09/12 Billo +2 86 AMPS 275 +1 293, +3 372, +4 324, +7 311, + 8 297, +10 300, PMPS 270

Yes, dosing is based on nadir, not pre-shot (unless pre-shot is unexpectedly low, like last night). Once you earn a reduction you don't increase until 7 days have passed on SLGS and the numbers show she needs more.

@Sue and Luci , in yesterday's thread we learned Billo had a LC food change on the 8th ... wondering if she should have been started on much lower dose to begin with?
 
Billo had a LC food change on the 8th ... wondering if she should have been started on much lower dose to begin with?

Well, yes and now, possibly no...3.5 was a high dose to begin with...now he's down to 2.25.

So the question to @Abdullah is are you going to be home all day to monitor? Billo is in the bounce right now - from that AMPS - it's not easy to say what will happen the rest of the day. After 5 days of a food change I would think max impact would have happened 24-48 hours after removal of all high carb dry food.

If you start to encounter another slide like yesterday (which by skipping the shot last night you've allowed the depot to drain)...so it's kinda like starting over with that...so the question is are you going to be home to monitor? Do you have medium and high carb foods on hand to feed those dropping numbers. The question is also to Billo, how long before you clear that bounce?
 
Well, yes and now, possibly no...3.5 was a high dose to begin with...now he's down to 2.25.

So the question to @Abdullah is are you going to be home all day to monitor? Billo is in the bounce right now - from that AMPS - it's not easy to say what will happen the rest of the day. After 5 days of a food change I would think max impact would have happened 24-48 hours after removal of all high carb dry food.

If you start to encounter another slide like yesterday (which by skipping the shot last night you've allowed the depot to drain)...so it's kinda like starting over with that...so the question is are you going to be home to monitor? Do you have medium and high carb foods on hand to feed those dropping numbers. The question is also to Billo, how long before you clear that bounce?



I understand. The initial dose given was 2.5, we didn’t start with 3.5.

Yes I made sure to clear my schedule over the next couple days so I could stay home and monitor Billo. I’m confident in handling the lower numbers now after having that experience yesterday.

I’ll give her 2.25
 
You are a quick learner! You will do fine. Ask questions as often as needed. 275 is not real high for a bounce due to a reduction and a skip. Many see black, red, or pink. Don’t be surprised if the high is yet to come.
 
Did you decide to follow SLGS or TR? I saw SLGS mentioned above. I ask because dosing going forward will depend on the one chosen so please add it to your signature.
 
You are a quick learner! You will do fine. Ask questions as often as needed. 275 is not real high for a bounce due to a reduction and a skip. Many see black, red, or pink. Don’t be surprised if the high is yet to come.

Thank you! I’ll keep an eye for potentially high/higher numbers.

Did you decide to follow SLGS or TR? I saw SLGS mentioned above. I ask because dosing going forward will depend on the one chosen so please add it to your signature.

SLGS, my apologies for not making the change in the signature. It is updated now, with the new dosing as well (2.25u).
 
The initial dose given was 2.5, we didn’t start with 3.5

Please modify your SS to sync up with this - I was referring to what it says on the SS - so I'm confused or the SS isn't up to date???

I made sure to clear my schedule over the next couple days so I could stay home and monitor Billo.
Excellent!

How's Billo doing now? I don't see any new numbers on your SS since the 1+.

I'm in and out today so I'll pop in as often as I can to see how you're doing. Glad to hear your confidence is building. Keep reading the stickies - there's a ton of information there :)
 
The initial dose given was 2.5, we didn’t start with 3.5

Please modify your SS to sync up with this - I was referring to what it says on the SS - so I'm confused or the SS isn't up to date???

I made sure to clear my schedule over the next couple days so I could stay home and monitor Billo.
Excellent!

How's Billo doing now? I don't see any new numbers on your SS since the 1+.

I'm in and out today so I'll pop in as often as I can to see how you're doing. Glad to hear your confidence is building. Keep reading the stickies - there's a ton of information there :)
 
Please modify your SS to sync up with this - I was referring to what it says on the SS - so I'm confused or the SS isn't up to date???


Excellent!

How's Billo doing now? I don't see any new numbers on your SS since the 1+.

I'm in and out today so I'll pop in as often as I can to see how you're doing. Glad to hear your confidence is building. Keep reading the stickies - there's a ton of information there :)


Oh okay I see what you mean! I will add it to the remarks column. Essentially, before switching over to Lantus, her dosing for NPH was 3.5. The dose was then dropped to 2.5 for Lantus after discussing on the NPH forum :)

I'm about to update her SS, Billo had a groomers appointment, she looks fresh and new :)
 
Just wanted to check in.

Billo's numbers are a little bouncy today, but they are decreasing. From what I've read and what I've understood, I've gathered that bounces can happen, especially since some kitties aren't used being in the lower (green) numbers, so it might just be Billo trying to adjust.

Am I on the right track of thought with this?
 
It sure looks like Billo is bouncing to me. The more time she spends in lower numbers, she will get more used to them and bounce less.
A bounce can last for several cycles, up to six I believe is the general thought...though they can certainly last for less.
 
It sure looks like Billo is bouncing to me. The more time she spends in lower numbers, she will get more used to them and bounce less.
A bounce can last for several cycles, up to six I believe is the general thought...though they can certainly last for less.



Thats what I am thinking as well. Thank you for the confirmation!! :)
 
Back
Top