09/06 Blaze AMPS/326 +2/344 +4/333

Blaze and Paola

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2849120/

Good morning everyone,

I am puzzled about Blaze's last 2 cycles readings. Last night I was supposed to increase to 1U (but I couldn't be home to monitor for 4 hours after the shot, I chickened out and I decided to keep the 0.75U for 1 more cycle because I would have been a nervous wreck at dinner worrying sick). I left food out for Blaze, the usual FF 4% he loves. When I came back home and was able to test, his reading were higher than usual.
This morning I gave him the 1U (as discussed @Bandit's Mom and @tiffmaxee)...I tested him at +2 and +4 and the readings are still higher than normal.
Feeding has not changed because he still has access to food even when I am home and monitor. So once in a while he has a little bit but even though this happens, he was still able to have lower numbers within the cycles.
Any ideas why this change? I am home all day and will continue to test. I am just curious as to why he is on pink for the last 2 cycles when previously he was starting to kinda settle on the yellows and blues within the first +6 hours after the shots.
Thanks again,
Paola
PS: I know for certain I didn't give fur shots, needle went in and so did insulin
 
Last edited:
The difference between your pre-shot and subsequent numbers is really negligible. You would expect a slight bump in numbers prior to insulin onset due to the influence of food. Aside from that, there's a 20% variability due to meter variance. Thus, the numbers between your AMPS and +4 are really pretty much the same numbers.

It's also likely that the higher numbers are the result of a bounce off of the blues you were seeing yesterday. Blaze keeps flirting with nadirs that are under 200 but his pancreas hasn't decided whether it's a flirtation or true love! Just as a reminder, with TR, you evaluate the dose every 3 days/6 cycles. It looks like you're holding the dose an extra day (for which there may be a good reason but it's just a reminder).
 
The difference between your pre-shot and subsequent numbers is really negligible. You would expect a slight bump in numbers prior to insulin onset due to the influence of food. Aside from that, there's a 20% variability due to meter variance. Thus, the numbers between your AMPS and +4 are really pretty much the same numbers.

It's also likely that the higher numbers are the result of a bounce off of the blues you were seeing yesterday. Blaze keeps flirting with nadirs that are under 200 but his pancreas hasn't decided whether it's a flirtation or true love! Just as a reminder, with TR, you evaluate the dose every 3 days/6 cycles. It looks like you're holding the dose an extra day (for which there may be a good reason but it's just a reminder).

Thank you even though this is my second time around I feel I am really still a rookie and still learning.
 
Back
Top