08/31 Jax - PMPS 93,+1 98,+2 99,+3 123,+5 172

JaxBenji

Member Since 2020
Yesterday

So Jax spent most of the night in the lower half of the 200s for the first time after having a 100 point drop from AMPS+8 to PMPS. Oh the things we get excited about ;) Many thanks so @tiffmaxee for helping me :)

Today is day 3 on his current dose of 2 units. Planning to increase to 2.25 in the morning.
 
Jax, are you listening??? Mom is talking about an increase for you, so how about a little action today?;)
You did a great job testing last night. :)
Have a good day, Susanne!
Thank you Lyla! Maybe Butters can talk to him :)? And that was good practice last night for some night time testing!
 
So maybe Jax IS listening ;) our second blue ever at +3. He still has probably half of his breakfast left. I plan to test at +4 again.
 
Still in the blue at +4. Jax still has a little bit of breakfast left - maybe a quarter left. I plan to test again at +5 since he was still dropping a little at +4.

AMPS 241
+3 181
+4 168
 
These blues are very new to Jax - I re-read TR and looks like I should hold current dose for an extra day or two (8-10 cycles in total).

AMPS 241
+3 181
+4 168
+5 171
+6 157

Will try to keep testing this afternoon. He still had a few bites of breakfast left at +6 (I have never known him to be a grazer until this past week).
 
AMPS 241
+3 181
+4 168
+5 171
+6 157
+7 173

Clearly Jax is fine lol. We will go on a testing break till +10.
 
So, now we are really into new territory. I'll test again at PMPS but was hoping confirmation/advice on dosing.

(1) Assuming he's gone up from 140 then I'll give his 6th dose of 2 units and can test tonight.
(2) What if he's gone down from 140? Stall for 20 minutes? Reduced dose?

AMPS 241
+3 181
+4 168
+5 171
+6 157
+7 173
+10 140 (second strip 132)
 
+12 111 *gave 1 tsp of dinner otherwise he wouldn't let me test

Currently stalling on the insulin and giving the rest of dinner. Would appreciate any advice!
 
It will take 20-30 for the food to factor in. Test in 15 from when you fed. Next time stall, don’t feed, until he will let you test.
Thank you :) Your response was about 15-20 from when he had a tsp so I retested - and managed to do it without food! It's 110 (so same as +12).
 
Do you have plenty of supplies, hc, strips,etc? Can you stay up and money? If yes he hasn’t gone down any more so I think you can shoot. Looks like for awhile I would get a +11-11.5 . What do you think?
 
Do you have plenty of supplies, hc, strips,etc? Can you stay up and money? If yes he hasn’t gone down any more so I think you can shoot. Looks like for awhile I would get a +11-11.5 . What do you think?
Yes I have supplies EXCEPT for ketone strips. Think I need to run out and get some? I know I need them but for tonight? And yes, I can stay up and monitor...had planned on it since he was in new territory all day.

Any pro tips on getting an 11 or 11.5 w/out food? Or is it okay to give a tsp? I just need him to have a nibble while I get the blood :)
 
It could be a very active cycle. Appetite is good right?

Give a100% freeze dried piece of chicken or boiled chicken so you can test.
 
Beautiful blue day today. While I realize this is the first time you've seen this many good numbers in a row, this is really a wonderful thing. It means the insulin you're giving is doing it's job!

As long as you're going to be home and can stay up to monitor the blood glucose for a while tonight, Jax should be ok. Re-read the instruction for how to handle low numbers;

Print them out and highlight the important steps should you get lower numbers than you're used to or comfortable with. People will be around this evening to support you - but this is your chance to brush up on how to handle these new and exciting numbers!

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/

Let's hope the surfing continues for a while...often cats upon seeing nice numbers for the first time or three, will bounce higher and higher...it's a natural reaction to going low...

I'm just about ready to call it a night - yes, I retire early because I'm up at the crack of dawn...well before dawn actually.

Best of luck this evening!! :)
 
It could be a very active cycle. Appetite is good right?

Give a100% freeze dried piece of chicken or boiled chicken so you can test.

I tested again and he's at 93 (~40minutes after AMPS+12).

Appetite is pretty good - it's slowed down as his glucose has improved but he's still waiting for dinner :)

Go for it with 93? or stall more? I think @Sue and Luci totally hit it when stating this is all new but all GOOD.
 
Beautiful blue day today. While I realize this is the first time you've seen this many good numbers in a row, this is really a wonderful thing. It means the insulin you're giving is doing it's job!

As long as you're going to be home and can stay up to monitor the blood glucose for a while tonight, Jax should be ok. Re-read the instruction for how to handle low numbers;

Print them out and highlight the important steps should you get lower numbers than you're used to or comfortable with. People will be around this evening to support you - but this is your chance to brush up on how to handle these new and exciting numbers!

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tight-regulation-becoming-data
 
The problem right now is those numbers LOOK like they're falling! I'm reluctant to advise you to shoot falling numbers. Although the mantra around here is 'shoot low to stay low'...you're kinda new at this...

How long can you afford to stall? If you feed him, there will be a food bump and then you won't know if he was really already going down or not...

If you continue to stall your next test/feed/shoot time will also be delayed...what's your schedule like for the next day or two while you adjust it to get it back to normal?
 
