? 08/22 Cooper AMPS 306 +2 348 PMPS 274 +2 386 Diet? Post DKA

Marc & Cooper

Member Since 2021
Hello! First post here in the Lantus forum.

I am ready to make the full switch for Cooper to LC wet food (specifically Fancy Feast classic chicken pate in the 3oz can).

My questions are:

  1. Cooper is 13 pounds. The vet said he can stay at 13 pounds. So how much should I be giving him per day? I believe it works out to almost 4 cans per day if I did the math right but I’m not sure if I did.
  2. How should I go about feeding the preferred amount? Should I make sure he gets a full 3oz at insulin times and then break up the remainder of the food as snacks between doses? I have a 5 serving auto feeder.
  3. I am fully comfortable doing at home testing. I know I am supposed to drop down his insulin (vet just wanted to raise him to 4 U but I only went up to 3.5 U. If I start the full wet food at his next AM dose how much insulin should I give him? I’m extremely nervous about giving him full wet food as his diet has been dry since his DKA episode and I don’t want to have his BG drop too low.
 
Last edited:
H Marc,
I answered some of your questions on the other thread which Bhooma has linked.

fully comfortable doing at home testing. I know I am supposed to drop down his insulin (vet just wanted to raise him to 4 U but I only went up to 3.5 U. If I start the full wet food at his next AM dose how much insulin should I give him? I’m extremely nervous about giving him full wet food as his diet has been dry since his DKA episode and I don’t want to have his BG drop too low.

If you are going to transition Cooper to allow carb wet diet, I would not increase the dose of insulin.
Stay with the same dose, transition slowly and monitor closely. You will probably find you will have to reduce the dose of insulin. Post and ask for help.

How should I go about feeding the preferred amount? Should I make sure he gets a full 3oz at insulin times and then break up the remainder of the food as snacks between doses? I have a 5 serving auto feeder.
I would divide the amount of food up that you are going to give a day into two lots. One for the am cycle and the other for the pm cycle.
Then for each cycle, give half the allocated amount as the preshot meal and the other half as the snacks.


Cooper is 13 pounds. The vet said he can stay at 13 pounds. So how much should I be giving him per day? I believe it works out to almost 4 cans per day if I did the math right but I’m not sure if I did.
Did you find out how many calories are in each can?
You need to make sure you are feeding him plenty still as he is still post DKA.
Can you put ‘Post DKA” in the subject line please Marc so everyone is aware of that. Thanks
 
H Marc,
I answered some of your questions on the other thread which Bhooma has linked.

Weird. It never notified me of your response on that thread but I do see it now



If you are going to transition Cooper to allow carb wet diet, I would not increase the dose of insulin.
Stay with the same dose, transition slowly and monitor closely. You will probably find you will have to reduce the dose of insulin. Post and ask for help.

yeah I definitely wasn’t going to increase his dose from the 3.5. Just wasn’t sure if I should immediately lower it as I saw in an article that someone posted elsewhere on this forum that it should be dropped down a bit


I would divide the amount of food up that you are going to give a day into two lots. One for the am cycle and the other for the pm cycle.
Then for each cycle, give half the allocated amount as the preshot meal and the other half as the snacks.


Did you find out how many calories are in each can?
You need to make sure you are feeding him plenty still as he is still post DKA.
Can you put ‘Post DKA” in the subject line please Marc so everyone is aware of that. Thanks

On Purina’s website I see it says that there are 98 Kcal/can. Would that be the calories then? If that’s the case then it would seem he needs about 3.5 cans per day? So give him roughly a full can at insulin time then 3/4 of a can divide up as snacks between doses?

I’m sorry if I’m totally off on the math on that :(
 
Just wasn’t sure if I should immediately lower it as I saw in an article that someone posted elsewhere on this forum that it should be dropped down a bit
Stay with the same dose and monitor closely. Transition slowly so as not to upset tummies and so the drop in BG, if there is any, is not too much.
Make sure you have a typo kit set up and read to use if needed.
 
Purina’s website I see it says that there are 98 Kcal/can. Would that be the calories then? If that’s the case then it would seem he needs about 3.5 cans per day? So give him roughly a full can at insulin time then 3/4 of a can divide up as snacks between doses?
Yes 98 is the number of calories
Yes I think your maths is good!
Yes I think the way you have divided it up is fine.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top