09/04 Fergus AMPS 448 +6 325

Dawnthebikegirl

Member Since 2021
I'm new to this and so please forgive me. I'm just all over the map but that's gonna change.

Yesterday his numbers were so high and he wouldn't eat, so I thought upping his dose a small amount would be good, but then his numbers were really dropping and I panicked and gave him some kibble before I left for work (even though Bandit's mom said he'd be ok). When I got home he was at 24.9!!!! UGH. I feel terrible.

I want (and need) to up his dose for sure, but I want to do it on a day that I'm here to really watch him, and that won't be till Monday. Maybe I'll hold the dose at 1.25 (so hard to get right because the needle is so small). But for his weight, 1.5 seems right.

I also feel terrible for poking him so much. His poor little ears! I wonder in the end if it's cost-effective to get the Libre. Until then I've devised a schedule to test on work days PMPS+3. AMPS +6 and +9. Then +3 +6 +9 on days off.

I'm so grateful for this forum. It helps me breathe knowing I can ask these questions, as rhetorical as they may seem.
 
First breathe. It’s going to take time to figure this all out. Trust us. We will help you keep Ferguson safe. To get the in between doses and frankly all doses measured the most accurately many use digital calipers. I increased and decreased in 1/8 units so they were so much help. Here’s a link to info on dosing with calipers. I was going to suggest 1.25 actually but wanted you to start with something easy to measure. We will increase every 3-10 days after the initial 7 day building of the depot. You don’t even know what 1.0 will do for that long.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/#post-862835
 
Last edited:
The range for normal blood sugar for a cat is 2.8 to 5.5 mmol on a human meter. We usually reach for high carb food only when they drop below 2.8 or look like they will drop below 2.8 if not fed some higher carbs to slow them down. I think Fergus is pretty safe with his usual LC food for now!

Are you using the BD Ultrafine II syringes that have a 30 unit (0.3ml) capacity and half unit markings?
https://diabetesexpress.ca/products/bd-ultrafine-ii-syringe-3-10cc-6mm-31g


On the dosing front, stick to 1U for now and we can increase on Monday. Since you are feeding LC wet and can get mid-cycle tests, you can follow TR, which means increasing his dose every 3-5 days based on his numbers.

Does Fergus dislike testing or do his ears look red? Testing does not hurt them and with time their ears "learn to bleed". Have you seen the sticky with the home testing tips and videos?
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

The Libre is expensive and doesn't stay on the full 14 days for many cats. It also tends to give pretty wonky readings in lower numbers. You don't have to test at +3, +6 and +9 in every cycle. Just in "active" cycles. If the +3 is significantly lower than the PS, you want to get another test at +5 or +6. In cycles where he is bouncing, you don't need as many tests.



Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-09-21-fergus-amps-403-6-377-9-439.252407/
 
The range for normal blood sugar for a cat is 2.8 to 5.5 mmol on a human meter. We usually reach for high carb food only when they drop below 2.8 or look like they will drop below 2.8 if not fed some higher carbs to slow them down. I think Fergus is pretty safe with his usual LC food for now!

Are you using the BD Ultrafine II syringes that have a 30 unit (0.3ml) capacity and half unit markings?
https://diabetesexpress.ca/products/bd-ultrafine-ii-syringe-3-10cc-6mm-31g


On the dosing front, stick to 1U for now and we can increase on Monday. Since you are feeding LC wet and can get mid-cycle tests, you can follow TR, which means increasing his dose every 3-5 days based on his numbers.

Does Fergus dislike testing or do his ears look red? Testing does not hurt them and with time their ears "learn to bleed". Have you seen the sticky with the home testing tips and videos?
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

The Libre is expensive and doesn't stay on the full 14 days for many cats. It also tends to give pretty wonky readings in lower numbers. You don't have to test at +3, +6 and +9 in every cycle. Just in "active" cycles. If the +3 is significantly lower than the PS, you want to get another test at +5 or +6. In cycles where he is bouncing, you don't need as many tests.



Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-09-21-fergus-amps-403-6-377-9-439.252407/

Thank you!!

I am using those syringes, but they are 8mm. He's good with it. I give him subq a couple of times a week to help with his constipation, so he's used to a larger needle. NBD. Also I know to give his subq at least 2 or more hours before or after his shot. Lesson learned there too...

I will stick with 1u dose till Monday and try to get some calipers to help with the dosing.

He's ok with all the ear poking, he really is taking it like a champ, I'm probably just projecting. lol. I guess I will forgo the libre.

I will watch these videos and hopefully, that will help. Would like to switch to his paw sometimes but he's just not into that.

The more time i have to digest this the more I feel comfortable and confident I can do this. It's just felt like a lot of info to decipher and i've been overwhelmed. No one makes good decisions when they're like that.

again. So grateful!
I think things will be ok, but I'll likely reach out Monday when I increase his dose to 1.25.
 
First breathe. It’s going to take time to figure this all out. Trust us. We will help you keep Ferguson safe. To get the in between doses and frankly all doses measured the most accurately many use digital calipers. I increased and decreased in 1/8 units so they were so much help. Here’s a link to info on dosing with calipers. I was going to suggest 1.25 actually but wanted you to start with something easy to measure. We will increase every 3-10 days after the initial 7 day building of the depot. You don’t even know what 1.0 will do for that long.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/#post-862835
Thank you. I'm so grateful.
I'll get some calipers for sure. I think that will help me panic less. lol

Don't know if you read my reply to Bandit's mom. I'll hold the dose at 1u till monday (my day off) and increase it then so i don't spend a whole work shift wondering if I've killed my cat.
 
Back
Top