic you can get at vets or online. is very smelly and cats love the taste of it.
- parm. cheese
-
- Purebites Duck Liver -- crushed and put on as a topper.
- bonito tuna flakes
- halo chicken treats -- crumble into dust over food
- poor a little water from tuna in water over food ( I use low sodium/no sodium added as other kinds in water has veg. broth in it and I assume that means onions, which are toxic to cats-- check labels)
-powdered oregano. yep sounds weird . but some cats like it and it will entice them to eat.

other ideas of foods to offer your kitty to stim appy:
Chicken broth low sodium
-
-
-
-
-
-
-


ooooooo!!! good ideas!
which gives me another---catnip sprinkle?
 
ooooooo!!! good ideas!
which gives me another---catnip sprinkle?
I never heard of this one , can they eat catnip?
From what I'm seeing on our site you are better off boiling chicken breast and using the broth from that, then you can give the chicken to the kitties
Regular chicken breasts , no skin on them
@eva eva
 
Last edited:
years ago--my mother used to buy chicken hearts at the butchers--she would cook them, cut them up and feed them to our cat, Spooky. He loved them.
In 1 cup--alot!----there is .1gm cho. is that 1% or 10% in cho for a cup? Do I have to break that down to 1 oz to get a cho %?
How does it convert from grams to percentage if I got that wrong.?

my head hurts.
o_O
 
years ago--my mother used to buy chicken hearts at the butchers--she would cook them, cut them up and feed them to our cat, Spooky. He loved them.
In 1 cup--alot!----there is .1gm cho. is that 1% or 10% in cho for a cup? Do I have to break that down to 1 oz to get a cho %?
How does it convert from grams to percentage if I got that wrong.?

my head hurts.
o_O
I have no idea , I have never had to use anything to put on Tyler's food to get him to eat, maybe start a post on the main forum
Put ? Boiled Chicken hearts
Just copy what you just asked me and paste it
 
some people say you have to get the kibble literally out of the house. Cats can still smell it even if in a sealed container and it can make transitioning to wet/canned food virtually impossible

we found this to be true, when we switched all six fur-babies to canned food we had to remove all the kibble from the house. Some of the more stubborn kittahs would just hold out and not eat the canned food because they could still smell the kibble.
 
some people say you have to get the kibble literally out of the house. Cats can still smell it even if in a sealed container and it can make transitioning to wet/canned food virtually impossible

we found this to be true, when we switched all six fur-babies to canned food we had to remove all the kibble from the house. Some of the more stubborn kittahs would just hold out and not eat the canned food because they could still smell the kibble.

i wish I could put a big laugh emoji on this one......:) OR a Dracula face.
I really think you have this one. This morning I caved to Snickers......he has the most pitiful beggin meow.

I would love to just ditch all the kibble---all of it..... I'ma scared!!!
They may starve in 2 hours!
Honestly, what we don't do for these little purrfect creatures of God.
 
i wish I could put a big laugh emoji on this one......:) OR a Dracula face.
I really think you have this one. This morning I caved to Snickers......he has the most pitiful beggin meow.

I would love to just ditch all the kibble---all of it..... I'ma scared!!!
They may starve in 2 hours!
Honestly, what we don't do for these little purrfect creatures of God.

@eva eva
442-4422747_yellow-laughing-emoji-png-clipart-laughing-smiley-face.png
 
that is so weird.
I entered the 301 @6.75 on my baby laptop last night. But it doesn't show up on my desk computer.
Am I losing it? How does this occur?

this happens when things fail to sync, either the laptop lost it's internet connection or didn't talk to google sheets in the cloud properly for some reason so your changes didn't get saved to the cloud and when you looked on your desktop, it was like you never did it.
 
some people say you have to get the kibble literally out of the house. Cats can still smell it even if in a sealed container and it can make transitioning to wet/canned food virtually impossible

we found this to be true, when we switched all six fur-babies to canned food we had to remove all the kibble from the house. Some of the more stubborn kittahs would just hold out and not eat the canned food because they could still smell the kibble.

I found the same. I saved one bag of kibble in a closed room. The other day I left the door open and Squirrel ran in and began chewing on the bag. But they are both fine on the canned, and eat it with good appetite.
 
WE are rocking these numbers!!!!!! 136 @5.75!!!!
Should I stay at the 1.75 units for the pmps dose?

@Diane Tyler's Mom

@tiffmaxee

@Hendrick Cuddleclaw

As Diane stated, under SLGS you reduce the dose if Phoebe throws you a number under 90, so a 136 means stay the course. If you do catch her going under 90 then yes, reduce the next dose by .25

But keep in mind that lantus acts like a depot drug so for a couple days after changing a dose, kitty is essentially still on the old dose. That is probably confusing, maybe someone else can explain it better.
 
I think you can wait until PMPS test, did she come up on her own or did you feed her anything @+5.75?
@eva eva

She came up by herself. I didn't feed.
I understand now. If she should go under 90 at any? sugar check. Then I should reduce her next insulin by .25unit.

You guys are awesome
I was outside building an insulated entry for my ferals.

Yes, i am the crazy cat lady......
I use to have over 16 cats at one time---feral.
 
She came up by herself. I didn't feed.
I understand now. If she should go under 90 at any? sugar check. Then I should reduce her next insulin by .25unit.

You guys are awesome
I was outside building an insulated entry for my ferals.

Yes, i am the crazy cat lady......
I use to have over 16 cats at one time---feral.
You got it ! She's doing good so far. You are amazing building an insulated for your ferals ♥
 
She came up by herself. I didn't feed.
I understand now. If she should go under 90 at any? sugar check. Then I should reduce her next insulin by .25unit.

You guys are awesome
I was outside building an insulated entry for my ferals.

Yes, i am the crazy cat lady......
I use to have over 16 cats at one time---feral.
Good for you. When I moved into this building 24 years ago there were about 30 ferals, all fixed and fed with houses. My current kitty was one of the last kittens born. Almost all of this colony have crossed the rainbow bridge
I discovered today that if I mix in some juice from a can of tuna in water she goes nuts and gobbles it down. I googled it and didn't find anything that might seem bad for her in moderation.
But it really was great because I didn't have to resort to contraband.
 
not that gender matters but this guy is a guy :)

my wife feeds some ferals and one or two will mark the area every time they visit, it smells pretty bad. Sometimes they mark my car :(
 
:coffee::coffee::cool::cool:Lemon juice in a spray bottle mixed with water. I squirt this all over the back porch area --and no more spraying. I also have a lawn sprayer i mix lemon juice into and spray a perimeter in the yard. and no poopoo or spray.
They don't like the smell --it doesn't say there is another male here---and the kitties do their duty further away from house. I built an outdoor kitty litter out of peatmoss, sand, potting soil with two layers of free bricks I got. they do their duty there and don't have to scoop it disintegrates --I just rake it over once in awhile. no poopoo in the yard. it is about 2' x 4' under an evergreen.
 
Back
Top