09/12 Ivana AMPS=245, +2=211 +7=250, PMPS=355, +2=353

Status
Not open for further replies.
Work that juice Ivana.

In your condo a couple of days ago you mentioned that you had trouble getting blood out of Ivana on the PM, you thought you'd drained her LOL. I have been meaning to mention that it can be a little more difficult to get blood when they're running lower. With Purrdy I have a general idea where his numbers will be just by how he bleeds. When he's low we often have to give the base of the ear a gentle massage to squeeze enough blood out.
 
Would you note the schedule thing on the spreadsheet - if you shot at less than +24 hrs after the previous shot in order to get back on schedule, it would be good to say how many hours after the last shot it was. I hope that makes sense.

The spreadsheet is a great spot to make any comments about changes - anything different in schedule, food, litter box habits, or even behavior. It's also good to note when you start a new pen or vial because all of those things can be considered when you're deciding on dose changes.
 
I have been meaning to mention that it can be a little more difficult to get blood when they're running lower.
That's interesting, because that night that I couldn't bleed her was the night that someone (can't remember who) said that she probably went low to precede the bounce the next day. I will remember that!

Would you note the schedule thing on the spreadsheet - if you shot at less than +24 hrs after the previous shot in order to get back on schedule, it would be good to say how many hours after the last shot it was.
Done :-)
 
Ivana has been in the yellows and pinks all day today. Would this be a result of yesterday's AM shot being missed, or the reduced dose, or just her not being regulated yet? Do we need to be concerned?
 
Hi Tara
It is still really early days for Ivana in this journey and she will probably have some ups and downs with the numbers before she settles down. It usually takes at the very least weeks to settle down to regulation.............only a lucky few settle down straight away. Some take much longer.
Certainly a reduction closely followed by a skipped dose can drain the depot and put the numbers up a bit.
She could also be bouncing from the low preshot on the morning of the 9th .....it is also possible she dropped lower the night before helping to cause a bounce. If it is a bounce it can last up to 6 cycles, and there is nothing you can do about it but wait it out. It is frustrating I know but you just need to put on your patient pants!:)
Is she eating and drinking OK and using the LB OK?
 
Yes she is her usual self in all respects. As long as it's normal (well, diabetic normal) then I will try to stop worrying. "Try"... haha

I was going to do her curve on Tuesday which will be 2 weeks since it was done at the vet, but I will hold off and wait til she's been on 1.25u for 1 week as per SLGS - maybe she will have settled down a bit, and the lower dose may mean she doesn't have to skip any more shots.
 
Try not to worry. She is not doing anything unusual and if she is her usual self, all the better. Yes I think it would be a better idea to wait a few more days to do the curve and give the depot time to fill back up.. And for her to settle into the dose. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top