09/12/20 Blaze AMPS 14.8/247

Blaze and Paola

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-11-20-blaze-amps-10-6-191.235084/

@Critter Mom @tiffmaxee @Red & Rover (GA)

Good morning everyone,

Happy Caturday. I am very happy I have 2 days to take a breather. This morning all went well with Blaze. Last night not sure why, at +2 his BG was higher than the preshot level. I was pretty sure I got the insulin in though. That had never happened before. After that it started to slowly go down but not like the previous few nights. Not sure what happened there.
Today, we are slowly going down as well.
I have to go to the denstist now...not looking forward to that but needed as it is later this time due to covid.
Dentist is far from my house...45 min drive there and back.
When I am back I will test again and check my mail :)
I hope you are having a great start of your saturday,
Paola (((((((HUGS))))))):bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning. I hope your dental visit went well. It looks like Blaze needs to go up to .50 . We want to bring his numbers down a little. With SLGS you hold for 7 days. I didn’t bring it up sooner because you were just getting back to work and the fur shot. I need to check how many days since the fur shot to be sure.
 
Hi Paola. I just finally was able to fe5 on line. Good job. I think we need to shave the dose rather than go to a drop. Maybe by the end of the weekend it will be more clear. Opinions from others appreciated.
 
Hi Paola. I just finally was able to fe5 on line. Good job. I think we need to shave the dose rather than go to a drop. Maybe by the end of the weekend it will be more clear. Opinions from others appreciated.
If Paola can grab the appropriate mid-cycle tests and stay up if longer period of testing, then worth checking. If not, I'd lean more towards the drop dose. Paola needs to know that Blaze will be safe while she's at work. Maybe PM tonight and AM tomorrow at skinny 0.25IU (with appropriate monitoring) and if there's not enough wriggle room for comfort Paola could go to the drop dose for tomorrow night's PM dose to see how safe that would be instead.

Other approach might be to go down to the drop dose now, have three cycles under the belt before Paola returns to work on Monday so that she'd have better peace of mind about where it's taking him (and it would let the depot drain a bit), hold the drop dose for the appropriate time and increase again at the appropriate stage if numbers trend upwards?

.
 
Recap From earlier...

------------------------------------
Paola wrote:

As soon as I came back from the dentist, I tested Blaze and I found him really low, he was at 4.8/86.4 . It was too close to the 68 mark for me so I tried to make him eat but he would not eat anything, no food, no treats, nothing. I decided to give 2 squirts of gravy from a higher carb FF and I rubbed some honey on his gums. After 15 minutes, he is now at 5.3/95. What the heck is happening with these readings. Thank GOD I just got home from the dentist when I tested and saw how low he was...if I was in school what could have happened, I don't even want to think about it.

Why can't he go on some sort of more predictable sugar ride?
------------------------------------
Paola wrote:

I just tested 30 minutes after, he is going up, 6.4/115
--------------------------------------
Mogs wrote:

I think the most recent test was around the +6 mark. Is this correct, Paola?
-------------------------------------
Paola wrote:

Yes, I just tested him again at +6.50, reading is holding at 6.4/115
-------------------------------------
Mogs wrote:

Sounds good. Don't feed, test again in 30 mins. (Still in the middle of the cycle so doing a bit of 'belt 'n' braces here.)
-------------------------------------
Red & Rover wrote:

I can see your spreadsheet.
It looks like last night was a flat cycle (with the exception of the +2 – food bounce?). A flat cycle can be an indication that an active cycle is coming up.
--------------------------------------
Paola wrote:

When you say active cycle it means possible unpredictable highs and lows, right?
---------------------------------------
Red & Rover wrote:

"An active cycle," "on the move" – going low or lower than the last few cycles.
Blaze is in safe numbers
---------------------------------------
Mogs wrote:

An active cycle is one where you usually see a run of better numbers, with the caveat that if a cat is overall in a low-ish range to start with, an active cycle may possibly take the cat down to a range where it needs steering to keep it in safe numbers.
--------------------------------------
Paola wrote:

Thank God, I can't wait for the +7 mark to test again...15 more minutes
--------------------------------------
Mogs wrote:

He's fine right now, Paola. Even at the 4.8 Blaze was safe. :) You did good. Allow yourself a breath or two. :bighug: :)
--------------------------------------
Paola wrote:

At +7 he is at 7.8/140
Safe for sure now :D
Now I can breathe again.
--------------------------------------

.
 
PSPM is 13.8/248
I think I will give a skinny 0.25U tonight and tomorrow both cycles.
Vet wants a curve soon too so I'd rather stay close to what I have been doing, even if a skinny version.
Do you guys agree? I will monitor.
 
I know you will monitor and you know how to get him back up. If he’s too low by tomorrow night you may need to rethink that as Monday you can’t monitor. I think you can try it tonight. What do you think Mogs?
 
Last edited:
Paola:

- Do you have plenty of test strips for the Alphatrak?

- Do you have enough med/high carb foods and treats in your hypo toolkit?

- Are you certain you can stay awake if Blaze has a low run?

- Is Blaze eating well now, and are you confident that he will be able to eat the snacks he'd need to get him through a low run?

Elise:

Will you be able to keep an eye out for Blaze and Paola or arrange cover once you need to head away? (Unfortunately I know that I won't make it, else I'd happily volunteer.)

If yes to all the above then OK for the skinny 0.25. If not, then 0.1IU.

.
 
Do you have plenty of test strips for the Alphatrak? YES I HAVE ABOUT 80

- Do you have enough med/high carb foods and treats in your hypo toolkit? YES I DO

- Are you certain you can stay awake if Blaze has a low run. YES, I set alarms every hour.

- Is Blaze eating well now, and are you confident that he will be able to eat the snacks he'd need to get him through a low run? Tonight he is not eating that much...
 
@tiffmaxee -

Repeating this from above because I forgot to tag you first time. :oops:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Elise:

Will you be able to keep an eye out for Blaze and Paola or arrange cover once you need to head away? (Unfortunately I know that I won't make it, else I'd happily volunteer.)


Mogs
.
 
I gave him very close to 0.1, just a tiny more, 0.15U...when I prepared the syringe my gut thought it was safer. I went with it. He ate but not as much as usual, that's why.
 
He has never had appetite problems...he atd a lot before, he was over weight. This problem started before the diagnosis...he stopped eating all together and now with the switch of foods...but he has been doing much better lately. Tonight he still ate just not as much. Gonna say 40% less than usual. I think he still.adjisting to all these changes since August 27th when we got hit by the diabetes truck.
 
He’s just bouncing from going low. Nothing to worry about. Get some sleep. Tomorrow will be here before you know it.
 
Back
Top