? 08/18 Tommy - AMPS 111, +3.15@120,+9@105

He's bouncing today, probably due to the greens yesterday or last night. Nadirs in a bounce cycle may be different than a typical cycle with some downward movement.

When following SLGS, you hold the dose for a week, unless he goes below 90, before deciding if you need to increase again.
 
just had a doubt if the latest dose decrease was a bit premature since at PMPS+8 BG was up at 98, not in 80 as wished for... Will try to do another AMPS +7 or +8 today
 
just had a doubt if the latest dose decrease was a bit premature since at PMPS+8 BG was up at 98, not in 80 as wished for... Will try to do another AMPS +7 or +8 today
His +8 was 79 on 8-17 during the AM cycle so it was right to increase
As Elise said on your previous post
With SLGS a reduction was earned congrats. Yes, his new dose is 1.25. If under 100 do not shoot. I am going to sound like a broken record but if you can’t test after PMPS I would not shoot if under 140.

Can't you try and get some tests in @+4 and +6 during the PM cycle , mix them up every night like filling in pieces of a puzzle
Nadirs move around.
 
Last edited:
His +8 was 79 on 8-17 during the AM cycle so it was right to increase
Can't you try and get some tests in @+4 and +6 during the PM cycle , mix them up every night like filling in pieces of a puzzle
Nadirs move around.

if onset is past +4, not sure we will capture nadir at +6. Will try though over the weekend. We are staggering tests around the cycle to build the trend. With data collected so far, not seeing obvious nadir's move around. More obvious that if the dose is insufficient, end of cycle BG ends up higher from the start of cycle BG and nadir in such run is not as "deep" dip. With slightly higher dose, nadirs are deeper and likelihood of ending the cycle at lower BG versus starting BG, is more likely. Just need to pick the right dose somewhere in between to get BG balanced, I think...
 
Last edited:
If under 100 do not shoot. I am going to sound like a broken record but if you can’t test after PMPS I would not shoot if under 140.
If we would've skipped the shot last night at PMPS@103, we would ended up with much higher BG then 111 at AMPS. Seen that before, when with insufficient dose had +70 rise over the cycle
 
When following SLGS, your goal is nadirs in the 90-149 range. So far you have that on this dose, but it's too early to say what 1.25 units can do by itself. The depot from a larger dose can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. Time for patience. Hold this dose for 7 days, unless he goes below 90 again. We call feline diabetes a marathon, not a sprint.
 
When following SLGS, your goal is nadirs in the 90-149 range. We call feline diabetes a marathon, not a sprint.
what if nadir is below 90 within a week followed the drop - drop the dose once again?

have short brake planned 2 years ago in a week. were trying to bring BG to healing territory as quickly as possible Not sure either cancel the trip or else...
 
as expected, with lowered dose, at PMPS BG was 120 (higher then in the morning of 111). Seems as levemir's deposit is not sufficient to level off the BG?
 
Yes, if he drops below 90 within that week, it means another 0.25 unit dose reduction.
as expected, with lowered dose, at PMPS BG was 120 (higher then in the morning of 111). Seems as levemir's deposit is not sufficient to level off the BG?
He's actually looking really flat, which is good. Actually great for a cat so newly diagnosed. Meters can be 15-20% out, meaning 120 and 111 are pretty much the same number.

Try not to analyze each and every cycle. You are looking for trends over several cycles. And how low the dose is taking the cat. Look around at other recently diagnosed cats. Tommy is doing great compared to many of them.
 
Yes, if he drops below 90 within that week, it means another 0.25 unit dose reduction.

He's actually looking really flat, which is good. Actually great for a cat so newly diagnosed. Meters can be 15-20% out, meaning 120 and 111 are pretty much the same number.

thank you for Your Encouragement

unfortunately appears that 1.25u is not sufficient yet. dropping to 1.25u pushed PS BG to 146 the morning of 8/19. uptrend started with lowered dose. Should we consider going back to 1.5u?
we're measuring with 2 different make testers. Measurements are within 5% difference
 
Last edited:
Back
Top