? 08/29 Fistuk AMPS 382, PMPS 254, +3 245, +9.5 124 Dose advice

Just took a ketone test as I normally do with urine sticks. The pink was rather darker, Difficult to say where it lands whether on the +/- 0.0.5 to +0.15
So far in tests I always has quite a clear faint pink which looked like a 0.

His energy is good. He just got up to finish the second half of his bf, peed in the box. He is sitting down to rest every do often but this has been the case so far. He keeps moving around, coming to the kitchen and hanging around wanting more food.

Last time he had ketones he was flat, breathed with open mouth and it was clear that something was wrong. Now I'm not sure.

I'm really afraid of that and DO NOT want to go to that hospital again.

I have Sub q at home. I can give him some.

Any suggestion???
 
I am going to tag @Bron and Sheba (GA) who is our go-to-person for ketones.
@Bron and Sheba (GA)

I think you want to feed him if he's asking for food.

We might also have to take him up in dose faster. Like @Gill & George suggested, you want to go up by 0.25U tonight.
Yes, i give him food whenever he asks.
I just gave him about 50ml sub-q (hard to say how much comes down with the bag I have) and he had food with it

I'll test +3 to start with today. I can see as you and @Gill & George suggested that we're going up to 4units tonights
 
post sub-Q update: he's been very cuddly and grooming himself. I think these are positive signs.
And he doesn't smell fruity. More like the fish he just had :D

He hates the IV but his body like it. Always responds well.
 
I was going to suggest you give 50mL of sub Q fluids but I see you have already done so. That’s good.
I would also offer him extra food as Bhooma suggested.
How much food are you giving him? how many snacks a cycle?
How long before the next dose is due?
 
I was going to suggest you give 50mL of sub Q fluids but I see you have already done so. That’s good.
I would also offer him extra food as Bhooma suggested.
How much food are you giving him? how many snacks a cycle?
He's getting a snack roughly every two-three hours. Both cycles. So that's about 3-4 times during AM cycle. At night I leave food for him and I hear him (or get up with him) at least twice.

I've added a food column at the end of the SS (could shift it to the cycle times if it's easier). In total he gets ~250g a day
 
His BG hascome down bit, hhat often happens just after subqfluids. BTW good move giving g him some.

250g of food roughly how many calories? Probably want to be feeding 2 to 2.5times more than
Edited to add 1.5 to 2 times
his average daily requirements, post dka tonaid his recovery. Let me go and work out the average requirements for a cat his size. Is he a good weight?
 
Last edited:
Ok so looking at a few sources it seems that for a 4 kg cat around 200cal day for a healthy cat. How many exactly for an individual cat will be dependent on many factors, activity level, age, etc.
If we use 200 as a starting point, I would aim at 400, you probably won't get him eating that much. ETA Get him somewhere between 300 to 400calories
My feeling is that with 250 g he will be someway bel9w that.
Give him some additional snacks, at the start pf the cycle, and or increase portion size. See what he will eat for you.
 
Last edited:
Ok so looking at a few sources it seems that for a 4 kg cat around 200cal day for a healthy cat. How many exactly for an individual cat will be dependent on many factors, activity level, age, etc.
If we use 200 as a starting point, I would aim at 400, you probably won't get him eating that much.
My feeling is that with 250 g he will be someway bel9w that.
Give him some additional snacks, at the start pf the cycle, and or increase portion size. See what he will eat for you.
Done! Just give me the task to chase him with food and I'm happy :D
 
I think since we got back from hospital and put him on low carb food he's gain 300g.
He was more in the cushioned side before D. I can still feel his spine and ribs without much padding. He's a small cat but no padding feels too low for me
So probably not too thin then that's good.
'Cushioned ' lol I called my George 'Fluffy' so as not to offend him:joyful:
 
So probably not too thin then that's good.
'Cushioned ' lol I called my George 'Fluffy' so as not to offend him:joyful:
Well I actually used to call him little dumpling. And his brother is fatty. So we have grades here :facepalm: But since Fistuk's change of diet his brother, Prince, is also on a change of diet and thankfully lost 400g by now
 

Attachments

  • image.png
    image.png
    2 KB · Views: 103
@Gill & George do you think it makes sense to increase if he is higher at PMPS - even if he's yellow? We might see a repeat of 8/26 where he was yellow till PMPS but then bounced to reds and pinks for 5 cycles after. He's seeing yellows once in 6 cycles. Maybe more insulin will also help him clear bounce faster? I know this is faster than we normally increase, but I was thinking about the ketones - and Shelly is testing quite a bit now.
 
Last edited:
I’m
Happy there is a discussion about this here and I am curious about what each think. And if there are other views too? Even if views differ I need ti learn and also feel into what eventually feels right to me.

On the one hand I’m a bit hesitant to increase so quickly. And yet I don’t have any experience of this and I’m concerned Fistuk will jump up to reds again. His body seems to be too comfortable in reds. And yet again I don’t want to be too aggressive and to jump too quickly.

I take PMPS ten mins before so it’s quite tight to make that decision just before.


Ketones are what scare me the most!

we still need to get a pee test. Hopefully it’ll happen before supper as he normally pees
 
@Bandit's Mom I have been thinking and wondering the same.

For me it depends on what sort of yellow, and what direction he is heading in on 8/26 he was only just yellow 296, and was trending up at that point, I wasn't too surprised to see the red in the pm cycle.

If he is trending down significantly (low yellow) I'd probably hold the dose. If he is trending up or flat then with the ketone test you got today, I might take him up given dka, especially if you were noting lethargy, inappetance or suspected infection.

Ketones are what scare me the most!
Managed another pee test?or has he crossed his legs?

I
 
He’s k
@Bandit's Mom I have been thinking and wondering the same.

For me it depends on what sort of yellow, and what direction he is heading in on 8/26 he was only just yellow 296, and was trending up at that point, I wasn't too surprised to see the red in the pm cycle.

If he is trending down significantly (low yellow) I'd probably hold the dose. If he is trending up or flat then with the ketone test you got today, I might take him up given dka, especially if you were noting lethargy, inappetance or suspected infection.


Managed another pee test?or has he crossed his legs?

I
He’s keeping his golden liquids tight in :/

when I came to test at +8 with a plate of food he immediately woke up from the smell. I put him on my laps for the test and he was purring. Then leaped to the plate. So o can’t say he’s depressed or lethargic

what do you mean by suspected infection ? What kind? What are the signs
 
+9.5 124

I didn't expect that! Is it too low??
He just slept through. Put the alarm to take a +10 but I expected to wake up with him when he gets up to eat during the night but he didn't.
He just went through the plate of food I left for the night. Eating with pleasure and is purring.

Am I keeping the dose?
 
It's possible he just kept dropping without food, but it's good to see low blues! :cool: The normal range for blood sugar with a human meter is 50-100 mg/dl (2.8-5.5 mmol/L) so he's in safe numbers. He might go up a bit now after food. Let's see the AMPS. You would hold the dose and not increase, for now.
 
Back
Top