09/09 J.D. AMPS 386, PMPS 307, +3.5 394

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

Good morning. It's good to be home. There is a bunch of tangled cat toys in the middle of the living room, but that's all that remains of the cat parties at Ginger's. The cat bowls were cleaned and put in the dish rack, the litter boxes were cleaned, and Ginger made it home in time from the new moon party at Pat's last night, to greet us at the door at 2:00am this morning.

I stayed up until 4:00am, and then I was going to give J.D. his shot at 5:00am, but I layed down on the couch with my cell phone as an alarm and you know how that goes..

09/08
Skipped AM shot because of travel (was green that night and 103 at PM +11)
+14 453 (wow, I guess he saw me getting the carrier ready :roll: )
+16.5 480 (packing)
+17 512 (decided to give him 1/2 unit of Levemir)
+0.5 521 (in the car and driving to the airport)
+3.25 404 (at airport)
+4.25 413 (at airport)
+5.25 366 (at airport)
+6.25 377 (at airport)
+15.75 464 (home in N.J., we arrived home at +14, but I didn't test him until +15.75) gave 0.10 R
+17.5 331

J.D. cried on the car ride to the airport, but was great for the flight...AND, I had the whole row of seats to myself, so I put his carrier up in the window seat (because there was a kid kicking the back of my chair :evil: , I switched to the middle seat) and he rode the whole way in that seat next to me. Nice and quiet. I could have even tested him, there, but I didn't.
I offered him some steak and he ate a few pieces. He refused cat treats and water. He kind of slept. He's so good in a plane. He did not pee or poop. Our flight was significantly delayed but we had a tail wind and the flight home was just over 4 1/2 hours which is remarkable because usually it's 6 1/2 to California and 5 1/2 back to New Jersey.
J.D. did not cry at all in the car ride on the way home from the airport, because he knows he's going home. He always never cries on the way home (great English, huh?).
Ginger greeted us at the door. And at about 3:00am, I took just her out for a little walk in the night. In the middle of the night, she was eating some grass (and then threw up) and in the dark I thought the grass looked green. This morning, I took both cats out for a walk and I see we had no rain and the grass is basically all dead and brown :roll:
When J.D. first got hime, he went directly to the water fountain and drank and drank. He was also constipated when we got home and spent the first 2 hours downstairs in the basement where the litter boxes are. I gave him some Miralax with his breakfast, and that P is now taken care of. :-D YAY!
My kitties are resting now. I need to go to the grocery store to replenish my refrigerator, as I woke up with a headache and no cream for my coffee :shock:

Back in a little while..

Oh, and my spreadsheet is not filled out. Sorry. I'll get to that later. I just got a ring on my door bell, and 11 days worth of mail was just delivered :roll: Bills!
 
Re: 09/09 J.D. AMPS 386, +4.5 276, +6 155

Welcome home Dyana and JD! Glad you had a good flight home - wow on 4 1/2 hrs, that's fast! Glad to hear Ginger made it home from the party in time to greet you, and that the kitties cleaned up the house. Enjoy your day, and get some rest.
 
Re: 09/09 J.D. AMPS 386, +4.5 276, +6 155, +7.75 118

All in all, I think I did okay, handling his insulin needs for the trip home.
Even though he's now 118, he's still drinking water. Maybe he was REAL dehydrated from the plane ride.
 
Re: 09/09 J.D. AMPS 386, +4.5 276, +6 155, +7.75 118

glad to see it went well...and dont we ALWAYS get the seat in front of the kid with "restless legs syndrome"?!?

glad jd's feeling better, and binks says tell ginger thanks for all the fun. :))

celi and binks
 
Re: 09/09 J.D. AMPS 386, +4.5 276, +6 155, +7.75 118

JD sounds like a great traveler. Do you have to give him anything to calm him for the plane? Glad you had a good trip home, Ginger must be so happy to see you.

Ginger, your bean is finally home? Well, don't show her how happy you are or she'll start to think she can do whatever she wants. Got to keep them in training. -- Tess
 
Re: 09/09 J.D. AMPS 386, +4.5 276, +6 155, +7.75 118, +8.5 108

He's still drinking water. I fed him some Sophisticat at +7.75 and at +8.5. He must have been real dehydrated..or something.

Ann & Tess said:
JD sounds like a great traveler. Do you have to give him anything to calm him for the plane? Glad you had a good trip home, Ginger must be so happy to see you.
My vet doesn't recommend any tranquilizers for a diabetic, so I give him a squirt of Rescue Remedy in the mouth before we leave and put a couple drops on top of his front paws and about 6 or 7 drops on the pee pads in his carrier before we leave.

