? 08/19 - Going higher after insulin shot

Status
Not open for further replies.
The two numbers are actually about the same since meter variance can be 20%. he then hit a good nadir. Since you are following SLGS see what info you get with the curve. His nadir might even be earlier or later than your tests show.
 
Thanks - so I get this right, you are saying her nadirs might be an hour after the insulin has kicked in the morning?
I still don't quite understand how the #'s can be higher when after two hours the insulin is 'supposed' to kick in. Is this not correct?
 
Max almost always got a big food spike and the insulin didn't kick in until +3 unless he had a very active cycle. I would suggest you get spot checks at various times when you can to see what Martini is doing. The lantus cycle varies a lot from cat to cat and cycle to cycle. Nadirs can be early or late. I don't think too many have a nadir at +1 though. Some nadir at preshot though. That's more common with lev.
 
Hi Sandy, Lantus onset (when it kicks in) is normally around +2 if you cat will have an active cycle ..... Nadir is the lowest point of the cycle which is around +7 give or take every cat is different. After the cat reaches nadir they start coming back up. So it is normal that you pre-shots BG is higher than middle of cycle. The two hours after a shot can go up, stay the same or a little lower. If about the same or lower that usually mean kitty will have an active cycle meaning he will keep going down and will peak at nadir. This is when we like to monitor and see how well the cycle will be.

Hope that helps, see the following it helped me understand a bit better
Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

An active Levemir cycle will have an onset at approximately +4 and a nadir around +8 - +10. However, please keep in mind every cat is different (ECID). Data collection will offer you a better picture of YOUR cat's response to either of these insulins.

Initially, don't expect to see "active" cycles after every single shot whether you're using Lantus or Levemir. Chances are, your kitty had diabetes for some time before diagnosis. It requires time for kitty's body to become used to dropping into lower numbers than their bodies have become accustomed. Don't expect immediate results! Regulation takes time and patience:
  • Also worth noting: "Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations."http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm. Here in the Lantus and Levemir Insulin Support Group (ISG), we've affectionately dubbed this unexplained phenomenon "New Dose Wonkiness" (NDW).
 
I think what you are seeing is minor bounces or inactive cycles after Martini has an active cycle, example 08/17 was active. Since his number seem to be leveling out today he may have another active cycle tomorrow or the next day. Eventually he will have active cycles more often the more he heals and becomes regulated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top