08-16 Small Kitty - amps 335 - pmps 452 +3 455 - High GL possible explanation

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Very Active Member
There it is, same old song appearing in Small Kitty SS, Bleu-Yellow-Purple and (less and less black).

Start to think he would make a very bad pilot. He's always making hard bouncy landings and has
to make a turn around by going back into the sky.

Anyone have tried setting air breaks on their cat ? Or trust reverser ? These hard landing must
be hard on the airframe. No crack so far but they might start appearing with this bad pattern.

For now he's in control and watching is the only way to go.

At least there is no crash landing so far, just bounces getting softer and softer.

Will see.

Good day all !

Sébastien

Yesterday :

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...6-pmps-236-fast-recovery.163060/#post-1751859
 
Not bouncing as high is a good thing. Small Kitty is making progress. I think our cats don't feel as bad when they are high because of a bounce instead of just being in high numbers. I hope SK clears the bounce today.
 
Some kitties are just much more prone to bouncing than other kitties ECID...and SK looks like a bouncer. Progress is when the bounces are lower and last shorter time periods. I too have a bouncer and I try to ignore the high numbers with a bounce. It does help...along with patience pants....to understand why a kitty is getting higher numbers, even if you don't like it.

It is also possible that SK may have gone lower last night since his PMPS and AMPS are almost the same thing. Same as the night before when SK had a red PMPS and a yellow AMPS...obviously he went down through the night...you just don't know how low. If possible with your schedule trying to get a +3 test at bedtime would give a clue whether he is dropping much during the night. Sometimes having a few extra pieces of the puzzle makes the whole picture clearer.
 
obviously he went down through the night...

Thanks for your hints, Mary Ann, Carla. I've learned to wear my patience pants, it's not worrying me that much
since I've seen a full night intensive test.

Does that means pancreas is working fine but the hormones / brain are messed up ? That it's just a question of ''training'' ?

This would make the scenario way more acceptable. If you know that you have an engine that is in good shape but the
mixture / coil / oil filters / carb ... or anything like that just needs fine tuning it's no problem. It's just a question of
tweaking it out and it would work fine..

Sad we cannot open the hood and change defective parts or turn some screws :(
 
All in all he is making progress. Slowly and surely. And I like what Mary Ann said about the bounces being lower and clearing quicker. It doesn't take away all the frustration but it does help to know that he is coming along. And like Mary Ann said, a +3 test before you go to bed would be helpful to fill in the puzzle.
 
With FD the pancreas has become too overworked and either is not functioning well or only works part way. The purpose of insulin is to give "outside" insulin to allow the pancreas to rest and heal..something that is unique to kitties. Sometimes the pancreas may sputter and work somewhat, but it takes time for the healing process.
 
With FD the pancreas has become too overworked and either is not functioning well or only works part way. The purpose of insulin is to give "outside" insulin to allow the pancreas to rest and heal..something that is unique to kitties. Sometimes the pancreas may sputter and work somewhat, but it takes time for the healing process.
:(:(:( Hope damage is not beyond repair..

Small Kitty has been, I think, affected by diabetes for over 4 months before I visited a vet.

He had almost stopped eating and I was sure it was due to the switch from dry to wet and he didn't like any wet food, no matter witch I was trying..

Vet told me, when I went to his office that 1 week later he was DKA, life or death situation..
Still paying the 1000$ bill it cost me for diagnostic and supplies.
.
 
SK
:(:(:( Hope damage is not beyond repair..

Small Kitty has been, I think, affected by diabetes for over 4 months before I visited a vet.

He had almost stopped eating and I was sure it was due to the switch from dry to wet and he didn't like any wet food, no matter witch I was trying..

Vet told me, when I went to his office that 1 week later he was DKA, life or death situation..
.



SK certainly had a rough start with the DKA. But you nursed him past that. Many kitties have been diabetic for a long time until it is noticed, but a kitty's pancreas can heal and regrow beta b cells which is the part of a pancreas responsible for producing insulin. It just takes time. I was testing my Maxie every month or so because her brother was FD and her numbers were all good. Then after just a month since the last good reading her numbers went up and stayed up. Even though I caught her very early it has still been 5 months since she started insulin. Her numbers are improving little by little, but she also has her ups and downs. Some kitties take longer than others, but as long as we treat them and they are happy, it is all good.
 
