08/17 Mami Cat | AMPS 321 | Update

Clarice & Mami Cat

Member Since 2026
Previous post


Hi everyone!
It was a challenging week here, but we’ve made it through this initial chapter.
(I’ll be answering the messages from the previous condo here, in today’s one.)

Mami Cat is currently being treated for Mycoplasma, specifically the species that attacks red blood cells. Thankfully, she is already doing better, and her anemia has also improved.

A kidney issue was also detected...
She needed to use an aluminum-based phosphorus binder, which was started at the clinic because her phosphorus level was higher than it should be. I started giving the phosphorus binder in capsule form at home on Friday, but yesterday, Sunday, she developed a irritated anus - it was quite pink and swollen because her stools had become harder and drier due to the aluminum. I was so worried with my beautiful and sensitive Mami Cat ❤️🙏

... I decided to take her back to the clinic yesterday for guidance. We stopped the aluminum, and we will repeat her basic bloodwork and phosphorus level to see how things are before making any further decisions. So, for now, she is not taking the phosphorus binder.

Today, just one day later, her anus is already back to normal, with no swelling and normal coloration. I thank God for that 🙏💕!

I’ll write about the other important details in the replies below, including her diet and Lantus drop.

Onward, with faith 🙏💕
Wishing you all a blessed week and safe surfs 🤍
 
Last edited:
Vet stress can definitely raise the bg. You can get buprenorphine in liquid and dribble on her gums at home but you might already know that. Do you have a copy of these labs as well as the previous to see how much the markers increased?

Hi Elise!
🫶 thank you for your message.

I’ve spoken with the vet a few times about buprenorphine given into the gums, but they are not familiar with this practice or with this specific type of buprenorphine here. The one available here is in injectable form. So, I took her to the clinic in the mornings and again in the evenings to receive some medications and then come back home. And yes... Stress... I clearly noticed her BG increasing at both times, reaching ranges that were not usual for her...

The good thing is that I stopped the buprenorphine on Saturday as a trial, and since then she has been doing well - thankfully, showing no signs of pain! Her trips to the clinic have been reduced. She is still receiving erythropoietin there, but not every day. BG starting to get back to her "usual" ones.

I have her lab results here with me, both the most recent ones and the older ones from January 2026, and I think it would be useful to add them to her spreadsheet. I haven’t done that yet… things have been hectic, and I’ve been spending most of my time monitoring her. But I’ll enter the results here.

Her phosphorus has increased quite a bit. Plus, at the clinic she was eating only Hill’s a/d, which has a higher phosphorus content. She wasn’t accepting any of her other canned foods. Now that she is feeling better, she has started accepting her usual wet foods again.
 
I'm so sorry you're dealing with so many overlapping things. I know we were advised on the renal diet, even with the higher carbs, when Binx was first diagnosed with CKD. Hindsight, I might've gone for it like you're doing now... we can always give more insulin in the BG is too high.

Hope someone jumps in on the dosing advice. Sending many healing vines 🍃🍃🍃🍃

Hi Briana!
Thank you so much for your message and vibes. 🍃🍃
How has Binx been doing? I’ll look for your condo here later so I can catch up and see how he’s doing. 🤍

I get it... We’re always concerned about BG because we know firsthand how much effort and how challenging this journey can be. So I completely understand you... At this point, I really don’t want her BG to go up.

Bur you know, I’m actually looking at the phosphorus levels in the food she usually eats. It seems to be a very good low-carb wet food from Farmina. Apparently, the phosphorus levels are good, but I’m going to confirm this. I’ve already asked them for the typical nutrient analysis to make sure. If it checks out, I think this may be the best option.

The renal foods I’ve found here have much higher carb levels, and at this point in her treatment, they really seem to be affecting her BG, at least from what I’ve observed so far. I’ve noticed that they not only seem to slow down the drop, but also cause her BG to rise, and then it stays elevated for quite a while.

If I can, I’d prefer to continue with a low-carb one and do my best to find a way to balance both things...

The good side is that I’ve learned I can use the renal food to actually bring her BG curve up when needed. Now I have that option when necessary.

Sending a hug and lots of love to Binx 🤍 🍃🍃🍃🍃
 
Hi Briana!
Thank you so much for your message and vibes. 🍃🍃
How has Binx been doing? I’ll look for your condo here later so I can catch up and see how he’s doing. 🤍

I get it... We’re always concerned about BG because we know firsthand how much effort and how challenging this journey can be. So I completely understand you... At this point, I really don’t want her BG to go up.

Bur you know, I’m actually looking at the phosphorus levels in the food she usually eats. It seems to be a very good low-carb wet food from Farmina. Apparently, the phosphorus levels are good, but I’m going to confirm this. I’ve already asked them for the typical nutrient analysis to make sure. If it checks out, I think this may be the best option.

The renal foods I’ve found here have much higher carb levels, and at this point in her treatment, they really seem to be affecting her BG, at least from what I’ve observed so far. I’ve noticed that they not only seem to slow down the drop, but also cause her BG to rise, and then it stays elevated for quite a while.

