? 08/16 Martini - Advice on dosing needed pls

Status
Not open for further replies.

SMM

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/08-13-martini-pls-give-me-some-advice.182198/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/08-13-martini-pls-give-me-some-advice.182198/
I do not think Martini is bouncing from lows. I missed writing down a few spot checks I did to fill in 'blanks' on my spreadsheet and cannot remember what they were. :( (Had cleared the meter)
Failed decrease? Then why is she not coming down after an increase?
She is not coming down - only at the end of the cycles by a little. She goes up 3-4 hours after eating - and seems to stay up. There's something wrong with this picture, and I'm too much of a loser to know how to fix it or what is going on.

Any expertise is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
 
First of all, nobody is a loser here. We are all learning how our own cats act.. and they don't read the rule book!

It looks like you have been on 1.25u for only 4 cycles. With SLGS, you need to give it 7 days/14 cycles. She did well on 1.25u before so be patient and you should start seeing some better numbers once the depot fills more. :bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: SMM
@Mandy & Rex has a good point. It's unusual to see an immediate response to a change in dose -- either increase or decrease. It helps to remember that it can take a few cycles for the depot to catch up with the new dose. (It generally takes as many as 3 days/6 cycles to see a response. The "wait a week" with SLGS is an artifact of the dosing method not how long it will take for a dose to take effect.) In addition, you had a fur shot which depletes the depot a bit.

The hardest part of dealing with Lantus is being patient! Give Martini a little more time. You may need to increase the dose. (I'm not sure why you think there's a failed reduction. You increased the dose.)
 
  • Like
Reactions: SMM
She didn't do so well AMPS on the 1.25 then either, but PMPS was not too bad. I just have a nagging feeling that 'something' is not right. Why going up after the lantus kicks in?
I know my patience pants don't 'fit me too well'. Thanks Mandy and Sienne for the encouragement!! :)
 
Sienne, someone said to me before that a possibility of the numbers going up are the result of a failed reduction I did last week.
 
Hang in there Sandy! You are a caring owner and Martini is lucky to have you.
Try to enter your readings right after you take them so you don't lose that valuable info.
You are in good hands here, just ask lots of questions.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SMM
I saw you note about Friskies in you SS. It only the Pate I believe that is Low Carb. It the same with Fancy Feast, the pates are the best.

Take a look at others SS you will see that AMPS and PMPS are higher, you will see BG start going down typically a couple hours after shot time (Onset), it will continue and peak mid cycle (nadir normally +7 give or take) and then slowly the number will start going up to the next pre-shot... then it repeats. Yes morning and evening cycles tend to be a bit different, most kitties have better bg in the evening.

You should start seeing better numbers soon, I am guessing tomorrow will be a good day :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: SMM
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top