08/27 Phoebe amps 457 +3-406, +6-357, +9-352, pmps-422,, +2-339, +4-297

I am not sure--somehow I missed some of the posts last night and I am sure I flustered everyone.
I am not versed in cat diabetes. It is far from human diabetics, this I am accustom to.

you are very new to all of this, it took me a long time to get the hang of things. It is very understandable! There is a lot to learn and it takes time.

Let me explain my comment about "bounced."

Cats who have had high numbers for a while, when they finally get some low numbers their liver often sort of panics and releases a bunch of stuff into the blood to push the numbers back up high. I think all the dose changes and odd shot times may have resulted in Phoebe going fairly low last night -- there's no tests after your evening insulin last night so we just don't know. Last night in particular, if I were you, I would have been testing a lot because of how low she was earlier in the day.
 
you are very new to all of this, it took me a long time to get the hang of things. It is very understandable! There is a lot to learn and it takes time.

Let me explain my comment about "bounced."

Cats who have had high numbers for a while, when they finally get some low numbers their liver often sort of panics and releases a bunch of stuff into the blood to push the numbers back up high. I think all the dose changes and odd shot times may have resulted in Phoebe going fairly low last night -- there's no tests after your evening insulin last night so we just don't know. Last night in particular, if I were you, I would have been testing a lot because of how low she was earlier in the day.


thank you. good to know. so I should test after her evening insulin to see where she goes before i go to bed?
 
thank you. good to know. so I should test after her evening insulin to see where she goes before i go to bed?
Hi Eva glad you made it over here, yes you should always get another test in before you go to bed. If you are only testing during the day you are missing half the picture of what Phoebe's numbers are at night.
I would get another test in around +3 ( 3 hours after giving insulin) and if possible +5 or +6 . You want to see how low her BG is dropping at night .
You didn't fluster anyone :cat:

Now when you take the next test go to your Title and you can get rid of 1 st time to post
You could have written that under the blue link, good job linking yesterday's post!
In case you forgot how to do it Tap on Thread Tools that's to the right , then tap on Edit Title get rid of what I said and then add the test if you take it 3 hours after giving insulin you would put +3 then the number . I'll check up on you throughout the day

Here's a little information
Part of that process is getting a feel for basic concepts:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
Many people on Lantus find that getting a +2 can be an early indication of how the cycle may go. If it is significantly lower, it means you'll need to continue to monitor , but if the +2 is higher than preshot, it usually means that you can take a break from testing.
 
Last edited:
Welcome to LLB. The depot is still building. It’s good to see some blue nadirs during the first week. Cats often go lower at night so a before bed test is a good idea. There’s a lot to lean before mastering feline diabetes. I’m still learning! I’m glad you are posting here as you will get more help. Keep asking questions. Post daily and if you don’t have anything to say just link your previous post.
 
you're on the lantus board actually. If you click at the bottom left where it says Forums, that takes you to a main forum page where you can choose which board to go into, whether it be the Lantus forum (where we are) or the Welcome and General Feline Health forum, where you were posting previous to today.

upload_2022-8-27_12-19-24.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-8-27_12-19-24.png
    upload_2022-8-27_12-19-24.png
    229.1 KB · Views: 98
in the glargine forum where i post daily my sugars edited in the title, if you look to the right there is a pair of glasses sitting just next to replies
 
QUOTE="eva eva, post: 2994063, member: 36553"]so I have done a lot of bg today. Phoebe is now hissing at me. I am sure her ears hurt. Do these numbers tell us anything. Her best sugar is my last one for the night. I don't know how much lower she will go without staying up all night.
I believe the plan was to stay at 2 unit for 5 days. So on Sept 2 we re-evaluate? Can I back off on bg only amps and pmps and 1 before bedtime to give her ears a break[/QUOTE]

Eva put this on her post for 8-26 so I moved it here for her since she's probably sleeping
My Reply
If you forgot how to find your most recent post tap in the of Phoebe ,the tap profile page, then tap on postings ,you will see all the post you did

Do you mean you only want to test her AMPS only tomorrow morning?
Then PMPS and test one more time before you go to bed

I would test her AMPS and then get a test at +4 or +5 obviously if you see she really drops low of course you would need to test more
Test her PMPS tomorrow night and just one before bed is ok

Yes we will evaluate on Sept 2 nd ,remember is she drops under 90 at any time you will reduce the next dose by 0.25
Her numbers are coming down considering how the messed up everything got
Don't forget to fill in your spreadsheet with the numbers you got for tonight

So tomorrow morning you do a new thread (post) on the Lantus Board like you are doing
The date Phoebe AMPS# you know what to do after this right?
@eva eva
 
Last edited:
Back
Top