08/15 Mouse PMPS 279, +2 276, +4 284

I see you were up till +6. I you are testing so much, you might as well follow TR and reap the returns of all your hard work?
See what she does today and you can decide accordingly. :-)

I hope I am not hounding you about TR (I have been known to in the past!). I just feel like you're putting in so much effort that is wasted on SLGS.
 
I see you were up till +6. I you are testing so much, you might as well follow TR and reap the returns of all your hard work?
See what she does today and you can decide accordingly. :)
Yeah I had to finish up a couple of things before I could get to bed and my OCD kicked in a bit so I checked and double checked to make sure I had left enough snackies out for the night by the time I was done it was +6 so I figured that I might as well grab that BG too! I thought I had read something with TR about absolutely no dry food on that protocol and although I don't give Mouse any we do have 2 other cats that get Dr. Elsey's and Wysong Epigen 90 dry. I have not seen her eat any of their dry food and I usually only put out 2 tbsp. of dry at a time for the other 2 I can't guarantee 100% that she wouldn't pick up a piece that was dropped here or there. Also wondering if I can still give freeze dried treats on that protocol?
 
hope I am not hounding you about TR (I have been known to in the past!). I just feel like you're putting in so much effort that is wasted on SLGS.
No worries... You're not hounding... I value your input and there's nothing wrong with pointing out more reasons I should switch. Honestly I think I'm going to have to go that route cause I can't seem to slow her BG dives in the AM despite snacks in between and i don't think we are getting anywhere productive with all this bouncing.
 
I have not seen her eat any of their dry food and I usually only put out 2 tbsp. of dry at a time for the other 2 I can't guarantee 100% that she wouldn't pick up a piece that was dropped here or there. Also wondering if I can still give freeze dried treats on that protocol?
That's fine. Her stealing a piece or two here and there is no issue. And yes, freeze dried meat is not considered dry food.

No worries... You're not hounding... I value your input and there's nothing wrong with pointing out more reasons I should switch. Honestly I think I'm going to have to go that route cause I can't seem to slow her BG dives in the AM despite snacks in between and i don't think we are getting anywhere productive with all this bouncing.
She had good numbers 1U. She was seeing green every day on it. With TR, you would have held the dose. As her body gets used to greens she will bounce less. In fact, at 1U she was clearing bounces in a single cycle.
 
That's fine. Her stealing a piece or two here and there is no issue. And yes, freeze dried meat is not considered dry food.


She had good numbers 1U. She was seeing green every day on it. With TR, you would have held the dose. As her body gets used to greens she will bounce less. In fact, at 1U she was clearing bounces in a single cycle.
I will talk with my wife about it because it does affect her too as far as if we need to stay home to monitor if she looks like she may get close to a hypo. If we do go the TR route do you think it would be ok to start tomorrow morning and go back up to 1 unit? Also wondering what tests are absolutely necessary, I know I probably already test at those times anyway but I just like to check what tests I have to do. I hope I'm not being too much of a spaz but I'm excited and nervous about this potential change.
 
If we do go the TR route do you think it would be ok to start tomorrow morning and go back up to 1 unit?
Yes, you could go up to 1U tomorrow morning unless she throws you a curveball today. Cats are known to respond to the threat of a dose increase!

If we do go the TR route do you think it would be ok to start tomorrow morning and go back up to 1 unit? Also wondering what tests are absolutely necessary, I know I probably already test at those times anyway but I just like to check what tests I have to do.
You really don't need to test any more than you're already testing.

I hope I'm not being too much of a spaz but I'm excited and nervous about this potential change.
Not at all. TR can seem overwhelming till you see the results it yields. And the thought of limes is scarier than when you actually encounter them and see that you can bring her up to safe numbers.
 
Yes, you could go up to 1U tomorrow morning unless she throws you a curveball today. Cats are known to respond to the threat of a dose increase!
She might just throw that curve ball... We'll see... Considering her nose dive from AMPS to +2... Will be getting a +4 in about 20 min and then have to get to an appointment so hopefully +4 isn't too crazy!
 
She might just throw that curve ball... We'll see... Considering her nose dive from AMPS to +2... Will be getting a +4 in about 20 min and then have to get to an appointment so hopefully +4 isn't too crazy!
Looks like she has slowed down between +2 and +4, so you're good to head out.
 
So I was doing some reading on TR and I'm actually more confused now...

Can you list what's confusing to you?

The main differences are on TR, reductions aren't earned until they drop below 50 and you only hold the dose for 3 days if it's not getting the results you want.

