08/22 Booger AMPS 286 PMPS 309 Bouncing/Increase Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

MartinJA527

Member Since 2014
Not sure if we are still "bouncing" or if it should be cleared now.. Should we be considering another increase even with bouncing? Increased from 1 Unit to 1.25 five days ago and we have been on that dose for 5 days now.

Forgot to add Yesterday's news
 
Re: 08/22 Booger AMPS 286 PMPS 309 Bouncing/Increase Questio

Hi Jen!

Looks like it's time to go up to 1.5 with tomorrow morning's shot (on the good side, at least it's a dose that's "on the lines" so easier to measure!)

Come on now Booger...Work that juice!!!
 
Re: 08/22 Booger AMPS 286 PMPS 309 Bouncing/Increase Questio

Hi Chris! Thanks so much for the guidance.. Yes, I assume that's what we should do.

Please, please Booger, play nicely!! dancing_cat
 
Re: 08/22 Booger AMPS 286 PMPS 309 Bouncing/Increase Questio

If Booger were mine, I'd look at the protocol guidelines and would then hold his dose 1-3 more cycles.

From the protocol guidelines (listed in human glucometer numbers):
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Booger's 174 AT is the equivalent of approximately 130ish on a human meter. That's a pretty good response for a kitty that's only been on Lantus for a few days. When a cat first starts seeing blue numbers (in the 100's) the guidelines suggest holding the dose 8-10 cycles before increasing. That would be until tomorrow night at the earliest. The reason for that is that if a cat has gotten accustomed to higher numbers, it can take a while to get used to normal numbers again. You don't want to increase too quickly and miss a good dose.

Are you thinking about switching to a human glucometer? Most everyone here "speaks" in human meters because they are just as accurate and so much cheaper to use. Sometimes the higher AT numbers can throw people off a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top