08/31 Booger AMPS 108, +4 74 +6 117, PMPS 300

Status
Not open for further replies.

MartinJA527

Member Since 2014
Ok We've stalled now for 30 minutes to make sure her numbers were rising.. This has happened before and they always did but today she is dropping? She's not eaten yet what do I do this morning? Any advice please? Yesterday looks like a bounce number now.. Yesterday's News

AMBG 115, + 0.5 105, AMPS 108
Stalled 1 hour
 
Re: 08/31 Booger HELP PLEASE AMBG 118 +0.5 105 Staling

If you factor in the 20% variance due to the meter, this is more "surfing" than dropping. However, it's definitely a drop from your +9 last night.

Basic questions: do you have strips and high carb food food on hand and are you going to be around to monitor?

If you are able to answer "yes" to the above questions, you could shoot. Given that you've not shot numbers this low, you might want to stall a bit longer to see if numbers are coming back up a bit. Many of us would go ahead and shoot but I completely understand if this is still a bit scary for you since you've not really dealt with pre-shot numbers that are this low. (Remember, when you stall, it's like giving a dose reduction.) And, you don't want to feed if your stalling.

Will your schedule be OK if you do end up stalling for a while?
 
Re: 08/31 Booger HELP PLEASE AMBG 118 +0.5 105 Staling

Thank you for your reply.. I do have enough and I will be around.. Yes I'm nervous but I have yet to be able to do this for her so I guess now is the time. I am off for a couple of days so I can make up the time in her schedule gradually. I guess if we are going to do it now is the time to try?
 
Re: 08/31 Booger AMPS 108, +4 74 Eek!

I'll admit I'm freaking out about the green numbers.. I'm testing her every 15 minutes to make sure she doesn't bottom out. So far I have seen no changes in the way she is acting except she does appear more hungry than usual. This is so low for her! I have strips and a hypoglycemic tool kit.. but I don't want to use the latter.
 
Re: 08/31 Booger AMPS 108, +4 74 Eek!

great job shooting this morning!

often when you shoot lower, you have changed the game and the cat won't move that much during the whole cycle. Just feed her as you normally would - she may coast along like this the whole time. After today, then you'll have a better idea how she'll handle a lower preshot for next time.

She's only dropped 30 points in 4 hours, although i don't know what the rate has been. To get the current rate, you can compare the most recent 2 tests and figure out how fast she's dropping at the moment. I'd probably get another test in one hour.
 
Re: 08/31 Booger AMPS 108, +4 74 Eek!

Hi Julie. Thank you! I was really scared but if she's going to get better I have to and I'm going to be around for a couple more days so I figured now was the best time.

I wasn't really concerned about it until she took the dip to 74. It happened like this: +1 115, +1.5 83, +1.75 90, +2 84, +2.25 87, +2.75 75, +3 74.. So I was concerened that it was happening pretty fast (probably because I've never seen her that low). She hit 87 at +3.25 so I gave her a few more minutes break.. and it appears she is climbing though slowly. I just didn't know what was going to happen (and still don't) so I wanted to stay on top of her. She is still acting fine and she acts happy to see me even if I have been sticking her poor ears to death..

I'm going to give her a little longer break this time and recheck her at +6. Thanks again
 
Re: 08/31 Booger AMPS 108, +4 74 Eek!

Very pretty numbers!

Sometimes, feeding a teaspoon or two of LC will encourage the numbers to stay flat. All of this is wonderful information for you. Just keep in mind -- kitties can be unpredictable. The next time you shoot low, Booger may have an entirely different agenda. Your glucometer is your best friend and gives you all of the info you need so you can steer the cycle.
 
Re: 08/31 Booger AMPS 108, +4 74 Eek!

Thanks Sienne, and thank you for your help this morning. Ok I can do that. Oh yes, I am sure I will be terrified each time... I'm thankful that I have you guys and the printed out materials to refer to!
 
Re: 08/31 Booger AMPS 108, +4 74 Eek! +6 117

remind yourself that you want green!!! it becomes addictive - green numbers create more green numbers! :mrgreen:

Normal numbers are the range that the pancreas can heal in - and newly diagnosed cats have the ability to heal their pancreas and begin putting out insulin again. It's all good.
 
Re: 08/31 Booger AMPS 108, +4 74 Eek! +6 117

Yes, I had to do that several times today! I am very happy to see her coming down.. it's exciting! I just want her to be safe at the same time. I'm quite sure I over tested her today but it made me feel better.

I sure hope she can recover as that's been my goal all along. Maybe she'll get used to spending some time down in the green numbers and so will over-protective mama..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top