09/12 Blaze AMPS/400, +3/272, +6/265, PMPS/491, +2/428, +3/203, +4/167

Blaze and Paola

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-06-blaze-amps-326-2-344-4-333.252546/

I am in a little bif of a dilemma...
Looking at Blaze's spreadsheet, it does look like he needs an increase to 1.25U.
I have been dwelling on this for the past few days. Brain knows he needs it...the only worry I have with this is that I am not home to test for the AM cycle. I am a teacher and I am back to work now. I can only test in the weekends (AM cycles).
I can test during all the PM cycles but even those are getting difficult because shooting time in the morning is at 5:30 AM...I get up very early, the work's day is ridiculously demanding and stressful now that I have to teach 11 classes all hybrid. When I get home from work, I test right away if I still have a couple of hours before 5:30 PM. Having the 5:30 PM shot helps because at least I can make a +4 for SURE. But I start getting really tired at 10 PM. This is all very difficult and stressful.
I have a girl from ROVER that comes in every school day at +4 to make sure that Blaze eats. I am comfortable with her doing just that. I don't feel ok with her trying to test him. Blaze is difficult with me as well...with a stranger it would be impossible.
We have a vet appointment on the 20th. I am taking a day off for that.
 
Hi Paola, you could have increased Blaze yesterday morning. With TR, you needed to hold the dose only 10 cycles from 9/6.
When trying for a second chance at remission you want to be more aggressive.

In the future, if we miss suggesting an increase, could you please post and check every 5 days? :-)

Can you get no tests in the next couple of days in the AM cycles? Do you have an auto-feeder?

@tiffmaxee
 
Thank you @Bandit's Mom :bighug:
I will check every 5 days. I have had a rough week.
I will start Blaze at 1.25U tomorrow morning and I only hope to come home to a non-hypo Blaze.
I won't be able to test in the AM cycles this week at all until Saturday.
I had an autofeeder but neither of my cats eat from them. I tried 2 different ones with no success. They only eat from their regular bowls. That's why I have this girl come during the day to make sure Blaze eats at around +4/+5 in the AM cycle.
 
I know you said to start in a morning cycle but I just did his PMPS and his reading has never been this high (not even prior to his first remission). Can I start directly tonight with the increase? At least tonight I am home and can test.
@tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
Also, another question, for tomorrow AM cycle, when the Rover girl comes at +4/+5 should I leave 7% FF to feed to Blaze at that time? His usual carbs content for his main meals is 4% (Cod, Sole and Shrimp Pate).
 
Last edited:
I know you said to start in a morning cycle but I just did his PMPS and his reading has never been this high (not even prior to his first remission). Can I start directly tonight with the increase? At least tonight I am home and can test.
@tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
Just saw your messages Paola. Sorry, was the middle of the night for me :)
It's good you increased last night. I was thinking the same thing - that you would be home to monitor.

Also, another question, for tomorrow AM cycle, when the Rover girl comes at +4/+5 should I leave 7% FF to feed to Blaze at that time? His usual carbs content for his main meals is 4% (Cod, Sole and Shrimp Pate).
Yes. You could also leave a little food out for him to eat between AMPS and +4/+5.
 
Back
Top