08/19 Regs AMPS 184 +5.5 156 +8 195 PMPS 231

His pm pre is only 231 tonight, I hope that he will be fine with the dose. I just wonder why he is suddenly having so much better values? And if we should go a little lower in the future?
 
Last edited:
Beautiful blue surf today. A little bouncy tonight. He's seen a lot of bouncing, which is normal as they begin treatment.
Thank you so much Mary. He really had a great day and was not as thirsty and looked just soo happy. But after today I kind of expect a little bounce at least.

I just gave him the Lantus and just stress that he might to drop too low tonight. I thought the same this morning though
 
Check him at +2 to see what direction he's headed. If he's ~20% lower than the preshot number, you might expect an active cycle. If he's flat, then you might expect a normal Lantus cycle with some downward momentum. If he's ~20% higher, then he might be going into a bounce.

I'm so happy to hear that he was looking and feeling better today! As they say here, our kitties are so much more than just blood glucose numbers--we always want to focus on how they are feeling and behaving.

231 is definitely not too low of a number to shoot. Before you know it, you're going to be shooting greens! Take a look at Jude's ss. We shoot a lot of greens. That's where you want Regs to be, and eventually you will get there.
 
Check him at +2 to see what direction he's headed. If he's ~20% lower than the preshot number, you might expect an active cycle. If he's flat, then you might expect a normal Lantus cycle with some downward momentum. If he's ~20% higher, then he might be going into a bounce.

I'm so happy to hear that he was looking and feeling better today! As they say here, our kitties are so much more than just blood glucose numbers--we always want to focus on how they are feeling and behaving.

231 is definitely not too low of a number to shoot. Before you know it, you're going to be shooting greens! Take a look at Jude's ss. We shoot a lot of greens. That's where you want Regs to be, and eventually you will get there.
Thank you so much for that advice, need to remember that for the future! That really is a great first indicator how the next hours could be. At +2 he was at 320 so I guess poor Regs is having another bounce. He got one teaspoon of medium carb food for dinner but that should have not such a gain in sugar.

Jude’s numbers are impressive, not sure if we ever will get that low. Since we are on Lantus he definitely has a downwards trend but I really thought that he couldn’t get much better than today 😂 I guess we keep working on that
 
Yes, he’s bouncing from hitting those lower numbers that he’s not used to. He’s likely still got some room for an increase. If it were me, I would check tomorrow and ask about a dose increase by putting up your “?” Prefix. Early on in treatment, it’s best to get them into lower (healing) numbers, if you can. Cats can go into remission, you know, which means they don’t need insulin.
 
Back
Top