? 08/25 Eddie AMPS 259 +2.5 338 PMPS 432 +2.5 412(change of plan)

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Good morning,
Here is yesterday:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/08-24-eddie-amps-266-2-5-302-5-256-pmps-410-5-283.267538/

As I mentioned last night (or early this morning), I had to take my dog, Max, to emergency for continuous vomiting. May have pancreatitis. Sent me home with a ton of meds. He's still not eating this morning so I may have to bring him back to vet and wouldn't be able to monitor Eddie's insulin change as would be needed.

I'm beginning to feel as if the stars are just not in our favour in the last while. Pretty stressed this morning.
 
Hoping you have some answers about Max and that he’s getting back on track. It probably feels like you’re playing a game of Whack-A-Mole with all of the medical issues right now. :bighug: :bighug:

I joke that we’re living on the “Island of Misfit Toys” here so totally feel for you. They don’t listen when I tell them that only one can be sick at a time and to get in line.

Glad you decided to punt on changing Eddie to Lev. It can wait for another day … hopefully a day where you’re well rested and not under duress.
 
Hoping you have some answers about Max and that he’s getting back on track. It probably feels like you’re playing a game of Whack-A-Mole with all of the medical issues right now. :bighug: :bighug:

I joke that we’re living on the “Island of Misfit Toys” here so totally feel for you. They don’t listen when I tell them that only one can be sick at a time and to get in line.

Glad you decided to punt on changing Eddie to Lev. It can wait for another day … hopefully a day where you’re well rested and not under duress.

Whack-A-Mole! Yes, and my head is one of the ones coming up through the holes! Phew.

They don't listen! But, I'm hoping that the things-always-come-in-threes rule is in effect because that's now a goodly three of them.

Heard from the emerg vet a little while ago: not pancreatitis but she strongly believes some kind of transitory gastroenteritis. The treatment is the same so he's in clinic overnight (of course). All his blood work normal and x-rays clear. He's at the "end" of a fit of diarrhea. She said I can probably bring him home tomorrow at noon! I hate it when they are not here but know he's getting good care. I wish they could all get jobs, even part-time. The good part is that pet insurance covers a lot, not all, but a goodly lot.
 
Sorry to hear your pup isn't feeling well. If they haven't done so, I might ask for them to run a stool sample and check for giardia. Dogs can pick that up fairly easily. I also assume he's vaccinated against parvovirus? If not, I'd run that too.
 
So, here we are holding steady Eddie with Lantus. The next opportunity to switch to Levemir and monitor for the next two days is Sunday, so I'm aiming for that. Eddie is so odd. He often will purr throughout testing when his BG is high.

Will have more info on Max later tonight and hopefully I can bring him home tomorrow.
 
@Wendy&Neko @FrostD

I have a question that might be germane to changing from Lantus to Levemir. Given the situation with Max, I have to postpone the change to Sunday, which is two days away. if Eddie were to be staying on Lantus, which he will be for another two full days, would I not be considering an increase to 16u from 15.5, which seems to be doing not much at all. Even his +5 PMPS last night was 283.

If I increased to 16u and then changed on Sunday to Levemir, the dose would still be about 11u. Does this sound reasonable?? And, does this sound reasonable so that he might at least have a chance at dropping or would I just be risking another huge bounce?? I wish I had a crystal ball.
 
Back
Top