09/11 - Billo Day 2 on Lantus | AMPS 194 | +3 126

And removing that food is why you are seeing the lower numbers. Switching to low carb food can change a cat's numbers by up to 100.

That is understandable. There is no kibble in her diet now, only LC FF. I wish I had made the change sooner

Test right before tge 2 hour mark. If lowish you can then give a little food and still have 2 hours to see. Or else test now and again in two hours.

She's at 52 now. this is the 2 hour mark prior to shooting. I'm going to feed her a little now and then stop for the remaining two hours, just so she doesn't fall any lower. She has stayed between this 50-60 range for almost 3 hours now, despite the constant feeding which is really interesting.
 
Should Billo be getting a bigger reduction? I didn't realize she just switched to LC, and the depot isn't even filled yet.
 
The old depot will be in play. I believe 2.5. I hope he comes up a lot in the next hour. Otherwise I’d consider a token dose. What do the rest of you think?
 
I'd be inclined to skip, but not a depot expert. The fact that she just switched to LC would mean 2.5 would have been too much to start her on. Billo did already earn a 0.25 reduction from 2.5u.
 
I couldn’t remember the dose and was on my phone. Skipping is fine since no DKA in the picture. Then the morning dose should be 2.25 unless still low. That should be decided in the morning. Also he might not be too hungry.
 
I'm going to measure her PMPS soon, I have a feeling it is still rising but not significantly. I think I'd be inclined to skip tonight as well, and then we can decide the dose tomorrow morning depending on her AMPS
 
The thing is i never would have switched insulin until you knew what the food change was doing. It’s hindsight now and making me want to be more cautious though. We haven’t even seen the full depot form yet.
 
Last edited:
When was the food change, Abdullah? I didn't even realize you'd done it until Kel said something.
 
The food change was on Tuesday, we still carried on with NPH until Wednesday. today is Day 2 on Lantus.
 
Should I continue feeding her M/HC for her evening meal, because the BG is still low, or should I continue with LC FF?
 
Skip. I believe the food change is having a big effect. Sometimes cats have a dramatic response to Lantus at first. It might continue. I don’t know. What do you think?


I'd like to skip too. I'm leaning towards giving her the M/HC food to be on the safe side, in case her BG drops any lower. I want to measure her AMPS in the morning and then decide how much of a dose reduction is needed
 
Would you add your PMPS to the title and the +2 please? Put NS on your spreadsheet. It’s a good idea to write what you fed and when in the comments So you remember for next time.

Done! I'll make sure to add PMPS and the +2 to the title for tomorrow. I'll make sure to add comments to the remarks column starting now. Thank you for the guidance
 
Back
Top