09/04 Saoirse PMPS 6.2 Next Dose Time after Skipped Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Critter Mom

Member Since 2014
Hi all,

Condo for 28-29 August 2014: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124272

Saoirse seems to be doing OK on a very small amount of Lantus, but I am constantly hitting a problem with low PMPS numbers. (NB BG number trends are easier to assimilate by clicking on the Brief Log in Saoirse's spreadsheet.)

I have PTSD which means I have major problems with severe fatigue and sleep disruption. A fortnight ago I had to give Saoirse her AM dose 2 hours later than normal (I was so exhausted I slept through the alarm). Despite numerous attempts, I have not been able to do the gradual shift back to the normal time because my already off-kilter sleep times have been all over the shop since the enforced schedule change. This really affects Saoirse's treatment because I can't monitor her properly after PMS when her PMPS number is on the low side. This has resulted in reduced or missed doses in order to ensure my girl stays safe.

Saoirse is currently on 0.25 IU Lantus and her PMPS was 6.2 / 112 (ALPHATRAK). Given that I have withheld her insulin tonight, is it feasible to move her AMPS time to 1 hour earlier than today's AMPS? (I am disabled so I am at home all the time and I can monitor her closely during AM cycles.) If not possible, is there any other way to solve this problem (e.g. miss 2 doses??I).

It would help both of us enormously if we could get back to her normal dose times. I'm really struggling healthwise and my limitations are affecting Saoirse's progress. I'd very much welcome any advice or experience members could share about how to sort this.
 
If you skip, you can pick whatever time you want to shoot. If you're off schedule, a skipped shot will allow you to adjust your shot time since you are already past shooting 12 hours after your last shot. If you need to make up 2 hours, you can move the shot back to your usual AMPS without a problem.

One thought given your PM limitations... Is it possible for you to move your shot time earlier so you can get additional tests in the evening?
 
Saoirse is looking really good. You are doing a great job with her. And yes, since you skipped tonight you can shoot whenever you want in the morning.
 
just adding my "you're doing a good job with a difficult situation!" as well. Skipping tonight's dose is a great idea to help you get back to your normal schedule.

I also like Sienne's idea of shifting your shot time as early as possible to help you with the evening cycle tests.

Saoirse is looking great!
 
Thank you, ladies, for your replies ... and for your encouragement. I've been really disappointed that I had to footer around with Saoirse's dosage because of my sleep issues. I feel like I'm letting her down. :sad:

Per Sienne's question, I need to move the dose time back by about 1¼-1½ hours so that I can do extra tests on the PM cycle if needed. From the data I've collated thus far, Saoirse seems to be lower at PMPS than AMPS so having the extra time to carry out any tests needed after her evening dose if her numbers are low will really help with getting Saoirse onto a consistent dosing regimen.

Bless you all for your help! I appreciate it so much. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top