Re: 09/13 Blackie AMPS 202; +1 215
blackie's showing such a nice response! you're really making some great progress here! now that she's showing us more blues, we should probably talk about a few things which probably weren't too important before, but they could be now.
your concern about hypos is real and one we all share. i can only imagine how scary it was to see a 21 on your meter back when harley was on 8u of prozinc! i can't blame you for being a little gun shy of lower numbers... even when they're "normal" double digits.
most kitties are started on a very low dose of lantus or levemir and worked up in a very systematic and methodical manner... like what you've been doing with blackie. the reason for that is to keep kitty safe.
safety is our number one priority!
now that blackie is seeing numbers in the 100s, it becomes more important than ever to hold the dose for at least 6
consecutive cycles before increasing the dose. if a shot is skipped or a reduced dose is shot,
the cycle count starts all over. this is important. harley needs
at least 6 cycles on a dose for us to see how low the dose is taking is taking her. after all, lantus/levemir dosing is all about nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers. if you jump the gun by increasing the dose, you might be surprised with an unexpected low number.
when presented with a preshot number lower than usual the best option is to be able to shoot blackie's regular dose on time. however, if you won't be around to monitor the cycle or the number is too low (below 50) there are 3 options commonly used in LL:
- stall -- do NOT feed and retest in 15 - 30 min. repeat until you see that numbers are rising or you have a solid surf.
- shoot a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose. this is a reduced dose.
sometimes, taking one of these options is absolutely necessary, but you want to avoid all 3 whenever possible because:
- stalling -- depletes the shed/insulin depot. the downside is that it may throw your schedule off since the next shot will be due 12 hours from whenever you eventually shoot. keep in mind, whenever you eventually shoot, it will take a couple of hours for onset to occur (the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose). you will lose the effects of carryover (insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration) and overlap (the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect).
- shooting a BCS dose -- depletes the shed. carryover and overlap is lost, same as above. sometimes, shooting a BCS dose can give you a false sense of security because you *could* still see the residual effects remaining from the higher dose at work.
- skipping the shot -- depletes the shed, carryover and overlap are lost. it may take several cycles to get back to the point you were at.
why is it better to shoot a full dose on time as long as the preshot number is over 50 AND you'll be available to monitor?
simply put, lantus is a cumulative insulin. what you do today will effect the numbers over the next several days. the effects of stalling, reducing the dose, or skipping a shot may not be seen immediately (remember lantus has a shed/insulin depot), but you will see the effects in subsequent cycles.
in a sense, stalling, reducing, or skipping will set you back... and who wants to be set back when you've worked so hard to get to the point you're at! however,
if one cannot monitor the cycle, it's better to take a set back in the name of safety! worry about getting back on track later. if you have a lower than usual preshot number, please post and someone will be happy to talk you through the process.
so, how do i become more comfortable shooting on lower preshot numbers?
by becoming "data ready".
the
STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - DATA READY TO SHOOT LOW NUMBERS? talks about the
"forgotten" or
"neglected" spot checks...
those +1s, +2s, +10s, and +11s:
"Say you get a preshot of 150. Well if you've collected the data on the average time it takes the insulin to start having any effect for your cat and what happens after +12, then you might see that shooting a 150 is actually very safe in your cat. Kitty will be in the 200's before the insulin starts working. You are then using the lag time (aka overlap and carryover) between shooting and effect time to your advantage.
So why the +10's and +11's? Well say you are on day 5 of a dose increase change and your storage shed is now not only full, it is overflowing... and your +10 or +11 was way higher than your preshot. Good way to stay out of trouble cause now you know you would have shot a still dropping number, not a good idea. so what is the plan then?.... keep testing, and not 2 hours later, every 20-30 minutes would be better, so you can catch the minute it turns and do not loose all your overlap. If you miss the rise and cat is way up there BG wise before you shoot, remember the number is just going to continue to rise in those hours before the insulin has a chance to kick in, and you have a roller coaster curve going rather than the flat curve that is ideal.
Also some Lantus and Levemir users notice a dip at the end of the cycle, meaning that their preshot is always a bit lower than their +10 or +11. It is important to know if your cat is one of those because if you are not raising your dose because your PS doesn't seem to call for it, yet your nadir is not so hot... this could be the reason why."
these
"forgotten" spot checks will yield more information than most realize.
ok, so i polished up my BOS, took a deep breath, and shot a full dose on the lowest preshot number i've yet to see. now what?
get those early spot checks... the +1 and +2, for sure. why? because the +1 *should* be higher than the ps number (food spike). the +2 *should* be about the same as the ps number. if they're not, that's your clue to monitor more closely than usual. depending on the cat (ECID) you may even want to feed a little bit to slow the drop. the first few times you go through this, i encourage you to post for guidance. there is always someone around who has "been there, done that" and will be happy to guide you through.
I don't think I'll ever understand the concept of going by the #'s from 2 or 3 cycles prior to the current one.
angela, you're not alone. initially, this is perhaps one of the most difficult concepts for any of us to wrap our heads around.
it's necessary to go back to the concept of lantus being a cumulative insulin. each dose builds upon the next. when i analyze numbers i see
waves of action spanning several days. the ups and downs of these waves can be harsh until kitty approaches a dose break through dose. some kitties react more strongly than others. time and insulin usually flattens them out.
just a suggestion...
visit other condos where peeps are dealing with low numbers. you can learn a lot by seeing how others are advised to handle such situations. studying the spreadsheets of otj kitties and of those offering you suggestions and/or advice will help, too.
sorry for the length. if you have questions, please ask.