Is the healing happening while in normal range (green/blue) ?.

If Small Kitty is allergic to those range it might take decades.

.


The more time a kitty spends in normal/close to normal numbers the better the healing. Since you are using a pet meter, the blue numbers are good for SK. Even being in yellow is better than being in black. SK is not "allergic" :rolleyes: to those sort of numbers...he just needs to "learn" to accept them as okay. And being a bouncy kitty he will go up and down. The lower the bounces and the faster he clears them the closer it comes to SK's body accepting lower numbers. But it is not a straight line "cure" numbers will go up and down.
 
Not bouncing as high is a good thing. Small Kitty is making progress. I think our cats don't feel as bad when they are high because of a bounce instead of just being in high numbers. I hope SK clears the bounce today.

Hi Carla,

Sounds that it took 3 years to get Furball under control and 2 years for bounce to stop / be less frequent ?

ECID but that's kind quite long time of feeling nothing was working..
Were you able to remain ''indifferent'' or not worried ?
I'm just starting to do so... but it's not easy..

Your strategy seems to have been SLGS and I notice that it finally worked almost in one week.

Nice sight, wish this to all that are here.

Seems it's working but like Mary-Ann said ITS LONG !

*nice to know that the 800 strips I ordered through a deal on Ebay will probably all be used.

.
 
Good evening,

I might have found a reason for high GL, or maybe not. For some time there was something that semmed to
be stuck on the Small Kitty's belly. It was very hard to get there with all the air and located at the upper end
of the rear leg. After reading a post where there was question of DKA that could be trigger by different reason,
there was one witch is infection. Arriving from the office I took a pair of scissors and removed the air surrounding
what seems to be bunch of hair stuck together. After cutting it I found under a little wound the size of a pen.
It's not smelly, there is no absess or pus accumulation, just a red spot 2/3 the size of a pencil head.

I think it's time to visit the second vet I visited after the bad advice from the main one and taking care
of Small Kitty's diabetes.

Hope this is no thing for anesthesia, just cleaning and antibiotic, if needed.

In the mean time GL is higher then this morning but Big Brother is fine, tested and
he's at 86. (Mary-Ann made me freak out when saying she discovered diabetes
on her second cat, Maxie).
.
 
In the mean time GL is higher then this morning but Big Brother is fine, tested and
he's at 86. (Mary-Ann made me freak out when saying she discovered diabetes
on her second cat, Maxie)


Sebastian

I am sorry of I freaked you out. I was simply testing Maxie because her brother was diabetic and strangely enough 1 1/2 years after Tuxie was diagnosed, Maxie ended up diabetic too, with no "reason" for it. I was saying that genetics can have a part in FD, and even catching them early like I did with Maxie is no guarantee that they will go into remission quickly. You were concerned that Sk might have been diabetic a long time.
 
I'm glad you found the wound. I hope it is a simple treatment. Sending prayers.

Not being of diabetes I would fix this myself. I've open Small Kitty's belly one time for wound way bigger then that. The
apses was as big as a thumb and index together. With scalpel I opened it up, purge the pus, used disinfectant. After a week of purging the pus he healed fine. With messed up blood it's another story, don't want to play into that. There is things on the internet that are frightening, a site mention that ointments with antibiotic can make develop hormones affecting pancreas and other organs.. :nailbiting:. Even here on FDMB there is horror stories of wounds ending bad..:confused:

.
 
Last edited:
Sebastian

I am sorry of I freaked you out. I was simply testing Maxie because her brother was diabetic and strangely enough 1 1/2 years after Tuxie was diagnosed, Maxie ended up diabetic too, with no "reason" for it. I was saying that genetics can have a part in FD, and even catching them early like I did with Maxie is no guarantee that they will go into remission quickly. You were concerned that Sk might have been diabetic a long time.

no worry, this semi fear has always been there. At one point I tough that the owner of the Kitts's mother
dumped her because of that (the kitties being affected by diabetes has the mother). Maybe I should start writing novels or scenarios for movies ?

:)
 
Last edited:
IMG_5613.jpg


Back in 2012 (oups, wasn't the belly but shoulder that time)
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top