09/12--skipped dose--PHOEBE-amps-173, +1-156, +2 - 188, +3-242, pmps- 572, +5-359

eva eva

Member Since 2022
Last edited:
it's great that she finally seems to be responding to the insulin, of course it's with a big drop! That damn sugar dance...

SLGS says:


Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilars users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
  • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.
 
it's great that she finally seems to be responding to the insulin, of course it's with a big drop! That damn sugar dance...

SLGS says:


Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat. When you have reached that stage, the following guidelines are suggested for Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilars users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
  • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.


OMG!--- i have scoured this site trying to find this post.. I remember somebody posted it before. I am copying and pasting now in word. It is such a huge source of information--I might have been reading one night and not realized where I was when i found it.

I will do option c --as I have stalled almost 2 hours. I am going to retest her--it will be +2 when I do. If she is climbing and if she is well over 200 I will dose. Hopefully @tiffmaxee will answer. I think she is in CA though. I am CST --she would be PST.
 
yes she is in LA so it's only about 6am there so it was a longshot. She usually doesn't pop on until about 10:30 or 11 AM Eastern

I will still check in another few minutes....if I skip-----well it's not the worse thing..... I will post the number---think for 10 minutes---and then decide.
 
188-------she ate a bit more earlier --after the 156----- 10-25% of dose. 25% of 2 is .5unit I will wait one more hour----if still above the 188, I will give the .5unit
 
Can you be that much off schedule? You would only be able to move the shot time 15 minutes each cycle or 30 minutes every 24 hours. So it would take more than two days to get back to your regular time. You could shoot a full 2.0 if you want. With the first stall she was on the way up and without food I assume? Has she been without food this whole time? If fed I’d just skip.
 
thanks for helping me. I hope I didn't wake you.
I was on schedule this amps.
her sugar was in that range of 150-200 and she dropped the day before. so i posted
then i waited for an hour she went down and that made me nervous.
so i waited.
she did eat after the amps and after the 156.
her last one is the 242. +3 hours AMPS.
so I am going to wait till her pmps--no insulin
thank-you for your insight and knowledge.
 
Last edited:
Can you be that much off schedule? You would only be able to move the shot time 15 minutes each cycle or 30 minutes every 24 hours. So it would take more than two days to get back to your regular time. You could shoot a full 2.0 if you want. With the first stall she was on the way up and without food I assume? Has she been without food this whole time? If fed I’d just skip.
You didn’t wake me. I don’t get tags until I check the board. I’d just skip as it’s so late and she ate.


Thank you again-- will skip.
 
@eva eva sorry I wasn't around, on your spreadsheet instead of stall put skip
You can add why you skipped in the remarks column

It is ok. Hendrick found the post I was looking for on what to do with sugars not behaving. Post #3. I was going to give her .5units. But luckily Tiffmaxxee came on just as I was going to give her the insulin and reminded me not to get off schedule. So I skipped. As you can see, it didn't do much for her pmps. But at least I didn't make her tank again.
You don't have to apologize for not being on this am..... you can't watch 24/7. LIke I said in my other post (#4) I would rather see her high than low. It has been a long 2 months. I just feel bad I can't get it right for Phoebe. But we will get there. Thanks again for all your knowledge and help.:bighug:
 
Back
Top