09/05/20 Dolly not eating/insulin? PMPS 268

Our Dolly Girl (GA)

Member Since 2019
I am in California. Dolly is on 1.25 units of Lantus 2x a day. Not eating well especially today. Stared at me with that starving look for the last hour of her 2 hour fast pre-insulin. Tested her, gave her a couple treats and attempted to feed her. Tried 3 different foods (with FortiFlora). Smelled them, took a couple bites of the first then walked away from all. As a last resort, gave her Dr Elsey’s, ate a few bites. Gave her insulin. She seems fine and happy in every other way. She has sinus problems. Is it safe to give her Mirtazapine or am I masking something else? She just had labs done. I have never checked for ketones but took top off the litter box, waiting to see if she will use it. I have the strips. Any advice? Should I have withheld the insulin? Do I need to change her dosage? Sorry it takes me so long to explain. Normally she will finally eat but then maybe not. Worried about am and what to do if she doesn’t eat.
 
Are you still giving cerenia ? Did she get any today?So nausea is a problem. I’m in California as well.
 
It’s actually used for nausea. You can give some mirtazapine if it works for her. The dose does not seem to need adjusting. Since you are feeding some dry you would follow SLGS. Have you read the methods page?
 
So the same. Her PMPS was fine to shoot if she were eating. If she doesn’t eat soon I’d give the mirt.
 
It’s actually used for nausea. You can give some mirtazapine if it works for her. The dose does not seem to need adjusting. Since you are feeding some dry you would follow SLGS. Have you read the methods page?
Yes and doing SLGS. She gets very little dry. I use Cerenia for congestion. Mirtazapine does work for her. Gave it to Her last week.
 
If she doesn't eat, you have a few choices. All involve giving insulin. Insulin is used for more than combating carbs in food. Even cats who are about to have anaesthesia and cannot eat, can still get a half dose. So, you typically are OK with at least a half dose. If you think she might eat in the next couple hours, you can probably give the full dose. Other options are giving insulin and assist feeding. Sometimes a little assist feeding would get Neko eating the rest of her food, or at least enough I felt OK with.
 
If she doesn't eat, you have a few choices. All involve giving insulin. Insulin is used for more than combating carbs in food. Even cats who are about to have anaesthesia and cannot eat, can still get a half dose. So, you typically are OK with at least a half dose. If you think she might eat in the next couple hours, you can probably give the full dose. Other options are giving insulin and assist feeding. Sometimes a little assist feeding would get Neko eating the rest of her food, or at least enough I felt OK with.
She usually will eat after a few hours. I gave her the full dose and just tested her.
 
I just looked it up because I’ve only given it for nausea. Is it a liquid or pill? Oh and happy belated birthday.
 
:bighug: FD does that to your ! It will get better.

You did shoot before you posted, right?
I posted but didn’t wait for help. Usually I don’t hear back for awhile and thought of things I’ve read here, advice given, try not to skip insulin if possible. Felt she was high enough and that the little bit of food would hopefully keep her from a hypoglycemic event. She just came out of 7 months in remission.
 
I posted but didn’t wait for help. Usually I don’t hear back for awhile and thought of things I’ve read here, advice given, try not to skip insulin if possible. Felt she was high enough and that the little bit of food would hopefully keep her from a hypoglycemic event. She just came out of 7 months in remission.
Yes I did give insulin before I posted. Sorry, brain is in worry mode. I said I gave insulin in my post. The last couple hours are a blur now. She just ate a little.
 
Back
Top