Ginger, your bean is finally home? Well, don't show her how happy you are or she'll start to think she can do whatever she wants. Got to keep them in training. -- Tess
You're funny :lol:
 
Re: 09/09 J.D. AMPS 386, +6 155, +7.75 118, +8.5 108, +9.5 126

Jill & Alex said:
welcome home! hope you had a nice visit! :-D
Thanks Jill. It's good to be home, and my cats agree :-D And, I brought the California weather home with me. Bright yellow sun and blue skys, white puffy clouds, and nice breeze. The same weather as the day we left my dad's house in CA.
My neighbor said it was really hot and humid here, all week, so I guess I did :-D It's been 73 degrees in my house all day with the windows open, and last night was cool, and I could actually see the stars in the sky, not as good as at my dad's house, but it was nice to see them.
J.D. was a great traveler and was just a little more relaxed than last time, at my dad's house this trip.

I promised J.D. if he went green, I would give him some shrimp and he has been laying on the kitchen rug waiting and looking in the refrigerator each time I open it. He wasn't quite green, but I guess I'll go back to the grocery store and get him some shrimp. Ya know, maybe I missed the green... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 09/09 J.D. AMPS 386, +6 155, +7.75 118, +8.5 108, +9.5 126

lolololol! yes, get JD some shrimp! he deserves it anyway after being such a good traveler. :-D
 
Re: 09/09 J.D. AMPS 386, +6 155, +7.75 118, +8.5 108, +9.5 126

Glad you had a good flight Dyana...J.D. sounds like a good traveling companion. I can just heare him saying "There's No place like home" for hours and hours and hours in the car and the plane and the car again! Now you can rest up a little and enjoy your reunion with Ginger. Good job!!
 
Re: 09/09 J.D. AMPS 386, +6 155, +7.75 118, +8.5 108, +9.5 126

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Glad you had a good flight Dyana...J.D. sounds like a good traveling companion. I can just heare him saying "There's No place like home" for hours and hours and hours in the car and the plane and the car again! Now you can rest up a little and enjoy your reunion with Ginger. Good job!!
Thanks for all you did, for Ginger (and me) while I was gone, Pat. You have no idea how much your posts meant to me.
And, Ginger is not angry with me for leaving. She is happy as a clam and has only showed her affectionate loving side, since I've been home.

Jill & Alex said:
lolololol! yes, get JD some shrimp! he deserves it anyway after being such a good traveler. :-D
Okay, J.D. says "Thank You, Jill :mrgreen: " You know how they always have to investigate the grocery bags when you get home? They liked the smell of one 2 pound bag of shrimp. 4 large shrimp are defrosting.. and J.D. is awaiting his reward.
 
Re: 09/09 J.D. AMPS 386, +6 155, +7.75 118, +8.5 108, +9.5 126

Welcome Home Dyana! I know you were so glad to see your Ginger when you walked through that door and visa versa! And will you take a look at JD's numbers today! I am very very impressed! Good going JD!!! He certainly deserves the frimp treat!!!

Enjoy your first day back!
 
Re: 09/09 J.D. AMPS 386, +6 155, +7.75 118, +8.5 108, +9.5 126

Deb & Spot said:
Welcome Home Dyana! I know you were so glad to see your Ginger when you walked through that door and visa versa! And will you take a look at JD's numbers today! I am very very impressed! Good going JD!!! He certainly deserves the frimp treat!!!

Enjoy your first day back!
Thanks, Deb, we are enjoying our day (me with the day off and the great weather, and my kitties just happy we're home).

J.D. is doing well. I just found him down in the basement, again. I wonder if he's still constipated, or if he's hiding because he thinks we're going on another trip. He got 3 of the 4 shrimp (shared with Ginger, she only eats little bitty bites) that I thawed out. He can have the other one, if he goes green tonight. Am I mean, or what? He just finished his dinner almost, his appetite is a little off, that's why I wonder if he has some tummy upset, that and drinking all that water. We'll go back outside while the weather is nice, and then later tonight, I'll update my spreadsheet, I promise :-D
 
Re: 09/09 J.D. AMPS 386, PMPS 307

Glad you are home safe and sound. So nice J.D. travels well. Hope you rest a few days before returning to work. Pat Ginger for us. Give J.D. his shrimp. Poor Boy.
 
I have J.D.'s spreadsheet updated as much as I can right now. It's hard when there are skipped shots and a time difference and you have to post in +s. So, he's 394 and I think I'll try to save some strips tonight, and go to bed early.
 
Dyana and J.D. - welcome home. I am glad to hear the trip back was mostly uneventful. I hope J.D. gets the LB/dehydration thing figured out soon (we had Josie the civvie in at vet last pm for dehydration - she got squids).
J.D. - mamabean is holding out on another shrimp - go for the green, buddy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top