08/24 Snow PMPS 227 +2 204

GreySnowman

Member Since 2023
Prior thread (in main forum).

Snow’s first BG curve on glargine was yesterday (08/23). Posted here for reference: AMPS 260 +2 153 +4 102 +6 129 +8 142 +10 212 PMPS 244

Background if it helps, otherwise feel free to disregard!
Yesterday was Snow's first day on glargine. Seems to be her best numbers yet but I'm sure it's a fluke. I've been struggling to get her on a low-carb food so I started her at 1u. I know I need to do some PM tests.

Do I wait 1 week at this dose when I plan to do another curve to do more BG tests or would you recommend PM testing sooner?

Since none of the low-carb cans (or dry food) have been a hit so far, I assume I should stop that experiment until we see how the glargine is working?
 
Last edited:
Here’s your previous post. We link them for continuity.
Welcome to the LLB forum.

You need to test before every shot to make sure the bg is high enough to shoot. Lantus generally kicks in around +2 and often hits nadir around mid cycle so if possible those are good spot checks. If you can vary the times you do a second test it will help and any data is helpful. Cats often go lower at night so a +2 or before bed test can be helpful. You don’t need a to do another curve for about 7 days. The depot needs to build fir 5-7 to see how 1.0 works for Snow.

I’d keep trying to get Snow to accept lc dry and better yet wet food. Some cats are easier than others to transition.
 
Thank you @tiffmaxee! To make sure I understand (bc I'd feel bad doing unnecessary testing), I test her 2x every day? Understood on the random second tests and night +2 etc tests.

I understand ECID but do you happen to have any suggestions on more widely-accepted cat foods? I added all of the low carb wet foods we have tried to Snow's Spreadsheet on a new tab. We're at 56 cans and 2 of the 3 suggested low carb dry foods with no luck. I don't plan on giving up, just having a more difficult time locating some of the other brands/flavors.

For clarity, I made my questions in blue.

If I gave her a new can previously and she wasn't interested, is there any reason I should try the same brand and flavor again another day? I am also afraid of starving her in light of the diabetes/insulin, but should I experiment with leaving only one of the new foods out for a meal or two to see if she's simply holding out for something better?

When posting each day, do I post with the title with AMPS and then update the title as the day (and further testing) goes on?
 
You need to test before every shot, at amps and pmps. Getting additional tests helps figure out how low a dose takes your cat. I’d strongly suggest getting some mid cycle and before bed tests at least a few times each week rather than basing dosing on just one day. It’s nit required to do the extra tests with SLGS. I’m curious as to your comment about unnecessary tests. Is your cat difficult to test?
As to how to post the guidelines are in this sticky.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/posting-guidelines-please-read.231511/

As to feeding, it’s important that she eat. I’d feed her what she likes so she gets enough calories but keep offering her lc food in between.
 
You need to test before every shot, at amps and pmps. Getting additional tests helps figure out how low a dose takes your cat. I’d strongly suggest getting some mid cycle and before bed tests at least a few times each week rather than basing dosing on just one day. It’s nit required to do the extra tests with SLGS. I’m curious as to your comment about unnecessary tests. Is your cat difficult to test?
As to how to post the guidelines are in this sticky.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/posting-guidelines-please-read.231511/

As to feeding, it’s important that she eat. I’d feed her what she likes so she gets enough calories but keep offering her lc food in between.

thank you for the clarifications! I’m sure she could be more difficult hah but she very clearly doesn’t enjoy the ear pricking part. I understand it is necessary and for her own good but wanted to confirm so as not to do extra tests that might not provide much information.

I appreciate you pointing out the sticky again and your patience. I read everything and took notes but think I’m a little overly anxious about messing something up. It looks like the general consensus is to post all/any AM testing once obtained for the day and then add PM testing (deleting AM if too long) at the appropriate time.

We did our pmps and I’ll do another bg test in a few hours before bed.
 
Keep asking any and all questions you have. We know you will have many. There’s a lot to absorb. Do you give a treat after each ear prick? Freeze dried .100% protein treats were a hit with Max.

Don’t worry about messing anything up. :bighug:
 
Keep asking any and all questions you have. We know you will have many. There’s a lot to absorb. Do you give a treat after each ear prick? Freeze dried .100% protein treats were a hit with Max.

Don’t worry about messing anything up. :bighug:

I have freeze dried chicken treats. She usually likes them but the most recent bag doesn’t interest her. I wish I could say it’s uncommon but every few bags (or cases of her pre-diabetes wet food), she’ll decide it’s a “bad” batch. Her current treat du jour is trader joe’s organic turkey breast, which also happens to be the only thing she’ll eat many days. New food experimenting during snack time is a smart idea—I appreciate it!
 
Back
Top