08/26 Booger AMPS 250 +4 252

Status
Not open for further replies.

MartinJA527

Member Since 2014
Booger seems to be hanging out around this number today. Getting ready to read back through the protocol again to see how long it should be to be contemplating a dose increase and make sense of it since I recently switched meters.. I work 2 twelve hour days in a row and I don't like increasing on/right before those days and am fortunate to have a few off after that so if it needs to be done I will probably do it then. If not, we'll ride this dose out a little longer. Here's Yesterday's news
 
It's a little hard to be sure with the switch of meters, but i think Booger is bouncing from the am numbers on 8/24. The blue 168 on the AT are about the equivalent of 120's with a human meter. a cat can bounce from any range they aren't used to, and it looks like the 8/24 amps was coming up from something lower in the wee morning hours before then.

I think i'd give one more day for this bounce to clear and make a decision to either hold or increase wednesday night. I think you'll get to blue or greens by then. If you do, i'd go by what i highlighted below in blue and hold for 8-10 cycles total on this dose and then re-evalute for an increase.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

If Booger's not to blue/greens by Wed night, then i'd go by what i highlighted in bold yellow and go ahead and increase by 0.25u.

the storyline here is that cycles of flat yellows are followed by a lot of activity. i didn't find that to be true with punkin, but enough people see that in their cats that i thought i'd pass it on.
 
Oh yes, I didn't mean tonight. I just meant getting prepared. Thank you for posting that and for your help. I have to work for 12 hours tomorrow and Thursday so I think I'd be more comfortable waiting until Thursday night to increase if you think she could wait until then? (Providing she doesn't dip down as she may). I'm always terrified when I go to work. My husband does get to come home and check on her but not nearly as often as when we/I am home. I actually went back and made a new spreadsheet plugging in all the AT numbers at -30% (see below) hoping it would give me a more visual look at what I'm dealing with.. and I see a lot more yellows, a few more blues and a lot less pinks as you (I think it was you) had suggested before. Thanks again for all your help!

Edited to add Booger's Hypothetical Human Spreadsheet
 
Booger is pretty flat yellow. It is worthwhile to give her one more cycle after tonight to see where she goes. However, I wouldn't be surprised if she will need an increase. Yes, you can wait to increase her dose until you get past your work schedule.

Keep in mind that many cats will get New Dose Wonkiness on an increase.
 
Good to see you Marjie. Thank you for your reply. That makes me feel better knowing I can at least wait until then. And I'll be praying she holds off on any dipping down until nighttime or Thursday night.
 
Thank you. Yes, I want her to be as safe as she can. I definitely don't want her to drop to low because I increased her dose and left the house for 12 hours .. and I have leaving her at those high flat numbers too.. The good news is I'm all hers for 5 days after Thursday at 7PM.. Thank you all for your support and direction.
 
yes, i think it was me. cats on ATs always look like their blood sugar is way high compared to the human meter cats. my understanding of the difference is that it's not a constant 30%. In the low numbers it's fairly close. at 50 human meter = 68 AT. then as it gets higher the percentage spread increases. It's a bit confusing because we've had members do side by side comparisons for us with one set of data. then the newest document that is the PDF in the TR sticky called "Management of Diabetic Cats Using Long-Lasting Insulins" (about 5 paragraphs down from the top of the page), they seem to suggest the difference between human meters and ATs isn't that great.

so you can see, part of the confusion is conflicting data coming at as. It becomes easier to just stick with the human meters.

that is a sea of yellow on the hypothetical human meter! :shock: Booger's just not to the "right" dose yet, but it'll come. It's better to increase methodically so we don't miss a good dose.

I don't remember if you have a timed feeder - being able to leave food and have confidence that she will eat really helps when you have to leave for work. I think you've got one but i'm not sure - we've had a lot of new folks come in the past couple of weeks. If you don't have one yet, and you want some ideas on which ones people like, just ask.
 
Yes, from my experience that is correct. At it's lowest percentage it was 17% and highest 41%. On my civilian kitties when the numbers were in the "green" range that's when I was getting 17-18ish. When Booger was in the 400-500's I would get around 40%.. so yes it does vary. I just did an average and came up with 31%.. so I know it's not 100% accurate.. but I thought maybe it would give me somewhat of an idea..

Poor Booger, I want her to feel better.. and hopefully reach remission. I just hope she gets there. We'll take it slow and methodically and safely... but I do want that for her.

No! I don't have one of those.. and I've been seeing some postings about it.. I've been curious how that works with the foods.. are people using them with cans? What do you recommend?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top