If I can, I’d prefer to continue with a low-carb one and do my best to find a way to balance both things...

The good side is that I’ve learned I can use the renal food to actually bring her BG curve up when needed. Now I have that option when necessary.

Sending a hug and lots of love to Binx 🤍 🍃🍃🍃🍃
Binx is doing okay right now, thanks for checking in 🫂

I agree with all that you've noted and it's great that the food she currently eats is low phos. Like others have said, there definitely are some great low phos options that are also low carb. If you can get both, why not?
 
Glad to hear her bottom is feeling better. A couple years ago Bell went through multiple sagas of ruptured anal glands. I believe it started after a dental when she got constipated due to pain meds, and since cats express those gland when they poop, hers built up and... you can imagine. Not sure if that was what Mami Cat was dealing with, but I'm glad it looks a lot better!
 
Put some coloured liquid (tea, juice, pop) in a syringe. You can use a used one. Then slowly twist the plunger to form a drop. Practice twisting the plunger until you are getting consistent sized drops. Then draw 0.1 units in the practice syringe. Twist out drops and count how many are in 0.1 units. If it is two, then you have it. If it is three, then draw 0.1 units and twist out 1 drop to make 2 units.

In the Remarks section, could you note which day you started the high carb kidney food? Anything that might impact BG should be recorded in the spreadsheet.

What stage kidney disease was she diagnosed with? Some vets start the kidney food sooner than you need to. There are commercially available foods that are good for both kidneys and diabetes.

Any increased BG from vet stress should be cleared by the next day. TR says you can increase anytime.

Hi Wendy, thank you so much for explaining it to me. I’m going to practice it and train before I actually do it.

She came back home last Tuesday, but from then until Saturday she still had to go to the clinic to receive meds by injection. As a result, her BG was affected by the stress. Whenever she had a chance to start improving, she had to go back to the clinic again, so her numbers were higher for several days in a row. Now that she is going to the clinic much less frequently, things are starting to normalize. (Today was the first day that her numbers returned to her “normal” range during the day.)

I’m still deciding what to do about her diet. Today she did not receive any aluminum, and I gave her usual LC food, which seems to have a low phosphorus level. But I need to be sure about that, so I’ve asked the company for the TNA. Yesterday she ate the kidney food, and I did notice that her curve was higher. (I learned that I can use it when I need to bring her numbers up.) However, she had also been to the clinic the night before, so I think that may have influenced it as well. I’ll make a note of this in her spreadsheet.

I’m trying to find options that work well for both diabetes and kidneys. I’m going to check the phosphorus levels of each one.

According to her SDMA, which was measured in a sample with ++++ hemolysis, her SDMA is in Stage 2, almost Stage 3. The hemolysis may have affected the result, so the actual SDMA could be even higher (without the hemolysis interference). I would need to repeat it once she has stabilized a little from the Mycoplasma, and probably also wait a bit to see how much hydration may be influencing the results. But since her urea, creatinine, and phosphorus were also elevated, along with protein in her urine and a urine specific gravity lower than normal, in theory, it does seem to point in that direction:


1787012004943.png


I’ll receive the results from the lab work she had done on Sunday tomorrow, so we’ll see if there has been any improvement. 🙏

Any increased BG from vet stress should be cleared by the next day. TR says you can increase anytime.
Here it means I can increase anytime if the nadirs are above 50, is that correct?


Thank you again ✨
 
Last edited:
Glad to hear her bottom is feeling better. A couple years ago Bell went through multiple sagas of ruptured anal glands. I believe it started after a dental when she got constipated due to pain meds, and since cats express those gland when they poop, hers built up and... you can imagine. Not sure if that was what Mami Cat was dealing with, but I'm glad it looks a lot better!

... Oh wow, poor Bell... Glad she got through that... Some medications that affect the intestines can really have a strong impact on that area. I think in Mami Cat’s case it was just irritation in the area, which became swollen and quite red. Thankfully, she seems much better today. Such a relief... 🙏

Thank you, Seth. Sending some love to Bell, and I hope she is doing well these days 🤍!
 
Remind me, have you ever tested 50's or 60's on a Libre against results with a blood glucose meter? Typically if kitty is seeing 50's or 60's on a BG meter, there isn't a lot of room for an increase.

I’ve only done this twice, Wendy.
Once, when the Libre showed 67, the handheld reading was very similar, and once, when the Libre showed 74, the handheld actually showed 101.

For readings above 100, I found the Libre 1 to be quite accurate several times last week while she was at the clinic. I started getting more confident about practicing, and now I can prick her with less fear, but I still don’t get enough blood.
Since she was hospitalized and so many things happened, I stopped trying it with the handheld and need to get back to it to check this again.

So, a 60 or 50 on the Libre 1 could actually be 90 or 80.
I’m still doing just one drop.
 
Back
Top