08/20 Eddie AMPS 290 +3 432 PMPS 418 +5.5 140

With both Eddie and Blue on TR, I'm burning through AT test strips (+ $$). @Wendy&Neko could you recommend a meter/test strips available in BC? Also, how does one calibrate a human meter to a kitty AND what it the relationship between numbers on human meter vs AlphaTrak?

Thank you!
 
I'm guessing he probably dipped into blue last night. Possible bounce? Bad strip? Not sure.

You don't calibrate a human meter to a cat, you just use it straight out of the box as is (some will have you use a control solution to make sure it's working properly). Turn meter on, insert strip, dip strip in blood, take the number as-is. The AT tends to read higher overall, and the difference is more.proniunced at higher numbers. But that's also why the cutoffs for TR are different based on meter (50 for human vs 68 for AT).
 
I'm guessing he probably dipped into blue last night. Possible bounce? Bad strip? Not sure.

You don't calibrate a human meter to a cat, you just use it straight out of the box as is (some will have you use a control solution to make sure it's working properly). Turn meter on, insert strip, dip strip in blood, take the number as-is. The AT tends to read higher overall, and the difference is more.proniunced at higher numbers. But that's also why the cutoffs for TR are different based on meter (50 for human vs 68 for AT).
Wow I even did a +5 PMPS (set alarm) last night and he was 207…
So are you saying that he might have dipped into blue if I had tested with a human meter? Or is that just in general? I might have to switch entirely from AT or I could be making some serious errors in the night if I used two different meters. :confused::cat::cat:
 
I'm saying he likely dipped into blue last night with whatever meter you were using lol there was no need to keep testing though.

I definitely would switch over completely. It will make it more difficult for any of us to interpret data if it's with different meters.

Most people that switch tend to test with both for a little while for their own peace of mind, they just denote which meter was used in the individual test cells.
 
I'm saying he likely dipped into blue last night with whatever meter you were using lol there was no need to keep testing though.

I definitely would switch over completely. It will make it more difficult for any of us to interpret data if it's with different meters.

Most people that switch tend to test with both for a little while for their own peace of mind, they just denote which meter was used in the individual test cells.
What meter do you use? I guess I’ll have to see what is available here…thank you!
 
If you switch meters, put the old one in the cupboard in the back, and just use the new. Mix and match meters will drive you and us crazy. Someone can help you modify the spreadsheet so show the reduction point/limes difference. People in Canada use a number of different meters. The Freestyle Lite needs a similar blood drop size to the AT. I've heard of people using the Aviva and Contour Next models too. Just look for one with smaller blood drop. Some places, like London Drugs, will throw in a free meter when you buy 100 strips. My workhorse meter was the Relion - I cross border shopped cause it's not available in Canada.

Don't forget the New Dose Wonkiness factor you can see after an increase.
 
If you switch meters, put the old one in the cupboard in the back, and just use the new. Mix and match meters will drive you and us crazy. Someone can help you modify the spreadsheet so show the reduction point/limes difference. People in Canada use a number of different meters. The Freestyle Lite needs a similar blood drop size to the AT. I've heard of people using the Aviva and Contour Next models too. Just look for one with smaller blood drop. Some places, like London Drugs, will throw in a free meter when you buy 100 strips. My workhorse meter was the Relion - I cross border shopped cause it's not available in Canada.

Don't forget the New Dose Wonkiness factor you can see after an increase.
Oh, yes, I would definitely put the AT away. I am looking for the small blood drop feature, for sure. I checked London Drugs online and they have the Freestyle Lite. It's about $40.00 and the test strips are about $75.00 for 100 test strips, which is about $25.00/100 strips cheaper than the AT2....
 
Contour Next is really good for using only a small drop of blood; less than the AT. The strips are about $27 for 70, which is better than AT but not the cheapest you can find.
 
Back
Top