Re: 08/20 Furball, AMPS=303
Furball’s PMPS is food influenced. I had a hard time getting any blood for a test this evening. After 5 to 6 pokes with not enough blood, Furball had enough. She started fighting me and hissing. She got my finger really good. I decided to quit trying and feed her. I was afraid she was low because all of the plates were licked clean and she seemed really hungry. After she ate, I tried to get blood again. After 1 poke with no blood, Furball hissed and ran and hid. About 25 minutes after she ate, she had calmed down and I managed to get enough blood for a test. I have not had this happen for a long time. Her ear looks really bruised right now. I wonder if that is keeping it from bleeding when I poke. Poor kitty.
Since she was blue and I don’t know how soon the food makes her BG go up, and I don’t know how much lower she was before I fed, I lowered her dose to 1.0 units from 1.25 units. Hopefully when I go to test her later this evening, I can get some blood.
It may be the only reason I needed to raise the dose was because the insulin was old. Maybe with the new insulin she can stay on the 1.0 unit. It will be interesting to see what her numbers are this week.