09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 PMPS=229 Dental Today

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=78872

Today is Furball's dental. All of the kitties are running around confused looking for their breakfast. I wish I could explain things to them and they would understand.

I am currently stalling on Furball's shot. I don't know how low anesthesia will make her go and don't know if even 0.5 units is too much insulin. I may skip her shot this morning since my vet has told me they do not test BG, even for a diabetic cat. I think that is stupid. Even though I am planning to ask them to check Furball's BG, I don't know if they will. Thanks everyone for your advice and support yesterday.

Sending good dental vines to Barbara's Tux for today.
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204

Good morning, Carla. ~O)

I hope your ankles are safe with all the circling, hungry kitties. Mine like to nip my ankles if breakfast is delayed according to their schedule. :lol:

I can understand your hesitantcy in shooting, with not knowing how low Furball will go with the dental and them not checking. Healing vines sent your way for a safe day. :smile:
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204

Morning Carla, I hope I caught you before leaving, as I wanted to wish you good dental vines. Your Vet should check Furball's bg if you remind them. I know that doesn't make sense they wouldn't test it, but I remember when I picked Maggie up, I asked the Vet Tech what her bg was, and he said the Vet didn't think it necessary, as she looked alright. :? I rmember Marje saying yesterday if you're unsure, it's okay to skip, but see what others say. If you want to get feedback, add a ? mark in your subject line. Good luck vines to Furball and you and hugs, too! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204

I skipped J.D.'s shot when he had his dental. I think I would, since they aren't going to test, which I think is weird.
I would bring your glucometer and leave it with them, and ask them to test, anyway.

Sending the Best Dental Vines to Furball, today.
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204

I tested Furball at her +1 and she is 199. I am not going to shoot since I'm not sure the vet will test.

Dyana, that is a good idea to take my meter and leave it with them. Thanks.

The kitties are getting very hyper since they still haven't eaten. I will be leaving for the vet in about 25 minutes. Thanks for the well wishes everyone.
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Morning Carla! - Mannie and I send good dental vines for Furball. I am sure all will go well. Good call this morning on the shot - now you won't have to worry. Enjoy your day today Carla!
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Hi guys .. I'm keeping you guys in my thoughts today and hoping for a nice easy dental! Keep us posted if you can!
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Just got back from dropping Furball off at the vet. My other kitties are much calmer now that I gave them their breakfast on the way out the door. The vet is going to check Furball's BG before the dental and after the dental. I offered to leave my meter, but the vet didn't want to be responsible for it. I will also check her BG as soon as I get her home.
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

I think skipping was a good idea. I agree with the others, not testing an diabetic cat when they know anesthesia can impact BG levels makes no sense.
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Hi Carla - I am glad to read that they will test Furball's BG. I ran into that with Mannie's last dental. They didn't after the procedure, got him home with a 58. crazy! Beyond me why they didn't check him, especially with a kitty they know will have lower numbers after a dental procedure: Mannie always does. Excellent that you will check when you get home. Have a great dental Furball!
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Glad you decided not to shoot. Great that they will check her BG!.Prayers & Healing vines for a good, easy, and fast dental..
Furball will have beautiful clean toofies & a lovely breath--kissable :lol:
Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Good call, Carla, with that number. Sending Furball lots of good dental vines and lots of hugs and support to you. Please keep us posted.
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Good Morning Carla
Sorry I didn't get a chance to wish you good dental vines. Thank you for your good wishes.
I'm glad you decided not to shoot, even if they do test. This way, you don't have to worry about Furball going hypo, since she had dropped.
Wonderful dental vines coming your way. :-D

Barb
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Hi Carla, Skipping makes perfect sense, kinda like a fur shot you dont regret. I hope Furball's dental goes well and she recovers quickly cat_pet_icon . Glad the vet agreed to test Furball, one suggestion for when you pick her up. Our vet's meter reads higher than our home meter using the same blood sample. If your vet's meter is different from yours, you may want to bring your own familiar meter test her yourself when you pick her up, just to avoid any needless worry about her numbers. Just a thought.
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

I talked to the vet around 10:30 as they had Furball on the table and were getting ready for the procedure. They ran bloodwork and got her BG that way. It was 462. I don't know how that compares to my meter. It will be interesting to see what number she is at when she gets home.
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Talked to the vet again and Furball came through the dental fine. She is awake and alert, but I still have to wait until 2:30 to pick her up. She had to have one tooth removed. Since she was already missing 5 teeth, she now has only 24 teeth. The vet checked her left ear, the one that has frequent infections, and found a polyp. She said this can cause frequent infections. She currently has an ear infection and the vet is sending some ear drops home with her. Thanks for the well wishes everyone.
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Great report back. You might want to be sure to ask for pain meds (bupe and not Metacam/meloxicam -- this pain med can cause renal failure). When you get Furball home, you'll be able to feed but do so only in small amounts. Anesthesia can slow the GI tract down and result in scarf-and-barf!

