08/17 Buddy AMPS 287, + 4.75=84, + =5.50=76, CANNOT GET BG TO STAY UP

Status
Not open for further replies.
According to Dr. Lisa's chart, the Royal Canin Glycobalance is 14% carbs, the upper end of what we'd call medium carb food. Feeding food under 10% carbs is best. We've seen several kitties switch from Glycobalance to lower carb food and had the insulin needs drop.
 
and
According to Dr. Lisa's chart, the Royal Canin Glycobalance is 14% carbs, the upper end of what we'd call medium carb food. Feeding food under 10% carbs is best. We've seen several kitties switch from Glycobalance to lower carb food and had the insulin needs drop.
I have tried everything I can find and he will not eat it. I would gladly change him if he would eat something else.
 
By the way, you have a very cute looking kitty.
Thank you, your little guy is gorgeous too.


Hmmm, I'm sure that's what you were told, but looking at the ingredients, there's a fair bit of wheat in there, I put the gauranteed analysis numbers through a calculator, and it comes back very hc, I know that we need the as fed numbers to be accurate, but i doubt it's LC. George was put on a diabetic dry food from hills by his vet, that was also HC.

I can see that with the problems his had that finding an appropriate food is difficult, I count my lucky stars that George has never come across various fud he doesn't like, especially as we now have to feed him low phosphorous too, tricky finding food that's good for FD and CKD.
When I can find something he will eat, I will change him. I am always looking for LC wet food.
 
When I can find something he will eat, I will change him.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Just wanted to make you aware, I know it can be hard with picky kitties, don't give up hope of finding something LC he will eat.
Dr Lisas searchable food chart might be a useful resource to find some of the more obscure foods that you might not have heard of. I can't offer any suggestions, I'm in europe so by and large our food selection is different.
 
It's such a challenge finding something a picky diabetic cat who's prone to pancreatitis will eat. Sometimes you have to go with what they will eat and dose around it just like people who have cats that need steroids for other medical issues. We can only do what we can do ... o_O
 
I know my cat with Diabetes for 2 years should be eating all wet food but he refuses to eat more then a half of the friskes smaller cans. The vet put him on Purina DM dry(we tried the wet 1st but I ended up throwing more then 90% of the can away. ) .he only likes a few flavors of the Friskes wet and thats it! I have tried other better for him brands and he walks away. I have left the wet food down and refused to give him his dry food and then he just doesn't eat. I would love to get him on all wet so I can lower his Lantus insulin shots but he loves the DM dry. Side note is he is doing great. He had Nueropothy and came out of it and plays around like he is a kitten. He only pees 2 times a day and his sugar although a little higher (200-100 average) then the vet would like (100 or less) . I would love him to get remission. I don't think it will ever happen on the DM. I can not lessen his insulin in the least it upsets his levels. so I have been stuck at 4 u twice a day. I was looking into alternate lower carb drys. EVO he hated. So long story short. How do you get a cat that absolutly hates most wet food to eat it?? Mind you, this cat walks away from a pce of fresh Chicken. He would rather like the salt off a chip! I don't feed him scraps but I have tested what he likes and the normal fish, chicken and dairy he sticks his nose up at. In fact funny tidbit, He does one dry heave everytime he smells anything with milk!! I am not sure how this cat weaned his mother hating it so much! LOL. I want to switch him to a more healthier dry food with out grain and has some real ingredients in it instead of the DM! He does get constipation at times.
 
I know my cat with Diabetes for 2 years should be eating all wet food but he refuses to eat more then a half of the friskes smaller cans. The vet put him on Purina DM dry(we tried the wet 1st but I ended up throwing more then 90% of the can away. ) .he only likes a few flavors of the Friskes wet and thats it! I have tried other better for him brands and he walks away. I have left the wet food down and refused to give him his dry food and then he just doesn't eat. I would love to get him on all wet so I can lower his Lantus insulin shots but he loves the DM dry. Side note is he is doing great. He had Nueropothy and came out of it and plays around like he is a kitten. He only pees 2 times a day and his sugar although a little higher (200-100 average) then the vet would like (100 or less) . I would love him to get remission. I don't think it will ever happen on the DM. I can not lessen his insulin in the least it upsets his levels. so I have been stuck at 4 u twice a day. I was looking into alternate lower carb drys. EVO he hated. So long story short. How do you get a cat that absolutly hates most wet food to eat it?? Mind you, this cat walks away from a pce of fresh Chicken. He would rather like the salt off a chip! I don't feed him scraps but I have tested what he likes and the normal fish, chicken and dairy he sticks his nose up at. In fact funny tidbit, He does one dry heave everytime he smells anything with milk!! I am not sure how this cat weaned his mother hating it so much! LOL. I want to switch him to a more healthier dry food with out grain and has some real ingredients in it instead of the DM! He does get constipation at times.
I suggest you repost this as your own thread on the main health forum where many people will see it. It's an issue many have had and it's not specific to Lantus users. :)
 
I know my cat with Diabetes for 2 years should be eating all wet food but he refuses to eat more then a half of the friskes smaller cans. The vet put him on Purina DM dry(we tried the wet 1st but I ended up throwing more then 90% of the can away. ) .he only likes a few flavors of the Friskes wet and thats it! I have tried other better for him brands and he walks away. I have left the wet food down and refused to give him his dry food and then he just doesn't eat. I would love to get him on all wet so I can lower his Lantus insulin shots but he loves the DM dry. Side note is he is doing great. He had Nueropothy and came out of it and plays around like he is a kitten. He only pees 2 times a day and his sugar although a little higher (200-100 average) then the vet would like (100 or less) . I would love him to get remission. I don't think it will ever happen on the DM. I can not lessen his insulin in the least it upsets his levels. so I have been stuck at 4 u twice a day. I was looking into alternate lower carb drys. EVO he hated. So long story short. How do you get a cat that absolutly hates most wet food to eat it?? Mind you, this cat walks away from a pce of fresh Chicken. He would rather like the salt off a chip! I don't feed him scraps but I have tested what he likes and the normal fish, chicken and dairy he sticks his nose up at. In fact funny tidbit, He does one dry heave everytime he smells anything with milk!! I am not sure how this cat weaned his mother hating it so much! LOL. I want to switch him to a more healthier dry food with out grain and has some real ingredients in it instead of the DM! He does get constipation at times.
Buddy likes dry food, he is eating Dr. Easley Chicken Recipe dry food, it has 4 carbs and is a little pricey. Young Again dry food is also low carb, but EVO is not low carb. At this time I can only get Buddy to eat RoyalCanin Glycobalance wet food & Dr. Easley, by tomorrow this could all change.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Just wanted to make you aware, I know it can be hard with picky kitties, don't give up hope of finding something LC he will eat.
Dr Lisas searchable food chart might be a useful resource to find some of the more obscure foods that you might not have heard of. I can't offer any suggestions, I'm in europe so by and large our food selection is different.
I have a copy of the Dr.Lisa's food chart, I always take it with me when I go shopping, because I am always looking for LC wet food.
 
Buddy likes dry food, he is eating Dr. Easley Chicken Recipe dry food, it has 4 carbs and is a little pricey. Young Again dry food is also low carb, but EVO is not low carb. At this time I can only get Buddy to eat RoyalCanin Glycobalance wet food & Dr. Easley, by tomorrow this could all change.
Thank You! I will look the food you suggested up. I am already paying over $40 per 8 lb bag for the DM. So I a don't have sticker shock anymore. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top