08-19 Small Kitty - pmps +11 344 amps 391 pmps 509 - Fast food !

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Very Active Member
Good morning all !

First I'd like to say that I'm kind of sorry for having been pessimistic this week.
Constancy and regularity in life is something important to me. When things a changing
(like Small Kitty starting to be agitated all the time) I dont like that. Hope carfurby
theory (that Small Kitty will get used to lower numbers) will come true.

This morning, it's enjoyable to have a cat, no stress, no meowing to the extreme,
no garbage can thrown on the floor, he's relax. Why is that ? He's in the higher zone.
Being in yellow or blue will be way different, I'll start losing patience feeling like
if I'm still at the office.

Did the last testing pattern as yesterday, a test 1h before feed the amps, he's
going up. Hard to say if this is random or a constancy, would be nice if it was
constance, feeding the curve would be possible. Right now it just can make things
worst if he's in the sky.

Indeed this was a good morning, it was nice to see Small Kitty being nice and
quiet. Sad that the price is high numbers.

Good day all

Sébastien

Yesterday :
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...79-11-376-pmps-472-3-364.163228/#post-1754536

.
 
Good morning Sebastian

It is hard to deal with FD since you really can't control how your kitty is going to respond to treatment. All you can do is test, feed good food and give insulin and monitor and increase/decrease as necessary. Our kitties call the shots and we just follow their lead. Since insulin is a hormone and does not act or absorb exactly the same each day we can't control how it will work. But all of us on here are doing the very best we can to keep our kitties healthy and we have to give ourselves a lot of credit for that. I remember when I first started lurking on the forum and saw other kitties doing so well and even going into remission. It was very disheartening when I saw how poorly my guy was responding (that was before I found out he had other health issues) I thought I was doing something wrong or maybe there was some "secret" that would help and I obsessed over finding the right way to do things. Turns out there is no magic answer and I wasn't doing anything wrong, it just is the way it is. But almost 2 years later he is still with me and he wouldn't have been if I had not treated him. There are good days and there are bad days, but through it all we are all learning and doing the very best we can for our furkids.

It is very normal for numbers to go up at the end of the cycle. At this point the insulin is wearing off and the next shot is still to come or has not started working yet. Feeding the curve is a tricky approach since different kitties will act different and it depends on how well the pancreas is working. If I feed my two after nadir, they tend to go up faster. If a kitty is in lower numbers, then giving a bit of food to keep them surfing will often help keep the numbers flat. It just depends on how your own kitty reacts to food at different points in the cycle. There really isn't a one size fits all approach to feeding the curve.

Hopefully you can get a good curve this weekend and do some mid cycle spot tests as well.

Have a good day!

:bighug: :bighug:
 
Good morning all !
This morning, it's enjoyable to have a cat, no stress, no meowing to the extreme,
no garbage can thrown on the floor, he's relax. Why is that ? He's in the higher zone.
Being in yellow or blue will be way different, I'll start losing patience feeling like
if I'm still at the office.

I understand how you feel as I'm going through the same thing. Maximus used to be more of a grazer, but now that he is hitting more and more blue, he thinks he is starving and begs and begs. Watching him go up and down and up and down to the food dish is difficult because it feels like it's all for nothing. He even begs for a couple days after the blues when he's in the middle of a bounce. It drives me a bit nuts, so I try to make sure I get out of the house for a couple hours for a walk or something. Our mental health is important too.
 
Good Morning Sebastien ~ This sugar dance is not predictable and consistent which for people who like consistency, is maddening. Can you get a curve in this weekend? It looks like SK needs an increase. Keep in mind too that with the vacation dose, things got disrupted some. It took me one month to get Bubba back in better numbers after my time away in April.

Like Mary Ann said, all you can do is do what your are doing and keep putting one foot in front of the other and systematically keep raising the dose until you hit that magic dose.
 
It looks like SK needs an increase

You guys are very nice. I tough some members had deserted me because of my pessimistic mood.
Mary Ann, the wear out of the insulin at the end of the cycle is what was obvious to me and think
it's useless to test at this time. It's just pushing feeding after kitties are seeing me and making them mad.
My presence is synonym of food, nothing else :).

About the reduction, I've both ears torn on opposite directions. On one side the flirting in the blue
will make bounce more frequent and might turn into black, on the other, surfing in the yellow zone
will not give a break to the system. What's the best ? Not sure, but TR would say to increase
IF you know nadir but it's not constant. I'll curve him this week-end.

Again, I'happy to see you

Sébastien
 
Last edited:
Good morning Sebastian

It is hard to deal with FD since you really can't control how your kitty is going to respond to treatment. All you can do is test, feed good food and give insulin and monitor and increase/decrease as necessary. Our kitties call the shots and we just follow their lead. Since insulin is a hormone and does not act or absorb exactly the same each day we can't control how it will work. But all of us on here are doing the very best we can to keep our kitties healthy and we have to give ourselves a lot of credit for that. I remember when I first started lurking on the forum and saw other kitties doing so well and even going into remission. It was very disheartening when I saw how poorly my guy was responding (that was before I found out he had other health issues) I thought I was doing something wrong or maybe there was some "secret" that would help and I obsessed over finding the right way to do things. Turns out there is no magic answer and I wasn't doing anything wrong, it just is the way it is. But almost 2 years later he is still with me and he wouldn't have been if I had not treated him. There are good days and there are bad days, but through it all we are all learning and doing the very best we can for our furkids.

It is very normal for numbers to go up at the end of the cycle. At this point the insulin is wearing off and the next shot is still to come or has not started working yet. Feeding the curve is a tricky approach since different kitties will act different and it depends on how well the pancreas is working. If I feed my two after nadir, they tend to go up faster. If a kitty is in lower numbers, then giving a bit of food to keep them surfing will often help keep the numbers flat. It just depends on how your own kitty reacts to food at different points in the cycle. There really isn't a one size fits all approach to feeding the curve.

Hopefully you can get a good curve this weekend and do some mid cycle spot tests as well.

Have a good day!

:bighug: :bighug:
Excellent post Mary Ann!
 
Nice evening their care takers friends,

Just back from a good evening passed with my father, supper was fun and relaxing. He
even asked how Small Kitty was doing !! When I explained the strategy he didn't seem
completely uninterested. As far as money is not in the conversation it goes well.

Some great time

What's less funny is what I found when stopping at home from the office for pmps and leave. My little monsters are always seizing all opportunities. The cabinet where the
food is stored must have been left with the door not pushed all the way. The first vet I
consulted had sold me food, 1 bag of Purina DM dry food for diabetic (quite pathetic) and
cans. All cans are long gone but part of the dry food bag was still there kept to rise
GL is needed. To raise it, it did, quite a bit. They knew they did something wrong, when
I arrive they went straight for hiding ! Was wondering what and got the answer quicly.
There was dry food all over the floor, they must have eaten like pigs !

So with sugar level busted I decided to let them out and take some air. This will burn this
extra glucose and I'll be there all day tomorrow to catch them up.

Hope they'll enjoy the ride !

Good night to all of you, take great care of what you leave in the open !
.
 
You have two little monkeys not cats! LOL. Hope he comes down soon. You might have to invest in a safe that can't be cracked!

Glad you had a nice dinner with your Dad and that he was interested in SK and the diabetes. It 's nice to have family support. A lot of us don't get that so this is our family. :bighug:

Have a good night and good luck with your curve this weekend.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top