BG was probably high due to vet stress and no insulin.
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Awww Carla, I'm sorry Furball had to have an extraction. Will she have pain med? Checks always did well on bupe after extractions.
Will the polyp have to be removed, or was it? My DD just had a polyp removed from way up in her nose, because it kept causing what she thought was sinus infections. Which of course, had nothing to do with your Fur baby :lol:
I'm glad she's alert and feeling well. :smile:
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

I think you are supposed to get antibiotics when there are extractions, too. I would try not to let them give the 2 week Covenia injection, and just get regular twice a day ABs.

Glad everything went well.
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

so glad she came through the dental ok .. when mocha had hers done, she had 9 teeth taken out .. plus the one she was already missing :o I am sure furball will be happy to get home!
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Thanks everyone. I am going to get Bupe and the same AB she had before her dental. It is the generic of Clindamyacin.

The vet said surgery on a polyp does not always get the results you want. I assume that means it will not be removed any time soon. I think the best thing to do is treat the ear infection and then see how she does. I clean her ears once a week, maybe that will be enough and the polyp won't have to be removed in the future. If she keeps getting ear infections, I will have to talk to the vet about surgery.

The vet told me I could feed Furball small amounts (about 1 teaspoon at a time) when she gets home if she is hungry.
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Isn't it great to get such good advice? This place is amazing. Great report on Furball, too. :-D :-D Does your vet use an AlphaTrak meter? Those read about 30 points higher than a human meter.
Liz
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Hi Carla, so glad to hear the good report on Furball. I bet you can't wait to get your baby home. Healing vines to Furball. Hope you are hanging in okay, Carla.
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

I forgot to ask my vet what meter they use. When I got Furball home and checked her BG she was 412. The vet had checked it an hour before my at home test and it was 503. Furball was very happy to be home. She was hungry so I let her eat a teaspoon of food. She has been drinking water like crazy and it is dribbling down her chest. I think it is like when we go to the dentist and our mouth is numb. Poor kitty.

The vet wanted to give me Tresaderm for her ear infection. I still have some of the ear drops my other vet gave me and I'm going to use those instead. Has anyone used Tresaderm for their cat since diagnosed with diabetes?
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Yay! So happy everything went well today. Sorry I forgot about the dental this morning and didn't wish you both well. :cry: I'm really glad to hear that they checked Furball's BG - that would have made me very upset if they hadn't - just irresponsible. But luckily they did and everything was high, but at least safe. (((Carla)))
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Sounds like a good news dental day for Furball. One extraction isn't bad and she is eating food already. Yeah! When Neko had her anesthesia, I gave her 1tsp about every 15 minutes and that seemed to work. Did you vet say anything about dose tonight? Neko's dental vet said 1/2 dose but when she had her SRT (4 anesthesia days in a row), she got full dose at night. By that time I knew it wasn't impacting her BG much.
 
Re: 09/12 Furball, AMPS=204 Dental Today

Furball's PMPS really surprised me. She was at 412 about 3 hours before. I know the dental can cause her to need less insulin, but I wasn't expecting that much of a drop that quick.

My vet said to give Furball her full dose at PMPS (1.0 units insulin). Furball ate good at dinner time. The vet said she could have her usual amount of food. She's very happy and purry. She didn't like it very much when I gave her all of her medicine, but she got over it quickly. She's such a loving kitty.
 
Carla, Glad Furball's dental went well and she is eating already, happy and purry :-D Good to see she is already down from the high numbers too. Both of you have a great evening!
 
Sienne, I didn't see your reply in time to get a +1. Furball's +2=235. I'm fighting a bad headache or I would have thought to get a +1 with that big of a drop. I am going to get a +3.5 in a few minutes before I go to sleep. Good night everyone and thanks again for all your support and advice with Furball's dental.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top