08/15 Eddie AMPS 167 +3 47 +3 54 +3.3 54 +4 59 +4. 5 50 +4.75 77 +5.25 131 +6 158 PMPS 358 +2.5 412

Stalling at 54 twenty minutes after feeding @+3 , so gave 1.5 tsp gravy on MC.

He is totally asymptomatic. Runs to the food dish and sits for his test...Now sitting beside me as if to say, Is that all there is?
 
Phew, ok, @4.75 on the way up with the help of Karo @ +4.5. Will keep testing.

Am I to understand even after a dose increase 17u from 16u, that I'm going back to 16u? This was really quite dramatic. Perhaps it was waiting in the wings but we've sure had a big change.

@Wendy&Neko Would appreciate your thoughts.
 
Glad you finally added syrup. He needs to stay UP!

Today was a bounce breaking cycle, 382 last night sliding down to 167 this AM. Not the best time for an increase, as there is already downward momentum from the bounce break. Adding an increase gives it extra momentum you don't need. And can result in reductions that aren't really representative of what the dose could do. Having said that, I would reduce. As you said, it was quite dramatic. Your choice if you want to go back to 16 or split the difference to 16.5.
ok, so, maybe this is the breakthrough dose?
Acros don't have breakthrough doses. It's not about pancreatic healing, but rather matching insulin to changing GH output. What acros do have is the correct dose at a particular point in time.
 
Glad you finally added syrup. He needs to stay UP!

Today was a bounce breaking cycle, 382 last night sliding down to 167 this AM. Not the best time for an increase, as there is already downward momentum from the bounce break. Adding an increase gives it extra momentum you don't need. And can result in reductions that aren't really representative of what the dose could do. Having said that, I would reduce. As you said, it was quite dramatic. Your choice if you want to go back to 16 or split the difference to 16.5.

Acros don't have breakthrough doses. It's not about pancreatic healing, but rather matching insulin to changing GH output. What acros do have is the correct dose at a particular point in time.

Well, this is enough to curl one's hair. I guess a "breakthrough" for an acro is the abrupt ceasing of GH, like Blue had 1.5 years ago when he suddenly went OTJ.
I'm so glad I'm home today.
 
Finally, we made it to +6 158 . That was not how I was expecting the day to go but living with an acrokitty is never predictable.

He's glad I'm not poking his ears any longer. Good thing he has two of them.
 
Whew! I sure am glad you were home today! And, I sure hope Blue did surf safely today1 :cool: It used to be one could use Neosporin with pain relief for poor kitty's ear, or polysporin in Canada. Do you have some other ointment for poor Eddie's ears? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Whew! I sure am glad you were home today! And, I sure hope Blue did surf safely today1 :cool: It used to be one could use Neosporin with pain relief for poor kitty's ear, or polysporin in Canada. Do you have some other ointment for poor Eddie's ears? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Today really was one of those days! But all’s well right now.
Is Polysporin ok to use on cats?
 
I tried to screenshot from a post I saw awhile back. I think polysporin is the same thing as neosporin, if so, it is not recommended to use. I'm googling to see what else you could use. I saw it awhile back as well.

upload_2022-8-15_18-16-46.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-8-15_18-16-46.png
    upload_2022-8-15_18-16-46.png
    83.4 KB · Views: 121
What a day. Ok, so all the carbs have done their work and we seem to be on the bounce-rise for tonight.

Because he went to 47 today and then hovered in the 50s until +5, I've returned to 16u from 17u. Figure it's always easier to put insulin in than it is to take it out.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top