09-14 Booger AMPS 68 PMPS 95

Status
Not open for further replies.

MartinJA527

Member Since 2014
Ok, I need some advice here. I'm stalling already without feeding. But can someone with experience make sense of what my cat is telling me? We've had 3 pre-shots in the greens and I've shot each time on time but at reduced doses. I'm stalling today because I don't know how low she went last night or if she's rising. What's going on?
 
Re: 09-14 Booger AMBG 68 What to do? +12.25 62

I am not an expert. Hopefully someone else will come along to help you. But, if it were me, I wouldn't shoot a 68. Better safe than sorry.
 
Re: 09-14 Booger AMBG 68 What to do? +12.25 62

If you do not know how low she went last night, I would not shoot.

Lantus protocol is based upon NADIR and not pre-shot, but such a low pre-shot should correlate to it being low last night.

And agree whole heartedly that it is "Better to be safe....."

I am sure someone will come along soon who is experienced and can give you some more thorough advice. It is still early in the morning and on a Sunday no less.

Take care,
 
Re: 09-14 Booger AMBG 68 What to do? +12.25 62

I can't give dosing advise, hopefully some east coast people will be on board soon.
The one question you have to ask your self, am I able to monitor and prepared to handle low numbers.
If no one comes on soon I would skip if you are concerned. It's better to be high for a day then to low for a minute..
 
Re: 09-14 Booger AMBG 68 What to do? +12.25 62

Update: At 12.50 she was 66 and trembling so I fed her. At this point I am planning not to shoot. Would still like some insight on what ya'lls thoughts are for future dosing and what may be going on. Thanks.

Thanks for your thoughts, I'm with you.. No shot for us today.
 
Re: 09-14 Booger AMBG 68 What to do? +12.25 62

Setting this morning aside for a moment, it looks like you've been shooting a reduced dose the last couple of nights when you've had lower pre-shot numbers. Generally, you want to stick with a dose. Changing the dose the last couple of evenings can result in weird numbers. At this point, Booger's numbers haven't warranted a dose reduction.

What it looks like is happening is that Booger is responding to this dose. I'm not a huge fan of stalling but I do understand how if you're not used to seeing lower numbers, it's a little nerve wracking. I'd really encourage you to start thinking about what numbers you'll be comfortable at so you can start to shoot low ('cause there's a good change Booger isn't going to give you a choice).
 
Re: 09-14 Booger AMBG 68 What to do? +12.25 62

I would get a test a couple hours after Booger ate to see if the numbers are trending up and how fast. It will help you with future decisions when you see a low green at am/pmps. Max often is green at night and if he stays green by the morning trends up from there. Also, is it possible for you to get either a +3 or 64 at night? I find by doing that I have a better indication of what Max will do the rest of the night cycle.
 
Re: 09-14 Booger AMBG 68 What to do? +12.25 62

i bookmarked a recent post that has an explanation about shooting low (ie, shooting the full dose into normal numbers). Maybe that explanation will be helpful to you in understanding when you should shoot low, and what to expect might happen if you do. Take a look at the spreadsheets I've linked and see what happens when people shoot low. It's often the turning point in their cat's diabetes dance. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121668&p=1266813#p1266813 Having Booger give you this opportunity is a gift! You want to be ready the next time it happens!
 
Well, We read over Sienne's post and the others and thought about it for a long time this morning. As it was already late we couldn't take that back so we shot a stalled number. I thought she was going to present us with the same opportunity this evening and she was close but we did shoot green again tonight. Thank you everyone for all the advice. Julie's post really is helpful and hopefully it will give us the courage we need to shoot those numbers next time because remission is our goal and as Sienne says Booger probably "won't give us a choice". We're going to do it next time barring any reason not to (such as her being sick, not eating, not being here to monitor)
 
it really is pretty counter-intuitive, isn't it? you'd think shooting a low number would immediately send a cat into trouble. it takes a little bit of a leap of faith to do it.

Always get a +1 and a +2 - that's key to knowing what's coming and keeping your sweet little booger safe. :-D :lol: i just love her name! ;-)
 
Yes, it is. I really didn't want to stall this morning but again I was scared.. If only I would've known what she was up to last night.. I have become very fond of those greens and we finally decided not shooting wasn't an option as we didn't want that much of a backslide.

We've been keeping a very close eye on her. Haha, she is a sweet girl. We love it too.. and her very much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top