As for testing, think of your spreadsheet like it's a puzzle. Every piece you put in makes it easier to see the whole picture so if you minimize your spreadsheet so you can see about the last month's worth, see if there are any big empty white spaces and try to grab a test in those places. Otherwise, as long as you can get a mid-cycle on the AM ( usually +5 to +7) and a "before bed" test on the PM cycle (usually 2-3 hours after the PM shot) is all that's required.

As for the occasional kibble off the floor, that's not a problem. Even Dr. Lisa, the vet that wrote all the wonderful information we use a lot here and who did all the work to make up the food chart says that a couple of pieces as a treat isn't a problem. It's mostly cats that are left with a 5 gallon bucket of kibble and that's all they ever get.

You can always try TR and if something about it feels wrong to you, there's no rule that says you can't go back to SLGS.

If you want to see the benefit of TR, check out China's spreadsheet(s)
 
As for testing, think of your spreadsheet like it's a puzzle. Every piece you put in makes it easier to see the whole picture so if you minimize your spreadsheet so you can see about the last month's worth, see if there are any big empty white spaces and try to grab a test in those places. Otherwise, as long as you can get a mid-cycle on the AM ( usually +5 to +7) and a "before bed" test on the PM cycle (usually 2-3 hours after the PM shot) is all that's required.
I will have to see if I can get her spreadsheet up on my laptop to see if I can minimize to see the whole picture, I've only ever used my phone for her spread sheet and can't seem to minimize it on there.
So by not testing more than that isn't it kind of a crap shoot on whether or not she might go hypo? I'm only asking cause her nadir has been anywhere from +4 - +7 or will that become more consistent with the TR protocol?
 
My suggestion is still to switch to TR and take her up to 1U tomorrow. She has seen no green on this dose and it's not like you have tested any less with SLGS. Like Chris said, you can always go back to SLGS if you find it doesn't work for you. For now, the first difference to keep in mind is that you would reduce if she drops below 50 and not 70. As for other aspects of TR, we will help you figure them out as you go.
 
My suggestion is still to switch to TR and take her up to 1U tomorrow. She has seen no green on this dose and it's not like you have tested any less with SLGS. Like Chris said, you can always go back to SLGS if you find it doesn't work for you. For now, the first difference to keep in mind is that you would reduce if she drops below 50 and not 70. As for other aspects of TR, we will help you figure them out as you go.
Ok... We'll do it. :D You guys have my back right?:nailbiting:
We do have to run to Walmart tomorrow and get hay and grain so hopefully she'll have safe numbers and not drop fast.:nailbiting:
 
@Bandit's Mom ... I'm thinking I should go rest up for what tomorrow might bring... She hasn't dropped at all tonight... Does that mean she's stuck in this bounce tonight?
 
No problem. If you find she is dropping at +2 or +3, you can always feed her higher carbs to slow her down.
So feed medium or actual high carb? I have 15% and 20% in her hypo kit and I know I can mix some LC with the 15% mc if I need something in between... But how will I know what percentage to give?
 
So feed medium or actual high carb? I have 15% and 20% in her hypo kit and I know I can mix some LC with the 15% mc if I need something in between... But how will I know what percentage to give?
Feeding the curve is all trial and error - how much carbs you feed depends on where in the cycle you are (it takes more carbs earlier in the cycle when the insulin action is strongest), how much of a drop you are seeing and how carb sensitive Mouse is. All of this you will figure out with time and experience. For now, especially in cycles when you have to head out, your aim will be keeping her safe (over 50). Let's see where she is in the AM.
 
Feeding the curve is all trial and error - how much carbs you feed depends on where in the cycle you are (it takes more carbs earlier in the cycle when the insulin action is strongest), how much of a drop you are seeing and how carb sensitive Mouse is. All of this you will figure out with time and experience. For now, especially in cycles when you have to head out, your aim will be keeping her safe (over 50). Let's see where she is in the AM.
Ok:)
Today has already started out to be a crap day, I didn't hear my alarm go off... Atleast I was only a half hour late on her shot:facepalm:... Do I walk back her shot time the same as SLGS 15min./ cycle?
Fingers crossed that the rest of the day goes better...
Her 08/16 AMPS is 295
 
Last edited:
@Bandit's Mom Ok ... Good, Thank you!
I'll be giving her a snack shortly (1tsp FF pate) at +1 to hopefully make sure she doesn't drop to fast this morning... Then another snack at +2 and +3. I'll see where she's at before we need to leave and give medium carbs if necessary... Does that sound like a good game plan? I'm guessing today shouldn't go too bad because she did well at this dose before, I think it might get a little scarier after a couple few cycles when her Depot starts to build back up from the increase. Am I correct in my thinking?
I meant to reply to your above comment but somehow I didn't so I figured I'd tag you instead of retyping everything :D
 
Last edited:
Back
Top