09/06 Fergus PMPS 367 +3 345

Dawnthebikegirl

Member Since 2021
I feel like this is going to be a long story, but I'll try to keep it succinct.

I've upped Fergs dose to 1.5 but the numbers are not really dropping. I think it's because he's constipated and stressed out)

He suffers from chronic constipation. The vet didn't say that he had megacolon, but his poops are pretty large. I have spent a few years telling the vet I didn't want him on the Royal Canin fiber response food (the vet kept insisting on it). I've tried to keep him regular by giving him lactulose (just switched to mirilax when I found out he was diabetic), probiotics, psyllium, subq fluids for hydration... you name it. I've tried it. It works for a while, then it stops working.

About 4 months ago he went into the vet with diarrhea only to realize he had an impacted stool. Vet worked for 3 days to get him pooping and when it was all done, I finally gave in and started feeding the Fiber Response food... and it worked!!! He's been fine and pooping regularly. However....

fast forward 4 months and now my cat has diabetes. UGH. I knew it!

So 2 weeks ago he had a UTI, that was treated but the urinalysis and the blood work showed diabetes. I had to wait a week to get him on insulin (waiting for the UTI to clear). I did lots of reading and started with the transition off the kibble to a low-carb raw diet. I went back to giving him psyllium and miralax, and added egg yolk to try to keep him regular. I started him on a low dose of Lantus (1 unit) everything was going fine until about a day ago he stopped pooping. So i'm back where i started.

I want to do a raw/low-carb diet. I understand that's the only chance I have to get him into remission. But i also need him to poop and the only reliable way I've experienced is to give him the shitty Royal Canin kibble (that he loves).

Maybe the end game for him is not gonna be remission. I need to find a balance here. I'm beyond stressed about this.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
 
Hi Dawn,

As someone also with a chronically constipated sugar kitty, there is no easy answer. I feed a raw diet and these days I tend to avoid adding too many fibers to Ruby's food as I fear it only bulks up the stool and makes it harder to pass. She is now on 3 mls of Lactulose twice a day and 1/16th of a spoon of slippery elm bark in her overnight meal to manage morning nausea and vomiting. The Lactulose will not affect glucose levels because it's not a simple sugar and does not enter the bloodstream the way that other sugars do. Miralax should work in the same way, you just need to keep increasing the amount to find the right dose to get him to go. I have also started to add krill oil to her food on a regular basis to deal with the inflammation and also in the hopes it helps her move things along, so to speak.

I also try to massage her abdomen whenever she is lying on the couch next to me. She likes the belly rubs and I think it helps to encourage motility.
 
Ok. That's good to know. I'll lay off the psyllium switch back to lactulose. That is a high dosage (I've never given him more than 3mls once a day), but maybe that's what he needs right now.

I'll get the slippery elm tomorrow (everything is closed today for labour day). I watched a video on how to palpitate his colon. I can sort of do that.. but he won't let me touch his tummy. It's a no-fly zone and he will certainly cut me.

Thank you. I pray this works. I don't want to put him back on that food!
 
I would increase the Lactulose dose slowly to make sure it doesn't give him diarrhea. I have seen a few recommendations for dosage of Lactulose as 1 ml per 2 lbs of weight twice a day or 1-3 mls twice a day.

I give the slippery elm for nausea (Ruby also has small cell lymphoma, so this can cause vomiting). It is a bit fibrous as well, so I am careful to use just a small amount of it. Another option that I've seen another caregiver here use is chia seeds. They swell when they come in contact with water and can have laxative effects in addition to being very nutritious.
 
Thank you! I've never been too sure about how that dosage worked.
The chia seeds are a great idea. I know they work for me and i swear by them. Good to know they are safe for pets too.

If he hasn't pooped by the morn he's going to the vet. Ugh. Pray for poop.

I'm not looking forward to that because i'm not following my vets advice of 3 units. He will see Fergs numbers and probably flip out.
He's not an unreasonable person, but I could use some articles from reputable sources to show him how SLGS and TR work and that the high dosage approach is not great.

If anyone has links to articles i can print to back me up please send them here.
Thank you in advance.
So grateful.
 
Thank you for this. I will highlight the dosing recommendation...

It is problematic though. Page six says Glargine is not Vet FDA approved. Isn't Lantus and Glargine the same thing?
I'm worried it's not gonna help me convince the vet that what i'm doing is ok.

I'm not trying to argue. I truly do appreciate everyone's help. I just need to be sure what I'm talking about.

I feel scared not following the vets advice, though i feel in my heart that a low carb diet and low dose of insulin is what is necessary.
I don't want my vet to think I'm "experimenting" on my cat.
I also don't want him to refuse to treat my cat in the midst of a crisis, though I don't think he would.
He's very kind and had a great bedside manner, his info is just out of date.

If he would just poop this would be resolved. I just need him to poop.
 
Today is Ruby's 4th day of no poop. I really empathize with you, Dawn!

Glargine is the generic name for Lantus. Didn’t this same vet prescribe Lantus? Then there should be no problem, right? I was also really afraid of upsetting my vets until I got Ruby regulated and I showed them her spreadsheet, then they told me to keep doing what I am doing. Even now, when Ruby's BGs are all out of whack because she is taking steroids, I share her spreadsheet with her oncologist who is very impressed by the control I have over her levels.

You hold the syringe and you are the best advocate for your cat. I don't see why fear of hypoglycemia from receiving too much insulin would be a bad move on anyone's part.

Here is the paper upon which the methods in this forum are based: https://www.felinediabetes.com/Roomp_Rand_2008 dosing_testing protocol.pdf
 
Omg. I'm so sorry to hear that. Poor sweet Ruby!!! It's so stressful!!!

I actually asked my vet to prescribe Lantus (his initial dose for the insulin curve was 3 units of caninsulin, that's all they use, prescribe, and understand, they are just old school)

In retrospect should have asked for prozinc.. I understand that's the more effective and flexible insulin... alas.. I've spent the money on the Lantus. I'm not poor, but not rich enough to switch it now. I have to use it for a least another month before I can save up to try something else.

He's been on insulin for a week, and the chart is all over the place. I panicked one day when i gave him 1.5...and his numbers dropped like crazy. I gave him the high-carb kibble that sent his numbers sky-high.

I just feel like I will get a vote of no-confidence if I show my vet what I've done for the last week. I'm just barely holding on.

But I'm testing him all the time. He's such a champ, enduring all my poking and prodding and following him around with a bowl making him eat.

I will print this link as well. I do SUPER DUPER appreciate your time to help me. Honestly.
If i ever win the lottery i need to take everyone on a group vacation so i can see everyone in person that has talked me down, and give them a big hug.
 
Back
Top