You can feed a little at +1 and +2. It will be fine. The problem with stalling and not feeding is they often continue to drop and then you can’t shoot. That almost happened.
 
You can feed a little at +1 and +2. It will be fine. The problem with stalling and not feeding is tgey often continue to drop and then you can’t shoot. That almost happened.

Thanks for the guidance - I did scoop half of his dinner up - so i can split that between +1 and +2?
 
Thanks for the guidance - I did scoop half of his dinner up - so i can split that between +1 and +2?
Yes. If at +1 he hasn’t gotten a food bump feed a few spoonfuls. If he drops much at +2 feed a little mc. I’ll guide in real time but just in case want you to have a game plan. It should be a nice flat cycle.
 
And this is another example of why I don't like stalling all the time when you see dropping (but safe) numbers, and it seems to be getting suggested more frequently of late. Many cats continue to drop without food. A hint for next time, if this is Jax's MO, when you saw him dropping at +10 you would have been fine giving him a small snack. It might have kept him up to a higher preshot, and you still had two hours for the carbs to wear off before preshot. For reading when you've got time, this is a great post on TR Myths debunked. The one I linked is about shooting dropping numbers, but the whole post is a good one.

Paws crossed you get a beautiful surf from Jax tonight. It's fantastic to see that green. :D
 
@tiffmaxee Okay - thank you so much. I grabbed my higher carb food (these names crack me up)
  • 9.7% Cats in the Kitchen - The Breakfast Cat
  • 12.4% Cats in the Kitchen - Pumpkin Lickin' Chicken
  • 13.5% Cats in the Kitchen - Pumpkin Jack Splash
  • 16.4% Cats in the Kitchen - 1 if by Land, 2 if by Sea
  • 25% Hills W/D (from our DX at the ER vet back in June :))
I have Karo Syrup & honey too.
 
And this is another example of why I don't like stalling all the time when you see dropping (but safe) numbers, and it seems to be getting suggested more frequently of late. Many cats continue to drop without food. A hint for next time, if this is Jax's MO, when you saw him dropping at +10 you would have been fine giving him a small snack. It might have kept him up to a higher preshot, and you still had two hours for the carbs to wear off before preshot. For reading when you've got time, this is a great post on TR Myths debunked. The one I linked is about shooting dropping numbers, but the whole post is a good one.

Paws crossed you get a beautiful surf from Jax tonight. It's fantastic to see that green. :D

This is all so fascinating (stressful, but fascinating). Thank you so much for the post AND the encouragement.
 
AMPS+12 111
AMPS+12.3 110
PMPS (AMPS+12.6) 93 *half of dinner served
+1 98 *2T of remaining dinner

Holding steady. He had a few bites of food left and I gave one more scoop (I didn't measure...a tablespoon or two).
 
Okay. At+3 if he drops I’d give the 9.7%. If about the same mc with a regular and chocolate for you. Small amount each time to keep him willing to eat. Which one is his fave? You are very organized. Good job. Oh and something for you.
94918453-6BF8-45D2-9401-C69935747F70.gif
 

Attachments

  • 94918453-6BF8-45D2-9401-C69935747F70.gif
    94918453-6BF8-45D2-9401-C69935747F70.gif
    18.4 KB · Views: 138
Hahaha you crack me up. I told my husband it's like ripping off a bandaid - I have everything, know how far our ER vet is (& their covid protocols), and we have been waiting for these numbers!

Okay. At+3 if he drops I’d give the 9.7%. If about the same mc with a regular and chocolate for you. Small amount each time to keep him willing to eat.

Best to test at +2 or +3? I had planned on +2 (or can do both...his ears will get a rest eventually....).

For the food, if he's about the same do you mean to mix MC with his 1-2% carb food? If he drops or the same, give a spoonful?

Which one is his fave?
And Jax doesn't know the deliciousness of the MC wet food - prior to DX, we fed dry orijen. I'm sure he'll at least lick up the gravy.

Also, sounds like I should maybe get some 5% to have on hand? Or we can discuss that another time :)
 
I’d get a +2 and +3. I hope the +2 goes up some. If down much a +4 or if a little +5. This is all just in case the internet is slow. Under 10% is lc. It depends how carb sensitive your cat is.
 
PMPS (AMPS+12.6) 93 *half of dinner served
+1 98 *2T of remaining dinner
+2 98

Mix low and medium carb and give a tablespoon? or wait till +3? He finished his half of dinner from PMPS and the extra scoop or two I gave him at +1 (so he has a little less than half of his usual dinner in the fridge)

Updated the title!
 
He's licking up the little snack now. And also thanks saying I'm organized - I think I'm more organized chaos in real life :) Also, I read on a thread (somewhat recent I think) to write the % carbs in sharpie on your food so I did. It was a great tip and my brain didn't have to think :)

PMPS (AMPS+12.6) 93 *half of dinner served
+1 98 *2T of remaining dinner
+2 98 *1T of 9.7% mixed w 1-2%

Will test again in about 40 minutes.
 
A bump! +3 123

PMPS (AMPS+12.6) 93 *half of dinner served
+1 98 *2T of remaining dinner
+2 98 *1T of 9.7% mixed w 1-2%
+3 123

What's your take on my next steps? Test at +5? Any more food?
 
Back
Top