Maddie & Kai
Member Since 2024
This is my first time posting on the Lantus Form and probably my 3rd post overall on the site. Please let me know if I’m doing something wrong.
For more back story on Kai please see this Thread.
2 weeks ago I increased Kai's Lantus to 2 units. I know SLGS method says he can be increased after 7 days but we were coming off of an antibiotic and struggling with some bouncing numbers, possibly dealing with glucose toxicity from where I was overly cautious and kept him on too low of a dose previously.
He has been doing well on the 2 units and acts like he feels great. We are getting a lot more yellow and blue readings and fewer pinks, however, I would like to see him drop lower. I was thinking of increasing him to 2.25 or 2.5 units. My vet recommended 2.5 units but i am unsure. We did a AM curve on the 2nd. I still need to do a PM curve. I am going to try and do his PM curve today or tomorrow and then increase him over the weekend when I am able to be home to constantly monitor him.
However, today I am conflicted because he dropped so rapidly to 85 at his +4 hours after having an AMPS of 303. He acts fine and has zero hypo symptoms, but that number is just not normal compared to his other readings on 2 units. Should I be concerned about that before increasing this weekend?
Can one of the experienced Lantus users please take a look at his spreadsheet and let me know your thoughts on increasing this weekend? As well as why he might have dropped so low at his +4.
Please and thank you in advance.
Maddie & Kai
For more back story on Kai please see this Thread.
2 weeks ago I increased Kai's Lantus to 2 units. I know SLGS method says he can be increased after 7 days but we were coming off of an antibiotic and struggling with some bouncing numbers, possibly dealing with glucose toxicity from where I was overly cautious and kept him on too low of a dose previously.
He has been doing well on the 2 units and acts like he feels great. We are getting a lot more yellow and blue readings and fewer pinks, however, I would like to see him drop lower. I was thinking of increasing him to 2.25 or 2.5 units. My vet recommended 2.5 units but i am unsure. We did a AM curve on the 2nd. I still need to do a PM curve. I am going to try and do his PM curve today or tomorrow and then increase him over the weekend when I am able to be home to constantly monitor him.
However, today I am conflicted because he dropped so rapidly to 85 at his +4 hours after having an AMPS of 303. He acts fine and has zero hypo symptoms, but that number is just not normal compared to his other readings on 2 units. Should I be concerned about that before increasing this weekend?
Can one of the experienced Lantus users please take a look at his spreadsheet and let me know your thoughts on increasing this weekend? As well as why he might have dropped so low at his +4.
Please and thank you in advance.
Maddie & Kai