09/08 bailey uk amps 329, +4 68....+4 !!!honey given!

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124134

jeepers. I DID NOT expect a 68 at +4. its been looking like hes been really high the last few days but ive been working 3 mornings for 8 hours without being able to come home and test. ive been coming home to high numbers. I always leave enough food down and the clue to how hes been is how much water hes drank whilst ive been out.theres been hardly any gone those morning so I have a sneaky suspicion hes been going low.

right now im testing every half hour as we are only at +5 and still at 77 with a shringe of honey. ive no doubt he'll bounce but when that's starts il rest a little easier.its scares me when he drops so fast at the start of a cycle. dose decrease in the morning!
 
Yikes Bailey! Too low!!

Isn't it funny when they go so low that we are thinking "will the bounce start already?" Instead of "dang it...here comes the bounce!" :lol: :roll:
 
its ridiculous isn't it.we don't want the bounce but you kinda want it to kick in when theyre so low. I got him up then he went back down again to 67. ive got him back up again to 99 and are now at +7. its been a long slog the last few hours!
 
And then once the bounce arrives, it's like "did you have to bounce THAT high?"

We beans are a tough crowd to please :lol:

Looks like Bailey's finally up on that surfboard!

Surf safely Bailey.....and maybe if we're real quiet, Mr. Liver won't notice the low and won't call out the calvery ;-)
 
ha maybe chris! hes NEVER surfed in the green and low blue for this long so it will hopefully help mr liver get use to it!
il decrease dose by .25 tonight. much easier too, now were at 5 and back on a line on the needle!
no doubt the bounce will start in the next few hours. im due to shoot in 3 hours and at the mo hes at 122. im hoping he doesn't go up too much in that time so that may well help with keeping him low! who knows..............miracles do happen ;-)
 
hi anna!

the 68 is equivalent to a 50 on a human meter. so . . . unless he went lower than 68, he didn't need high carbs and didn't need a dose reduction. Even with a 67, i would just hold the dose and hope that the higher numbers would come down a bit.

i'd give him a little bit of low carb and see if it wouldn't help him surf in the greens. the longer he stays there, the more his body will accept it as normal.

for a person as experienced as you are, as long as you are able to monitor, you're probably safe shooting everything over 68. You know the LL saying "shoot low to stay low." Shooting the full dose without reducing, as long as you can monitor, into normal numbers lets Lantus work its best - it may be just the opportunity you've been waiting for to flatten out his numbers.

This is a recent post where I was explaining it to Darin: Shooting Low.
 
hi Julie. he went to 65 at +6 so I wasn't going to risk it. I get scared. hes bounced over night even though I shot at 140 :-( ive reduced dose as I knew im going to out at work etc the next few days. I hope ive done the right thing!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top