08/28 Booger PMPS 260 increased dose.. Odd Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

MartinJA527

Member Since 2014
Last time she was 155 on the ALPHATRAK. Today she is 151 on the HUMAN GLUCOMETER. I just need some dosing advice. Last time we stalled 45 mins and gave a lower dose. We can do extra monitoring today if needed. Thanks.

Decided to shoot her at a reduced dose and monitor closely.. I hope all goes well. Will keep everyone posted

Yesterday's News
 
Re: 08/28 Booger AMBG 151 STALLING + .05 158

I don't give dosing advice but wanted to bump you up to the top so someone who does will see it. Nice numbers for Booger. Have a great day!
 
Re: 08/28 Booger AMBG 151 AMPS 158 +2 217

Sorry someone wasn't around to advise you before shooting but a reduced dose is better than no shot.Have a great day!
 
Re: 08/28 Booger AMBG 151 AMPS 158 +2 217

158 is fine to shoot without stalling or reducing. we usually suggest new members ask for help the first time it's less than 150 on a human meter, just to make sure you have supplies (high carb cat food & plenty of strips) and are going to be able to monitor how she responds the first time.

Experienced people will shoot most everything above 50 as long as a cat isn't sick. You'd have been fine to shoot the whole dose, but no harm done.

Shooting the full dose into normal numbers is the path to going off of insulin and becoming diet-controlled. You just wnat to do it when you're home to monitor the first several times so that you learn how Booger is going to respond.

thanks for the comparison in last night's condo about what you're finding in the difference between the AT and the human meters.

Here is a recent post on timed feeders.. Yes, you can put canned food in them. That or raw is all we recommend for diabetic cats. The canned food will be fine all day - the raw maybe as long. Take a look at that thread and see if you have any questions.
 
Re: 08/28 Booger AMBG 151 AMPS 158 +2 217

Thanks Julie. That helps for next time. So since that is the case and she was supposed to have a dose INCREASE tonight.. should I go ahead with that?

Thanks for the timed feeder posting. I looked at a few different brands last night. I will check out your link and see what the others are saying.
 
Re: 08/28 Booger PMPS 260 increased dose

So I went ahead with the dose increase tonight. Hoping for some healing sometime soon.

A side note.. while getting ready to feed my kitties.. I found a toenail in Booger's bowl.. The nail was long, dark brown and looked rotten. Concerned, I checked all of my cats immediately. All of their nails were in tact and fine. All dew-claws were present. So, how did this get there? I had cleaned their bowls prior to feeding them and I vacuum on a regular basis.. In short, I KNOW this does not belong to my cats! It's disgusting and disturbing to me... Do I contact someone about this? Has anyone else had this happen? What if she would've eaten it? Do I switch foods?
 

Attachments

  • toenail.jpg
    toenail.jpg
    29.8 KB · Views: 313
Oh ok I understand. Yes they are inside and it's decomposing. When you press on it, it is full but soft. The insides of it "squish" out (sorry.. best word I could think to describe it)

She didn't eat it all either.. and she usually cleans her bowl. But she's not sick (thank goodness!)

Could it be a chicken toenail?? I just realized this possibility.. it WAS chicken and beef pate...

Sorry ya'll I know that's gross..
 

Attachments

  • chicken toenail.jpg
    chicken toenail.jpg
    33.5 KB · Views: 289
Ugh! and that is what they mean by " chicken by-product" meal Anything too gross to mention by name on the label, including beaks, feet and feathers!
 
Yes, I am thankful they didn't eat it! Gross.. (again).

Yep, so right you are, Ann... I'm considering switching foods. I'd been feeding dry for years and I know I can't go back to that.. I think I'll study the food chart I saw on here and see if there's another LC option.. The brand I was feeding is an option but pricey and I'm not sure of it's nutritional value in the canned option as of yet.
 
Jennifer

Well that is really disgusting, isn't it? Holy cow. I might contact FF and file a complaint. There are a lot of other good foods out there.

I think it was fine for you to increase the dose. Julie already gave you info that you could have shot the AMPS this morning. One other thing to keep in mind is typically when we stall, we don't also shoot a reduced dose because it's like a double whammy on the depot. However, because you only stalled 30 minutes this time, it was ok to shoot a reduced dose. Usually shooting within 30 mins of shot time either way is fine as long as you don't do it every cycle or back to back cycles.

Good luck with the increase!
 
:shock: :shock: :shock:

ugh. i suppose, though, that in the wild, the saber tooth tiger would eat the feet, beaks and all. :roll: not so appealing to my appetite, though. :lol:
 
Thank you Marje. I will keep that in mind. I think I finally understand that the no shot number isn't 200.. Dunno why that took me so long :oops: .. I think I will contact them just to see what happens. I'd hate for one of them to have ingested it or it to have decomposed to a point it made them sick..

Julie, You do have a good point.. But I can't get the image out of my head and I keep thinking, "What else is in there?". I just never had this problem before switching brands (and I did feed some canned before but not as much as it was very pricey). Maybe it's coincidence and it'll never happen again but I'm grossed out right now.. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top