08/20/17 Murray AMPS 101, +6 97, PMPS 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Finn & Murray

Member Since 2017
Last thread

Been a few days since I've posted - this past week was rather busy, and Murray's levels seemed pretty good so I was able to manage fairly well! Didn't end up getting as many tests in as I'd like on a few of those days, but hoping this upcoming week won't be as all over the place.

One thing I was wondering... when you've found the right dose for a cat (right now, .75 seems to do well for him), what should his levels ideally look like? Will they be up and down as much, or more of a steady level? Just not quite sure what to be looking for with his levels when he's on the "right" dose.

Also, the auto feeder I bought finally arrived Friday afternoon, so yay! Going to be using that for the first time tomorrow while I'm at work!
 
The ideal cycles should look flat and green, for a tightly regulated cat. However, cats are notoriously unpredictable and don't like to follow the rules. You will find all sorts of variations. What can happen if a kitty is regulated, is that their pancreas starts to heal, the beta cells return to work, and less insulin will be needed. This would be indicated by kitty going under 50 and earning a reduction if you are following the TR protocol. I would watch him closely if you can, maybe get a +3 test tonight. If a kitty is going to go low when starting out green, it is often, though not always, earlier in the cycle.

You might want to test the autofeeder tonight. Often the first few times the noise of it opening scares them away. I started feeding a meal in the feeder when I was home, so Neko associated food with it.
 
I was thinking that was what it should look like... I have no idea if we're getting closer to that with Murray just yet, but judging by how things have been going so far, it's definitely not getting worse! I think so far that .75 is the best dose - there seems to be a little less up and down with that, which is good! He still hasn't gone under 50 yet - every time he gets a little close to it, I get a little understandably nervous, so :P I'm just about to get a +3 right now, but his +2 was up a little from his preshot level, which was interesting to see...

Also, just tested out the new autofeeder... It's a testament to just how much Murray loves his food that the sound didn't even phase him. I manually rotated it once without food in it, and he was just curious about the sound... the second I tried it with food, the only thing that he cared about was the snack in the feeder. I made it rotate a few times, just to see if it would spook him at all... the whole time, he was just fighting to get at his food, so I think we should be good :D
 
I'm glad you got the feed and that Murray is not afraid of it. I would recommend that, after you fill it in the morning, set it on the base so that the last dish is in the 0 position, and then manually rotate it so the first meal is there. This will ensure that the tray is seated properly. I have had a few occasions where the tray didn't rotate, and it was because I had not made sure it was seated correctly first. Lesson learned at hungry cat's expense! :facepalm:
 
Hey there and Welcome! I don't think I ever posted on your thread before.

Glad that Murray doesn't mind the autofeeder noise. You will find it a life saver to dole out food while you are at work and keep him safe. Depending on the number you get at AMPS will determine what carb % food you put in the feeder.
 
Hi there! Thanks for the welcome, I appreciate it, and it's nice to meet you :D

So, first day with the auto feeder... I tested it before I left for work, it was seated properly and everything was fine... I came home from work, and it had spun properly... but Murray didn't eat a scrap of food! He tends to sleep a lot during the day, so my thinking is that he just didn't hear it or didn't pay it any attention and therefore didn't realize that there was food there waiting for him. :facepalm: Will give it another shot tomorrow, here's hoping that he figures it out eventually...

His PMPS today was 83/4.6, and I gave him another .75 dose, going to track him closely to make sure he stays well in the safe range though. All looks pretty good though!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top