? 09/04 Maggie AMPS 311/ +2,30 276/ +3,30 250 Yesterday night PMPS 265/ +2 297/ +4 273 Confused about inconsistent cycles

hellen_maggie

Member Since 2025
08/04/26 Maggie AMPS 295/ +3 176/ +4,30 95/ +5,45 87

Hi everyone,
I’m really confused about what’s going on with Maggie. Just when it feels like things are starting to improve a bit, we suddenly get cycles like last night or this morning, where it almost looks like the insulin isn’t working at all. With the same dose, on other days she drops into much nicer numbers, so I’m struggling to understand this inconsistency. I don’t think this is a typical bounce, but I could be wrong. Αlso, I’ve noticed that every time we get a relatively lower preshot (low for her usual range), the cycle ends up being flat or higher as if the dose is not working at all, even in cases where there haven’t been any preceding low numbers that could explain a bounce.

At this point, I honestly don’t know how to handle it or what direction to take. Any thoughts or guidance would be really appreciated.

Thank you so much 🙏
 
I don't have much to add in advice wise but I know that when Lantus works properly the cycles are supposed to be pretty flat. Hope that reassures you a bit.
 
No, I don't have.. I will try to feed her again in 30m, wait another 30min and if she looks OK, maybe I can shot then?
Has she been nauseous other than just now?
You can try to give her small amounts of food to make sure she won't throw up again.

If you don't think you can get food into her tonight, you could skip the dose. You have about 2 hours before the Lantus will onset (kick in).

It's up to you if you feel she will eat or not.
It's always best to be safe as Jessica said.
 
It's really good to keep ondansetron and Cerenia on hand at home if your vet will prescribe them for you.
They help with nausea and vomiting and that always seems to happen at night or when the vet is closed, so I like to keep it in my supply cabinet just in case I need it!

Is Maggie licking her lips or acting nauseated? Turning away from food?
Or did she just eat too fast??
 
Agree with Staci! Could she have just eaten too fast? Sometimes Pookey will do that right after he eats. Hopefully she’ll have some food for you tonight after her stomach settles down.

I know it’s been talked about before (I’m sorry, I can’t remember the outcome) - but looking at Maggie’s sheet I’m just thinking about TR versus SLGS to allow you to get her lower without having to reduce the dose. Even yesterday that 87 calls for a reduction but I see you held, which I can understand.

Has Bhooma looked at her numbers? Maybe she’ll have some thoughts. @Bandit's Mom
 
It's really good to keep ondansetron and Cerenia on hand at home if your vet will prescribe them for you.
They help with nausea and vomiting and that always seems to happen at night or when the vet is closed, so I like to keep it in my supply cabinet just in case I need it!

Is Maggie licking her lips or acting nauseated? Turning away from food?
Or did she just eat too fast??
She looks ok now (45 min. After she vomited) I just gave her a small amount of food she was starving....I think she drank a lot of water from the tap, and that's why she threw up.
 
She looks ok now (45 min. After she vomited) I just gave her a small amount of food she was starving....I think she drank a lot of water from the tap, and that's why she threw up.
I’m thinking of feeding her gradually every 15 minutes, and if she keeps the food down, giving her the shot about 1.5 hours later than the usual time. Is that okay?
 
I’m thinking of feeding her gradually every 15 minutes, and if she keeps the food down, giving her the shot about 1.5 hours later than the usual time. Is that okay?
You can do that but you will have to move your schedule for tomorrow (if you can by 1 hour and walk your way back, up to 1/2 hour per day).
You don’t want to give insulin in a shorter time than every 12 hours.
 
Agree with Staci! Could she have just eaten too fast? Sometimes Pookey will do that right after he eats. Hopefully she’ll have some food for you tonight after her stomach settles down.

I know it’s been talked about before (I’m sorry, I can’t remember the outcome) - but looking at Maggie’s sheet I’m just thinking about TR versus SLGS to allow you to get her lower without having to reduce the dose. Even yesterday that 87 calls for a reduction but I see you held, which I can understand.

Has Bhooma looked at her numbers? Maybe she’ll have some thoughts. @Bandit's Mom
Is she still eating dry food (is that why you’re not able to do TR?)
 
Update: Thank you all so much for your help and support! She seems to be doing fine now she ate normally and I’ve just given the shot. I really hope it will be a calm night. Although I’m a bit worried, I didn’t want to leave her without insulin all night. I hope I did the right thing. 🫣 she is sleeping peacefully for now❤️
 

Attachments

  • 20260405_175036.jpg
    20260405_175036.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 9
I'm glad you shot. How much after her normal time did you shoot? You should note that in the spreadsheet, either the Remarks section or in the units section. For example, if you shot 1.5 hours late, then the U column could say 0.3@13.5 - meaning it was 13.5 hours from the morning shot. A delayed dose can act a bit like a dose reduction, so she may be higher tonight.

This post give you some other ideas why her numbers can vary cycle to cycle. What is the Insulin Depot? Read part way down, after the section on Levemir. Note, bouncing can also play a big factor in cycle variability. She is bouncing due to yesterday's greens.
 
Is she still eating dry food (is that why you’re not able to do TR?)
Yes, she is still eating a mix of dry kibble and air-dried food. The overall carb percentage is currently around 12%. In the next 4 days, this will drop to about 9.5%, although there will still be a small amount of kibble in her diet. Since we’ll be under 10% carbs, would it be possible to follow TR, or does she need to be completely off kibble?
 
I'm glad you shot. How much after her normal time did you shoot? You should note that in the spreadsheet, either the Remarks section or in the units section. For example, if you shot 1.5 hours late, then the U column could say 0.3@13.5 - meaning it was 13.5 hours from the morning shot. A delayed dose can act a bit like a dose reduction, so she may be higher tonight.

This post give you some other ideas why her numbers can vary cycle to cycle. What is the Insulin Depot? Read part way down, after the section on Levemir. Note, bouncing can also play a big factor in cycle variability. She is bouncing due to yesterday's greens.
Hellen asked the below question, Wendy, are you able to answer her?

Since we’ll be under 10% carbs, would it be possible to follow TR, or does she need to be completely off kibble?
 
Than
I'm glad you shot. How much after her normal time did you shoot? You should note that in the spreadsheet, either the Remarks section or in the units section. For example, if you shot 1.5 hours late, then the U column could say 0.3@13.5 - meaning it was 13.5 hours from the morning shot. A delayed dose can act a bit like a dose reduction, so she may be higher tonight.

This post give you some other ideas why her numbers can vary cycle to cycle. What is the Insulin Depot? Read part way down, after the section on Levemir. Note, bouncing can also play a big factor in cycle variability. She is bouncing due to yesterday's greens.
Thank you, Wendy!
I gave the shot 1.5 hours later. Tomorrow morning, I’ll shoot 15 minutes earlier, and I’ll keep adjusting every cycle until we’re back on our normal schedule. I’ll update my spreadsheet as soon as possible!
 
Hellen asked the below question, Wendy, are you able to answer her?

Since we’ll be under 10% carbs, would it be possible to follow TR, or does she need to be completely off kibble?
Our plan is to gradually reduce the Royal grams every 5 days. We are currently at Step 5.

Step 5: 32g Royal / 30g Ziwi – Carbs: 11.9%
Step 6: 25g Royal / 35g Ziwi – Carbs: 9.7%
Step 7: 18g Royal / 40g Ziwi – Carbs: 7.4%
Step 8: 10g Royal / 45g Ziwi – Carbs: 5.2%
Final: 0g Royal / 54g Ziwi – Carbs: 3.%
 
Back
Top