08/30 Marvin AMPS~398

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marvin

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone,

I started a new vial of insulin on August 8 and haven't been able to get Marvin's numbers down since. I'm wondering if this vial of insulin has gone bad? Any tips on getting him back on track?

Thanks!
Carolyn

p.s. - we were out of town for a while and paid for a cat-sitter to come twice a day to test and give insulin so we weren't able to follow the tight regulation protocol until we returned. Also, something happened to our meter so I lost the recordings of the last few weeks :(
 
You have several possibilities as I see it.
I haven't experienced a bad vial yet but I notice many have them shipped. I used to work for the brown one and I can speak that if the package says don't stand on end, that will be how it is.
And handle with care means very little.
I just dropped my vial last night (2x). Then temperature .
Don't know if your sitter might have left it sitting out overnight and didn't admit it. same with missing a shot or even giving a furshot.
Several mistakes could lead to your current numbers.
Only you know how trustworthy/reliable they were.
You seem to have been on a much lower dose before so definitely something is going on.
Hope it isn't a health issue brewing under the surface.
 
We used vials for over a year and they would only last about 40 days before the insulin started to lose effectiveness even though we are super careful with it. I would think that it would still be good since you are only at about 20 days though. Hope Marvin comes down soon!
 
Hi, Carolyn.

A bad vial is certainly a possibility. Even if you bought your Lantus at a reliable pharmacy, you have no idea how it may have been handled. I actually screamed at a pharmacy tech as I saw him bouncing my package of pens on the counter. They ended up being damaged so bad insulin is a possibility. If you purchased your insulin at a pharmacy, I'd call and see if they'll replace the vial. DO NOT tell them it's for your cat if you can avoid it. They may not replace insulin for a pet since Lantus doesn't have a veterinary indication. The only way to know if the insulin is toast is to try new insulin.
 
Thanks everyone! I will definitely get a new vial and see if it makes a difference. What dose should I start the new vial at? The current dose (2 units) or lower?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Hi, Carolyn.

A bad vial is certainly a possibility. Even if you bought your Lantus at a reliable pharmacy, you have no idea how it may have been handled. I actually screamed at a pharmacy tech as I saw him bouncing my package of pens on the counter. They ended up being damaged so bad insulin is a possibility. If you purchased your insulin at a pharmacy, I'd call and see if they'll replace the vial. DO NOT tell them it's for your cat if you can avoid it. They may not replace insulin for a pet since Lantus doesn't have a veterinary indication. The only way to know if the insulin is toast is to try new insulin.

Thanks! I'm going to get a new vial of insulin today. Do I continue with the same dose or lower it?
 
I don't know the answer to that question.
Maybe you should send Sienne a pm to ask her that. It will get quicker results so you'll know by your next shot time.
this condo has yesterdays date on it and might not get as much notice today.

I wasn't around much yesterday so I was trying to catch up and read the ones I missed which yours was one of those.
 
Carolyn --

Sorry. I just saw your note.

I would not have increased the dose. However, I wouldn't have increased because you started a new vial. With Lantus, typically, you want to hold a dose for 3 days. It looks like you increased after 2 days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top