08/28 Eddie AMPS 261 +3 400 +4 405 +5 452 PMPS 457 +3 428 +5 389 (Switch to Levemir)

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
IMG_0685.jpg Good morning,
Here is yesterday:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/08-27-eddie-amps-301-2-5-290-pmps-403-2-5-392.267648/

So, today we switched to Levemir 11u (70% 16u Lantus). It may have been my imagination but it seemed as if Eddie didn't mind getting his shot this morning. He anticipated it and started his low grumbling but then stopped when I injected Levemir.

The other difference (?) is that instead of hanging out in his cat tower, which he always does after breakfast, he is sitting in the kitchen on the testing spot and has now moved to the hallway where there is a cat "tunnel", which he hasn't really paid attention to in the last while. In fact, he seems a little, well, a bit revved up.

Instead of sleeping after breakfast, he surveilling the front patio and the squirrels...

Is this ok? I'm here and going to be testing @ +3 and perhaps more frequently as Wendy recommended.
@Wendy&Neko
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0685.jpg
    IMG_0685.jpg
    57.3 KB · Views: 91
Last edited:
@Wendy&Neko @FrostD

Jump to +3 400.

Wendy, you said earlier, "Start with a +3 and test every 3 hours, sooner if you are seeing a good sized drop from one test to the other. "

Should I have expected a drop? +3 400 is a significant rise?!
 
Typical onset of Lev is +4. Some go earlier, I though Eddie might do. Maybe not. You could get a +4, but at this point in the game it may be harder to pinpoint onset and nadir cause of both insulins still in his system. If curious, you could do a +5.

Good news on his behaviour. I have heard that happen with some other cats when they switch.
 
Typical onset of Lev is +4. Some go earlier, I though Eddie might do. Maybe not. You could get a +4, but at this point in the game it may be harder to pinpoint onset and nadir cause of both insulins still in his system. If curious, you could do a +5.

Good news on his behaviour. I have heard that happen with some other cats when they switch.
Ok, I’ll get a + 4 and perhaps a +5.

He stayed in the living-room all morning. Unheard of!! I gave him a little snack and he’s returned to dining room and cat tower but is sitting up rather than sleeping…
 
Let's not second guess where this cycle is going based on just Lev alone. Who knows what he did last night between +2.5 and AMPS this morning. I'm guessing he was lower than that AMPS of 261. Could this be bounce action? Hard to know. But I would hold this dose tonight.
 
Let's not second guess where this cycle is going based on just Lev alone. Who knows what he did last night between +2.5 and AMPS this morning. I'm guessing he was lower than that AMPS of 261. Could this be bounce action? Hard to know. But I would hold this dose tonight.

Hmmm. I see what you mean. I also think I've got to start getting a +4 or +5 again. I saw the +2.5 392 and didn't think he'd get too low based on that...but, I aslo think I have to change my thinking here.
 
For me, because Neko didn't onset until +5, I didn't stay up until then and her numbers typically went up until then. But I learned over time that if her AM+9 was dropping or flat to PMPS, and before bed test was flat, I needed to set an alarm for a later test. Depending what her numbers were doing. It's little tricks like that you'll have to develop to learn about Eddie on Lev.

As I said before, it's really too early on Lev to say what is causing his numbers today.
 
For me, because Neko didn't onset until +5, I didn't stay up until then and her numbers typically went up until then. But I learned over time that if her AM+9 was dropping or flat to PMPS, and before bed test was flat, I needed to set an alarm for a later test. Depending what her numbers were doing. It's little tricks like that you'll have to develop to learn about Eddie on Lev.

As I said before, it's really too early on Lev to say what is causing his numbers today.

Ok, but I'm getting nervous! +5 452. Like I'm afraid of what PMPS will look like. I hear you about Lev and his numbers, but, oh boy....
 
Good luck with the Lev. Good to hear about Eddie's behavior.
Yes, it's really interesting. He often spends hours on his cat tower turned away from a lot of house activity. As I write this he's sitting in the middle of the floor and then just moved into a little bed that's beneath the bicycle, a place he goes to when he feels safe and good. :cat:
 
Try to stay calm. Remember you have to build Levimer depot and lantus depot is draining. It may take a couple days for him to settle down. I dont recall you mentioning he has had ketones in past but this would obviously be the biggest immediate concern if he has a history of them. You are literally doing everything right and everything you can. Give his body a chance to adjust:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Try to stay calm. Remember you have to build Levimer depot and lantus depot is draining. It may take a couple days for him to settle down. I dont recall you mentioning he has had ketones in past but this would obviously be the biggest immediate concern if he has a history of them. You are literally doing everything right and everything you can. Give his body a chance to adjust:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thanks for that. I think I'm a bit on edge given the last 8-10 weeks where Eddie, Blue and Max have all ended up in emergency hospital and for Blue it was three times!! I'm a bit hypersensitive these days :eek::cat::eek::cat: so I appreciate the good words.

At least Eddie has zero ketone history. :)
 
Have to say it's a relief to see PMPS at "only" 457 when he's been in the 400s all day and with only 11u on board. Come on Eddie!! Go Levemir!

He's still eating, drinking and kitty-boxing in a good way. He had a good day. it was unique to him and he spread out his territory. Although he just snacked after his Levemir, I'm also happy to report he was not reactive getting the shot. He's currently in his cat tower, not sleeping, but grooming. Yes. :cat::)
 
Back
Top