09/13 Java AMPS 173......Shoot or not? New to stalling

Status
Not open for further replies.

javasfambam

Member Since 2014
Hi LL!

Java is feeling better, and eating better - although not totally back to his piggy ways.......maybe this means he is doing well on insulin and getting enough from what we give him?

Anyway, we have our first blue morning - 173..........i know newbies are advised not to shoot under 200, feed then stall. Which I have done. I have a couple of questions

Do I shoot when he gets above 200?
Do I shoot his normal amount?
Do i move his evening shot to the time that I end up shooting?
If I have to leave before he comes up, do I leave the shot and just shoot tonight? (I have an appointment in 45 minutes!)

Happy Saturday!

C
 
I can't give dosing advise, but I can tell you that we Dont feed when stalling. Cause the next number you get will be influenced by the food. When stalling generally retest after 30 min to confirm that the BG is rising. Another thing to consider when shooting a new lower number is if you will be around for testing
Hopefully someone else can advise on dose.
 
Thanks Charlie - just tested again and 30 minutes after a little nibble on his breakfast he is still falling, 157 now.

Ill test again, but might leave the shot this morning. Ill be out for about 2 hours and Java has shown previously that he drops like a stone once he gets started!

Ill remember about the not feeding when stalling! Whoops :) Rookie mistake!
 
Hi guys, I'm popping out now so I'm not going to shoot for the am.

Just wanted to update so no-one worries :). (Overkill much).

:smile:
 
For future reference, on the forum we use 150 as the post and ask for help shooting number. He probably went down a bit because he was due food. Next time, you are good to go for over 150.

Great to see those blue preshots popping up. :-D
 
Thanks Wendy!

We tested at at what would have been +4 and he is 172 so trucking along nicely! Will shoot again tonight as we are home to see him through :). He is grazing today which is good! Obviously the UTI is on its ways out and his BG is not making him a little hungus!

Question - do you think doing the 18 hour cycle you mentioned previously would be a good choice in this case? Or is it better to shoot tonight?

Hope your Mum is ok after the fall!

C
 
since you skipped your last shot, you can shoot at any point now. The biggest plus of shooting 2 18 hour shifts is that it's easier on the person than shooting some weird hours because you've delayed a few hours.

If you want to just shoot early tonight, you can also do that.

it's just up to you. whatever works best with your life and schedule.
 
Thanks Julie!

I think ill do the 18 hour schedule today! It's an easy 2pm shot, then back to normal at 8am tomorrow morning!

Thanks to everyone who posted! This really is such an amazing place and i am so grateful for you all :)

C
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top