? 09/06 Kai AM374 +6 153 11.5+ 92 PM111 +1 138 +2 95 +3 68 +3.577 +4 65 +4.578 +5 109 +5.5115 +6.5 123

Maddie & Kai

Active Member
Previous Thread from yesterday - 09/05 Kai AMPS 303 +4 85

2 week prior kai was on 2 units and still running a little high. I was gearing up to increase his insulin dose this weekend until yesterday when his +4 dropped to 85 after having a AMPS of 303. We reduced to 1.75 last night and this morning. His AMPS this morning was Alphatrak 374 / Relion 363. And then his +6 was at 153/124.

I got home today from work and decided to test him 30 min before his normal PMPS check. So i guess technically this is his +11.5 and not his PMPS. Something just told me to go ahead and do it. Alphatrak says 92 and Relion says 72.
Should i skip?
Should i just reduce to 1.5?
Should i withhold food and insulin to see if he rises on his own?
He is not showing any symptoms of hypo.
Normal Injection time is in about 15 minutes.
 
Last edited:
Update:
Did his PMPS and he is back up to 111.
I feel like that 92 is still a little too close for comfort. Plus I don't know if he was lower than that between the +6 and the +11.5. So i think i will reduce to 1.5 units.
He just spit up a little white foam... probably because he is hungry.

Did I make a good call? Opinions welcomed.
 
With SLGS, you reduce immediately if they go below 90, which he did on the Relion. Your new dose is 1.5 units.

Since you shot tonight, please get a +1 and a +2, to see if he's still on the downward trend or that was the extent of the drop. And feed that boy! Not too much, in case he goes lower later you want him to still be a bit hungry.
 
+1 is at alphatrak 138 and relion 110. Looking good so far. I will check again at +2. I did save some of his food just in case. I also wanted to avoid a scarf and barf lol
Thank you for the help Wendy!:cat:
 
+2 back down to 95 :(
I fed him the rest of his dinner and I will continue to check throughout tonight...I guess while i'm up I think I might deep clean the whole house while I wait :coffee:
 
2+ at 68. Tried to feed him some fancy feast but that seemed to ruin his appetite :arghh:

Update 2 mintues after:
Got rid of the Fancy Feast and tried his regular Weruva wet food and we are good now:rolleyes:
 
And please keep the subject line updated with the latest numbers so we can see that he's going down.
 
I got rid of his Fancy Feast and put down some of his regular weruva wet food and he ate that. I gave him The Aamzon livin flavor which is a little bit higher in carbs than the Paw Lickin Chicken. But I also have some syrup, fancy feats, some meow mix cat treats and some of his old Glycobalance dry food on hand.
 
He's technically earned another reduction tonight by going under 90 again. Next test (1/2 hour) he may need a drop of syrup on a tsp or two of food.
 
77 @ +3.5
I feed him another spoon of weruva with a drop of syrup and he ate it right up.
And I'll plan to reduce to 1.25 in the AM.
Gonna check him again in 30 minutes at his +4.
 
So happy he went up! Was that +3.5 before you gave syrup? If so, you could stick with regular low carb. I'd have added more carbs if he was still dropping.
 
65 @ +4
I don't understand, I thought he would have rose up even more with the syrup.
Going to give him some more food and a little more syrup.
 
No worries. It's a good sign he was going up on his own. Typically you should wait a couple hours after giving syrup before wrapping up testing, because the HC can wear off in a couple hours and the numbers go back down again. But you know he was going up on his own. Think of this as an experiment. It'll be good to know how much syrup takes him up.
 
Oops, typed that same time as you were posting. Was that +4 a full 1/2 hour after the syrup? It can take 20-30 minutes for the carbs to go from the plate to the blood stream.
 
It was about 25 minutes and it was a tiny drop, so maybe it didn't have time to really take effect. I did give him a little bit more with this last spoonful.
I will check him again in another 30 minutes.
 
I'd hold off on the syrup next time, unless down a lot. I'd like to see if he'll come up without it. It's starting to get later in the cycle so he just might.
 
These are Alphatrak numbers. With consecutive checks i'm not always able to get enough blood for both meters.
Also you are correct, he is rising back up! :cat:
109 @ +5
I fed him just a spoonful more of his food without the syrup this time. I'll check again in 30mins.
 
OK, under 68 is much more concerning on the AT. Thank goodness, he's on his way up. Let's see him get one more rising test without those extra carbs before calling it a night.
 
Yes! It looks like we are on a nice steady climb now.
115 @ +5.5
I'm going let him finish off what is left in the bowl. And Since i'm going to be up anyways, I'm going to check him again in an hour. Just to make sure.

Thank you so much Wendy! Words cannot express how thankful I am.
 
And Since i'm going to be up anyways, I'm going to check him again in an hour. Just to make sure.
Looks like he is headed up. The last meal with syrup was at +4.5, right? In that case, a test at +6.5 would be good to ensure that he doesn't drop after the carbs wear off.
 
Back
Top