08/15 Eddie AMPS 167 +3 47 +3 54 +3.3 54 +4 59 +4. 5 50 +4.75 77 +5.25 131 +6 158 PMPS 358 +2.5 412

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Jodey&Eddie&Blue, Aug 15, 2022.

  1. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Good luck with the new dose.
     
  3. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    ok, so, maybe this is the breakthrough dose? @Wendy&Neko
    Went to 17u this morning. Had to take Max (dog) to vet for checkup, back at +3. Was shocked at +3 47 so I tested again +3 54. Gave tsp gravy on 1 1/2 TBSP LC
     
    Rainbow Conti likes this.
  4. Rainbow Conti

    Rainbow Conti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2021
    Holy moly! Dont forget to test again 20 to 30 after the gravy.
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  5. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Yep, on it!
     
  6. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Stalling at 54 twenty minutes after feeding @+3 , so gave 1.5 tsp gravy on MC.

    He is totally asymptomatic. Runs to the food dish and sits for his test...Now sitting beside me as if to say, Is that all there is?
     
    Rainbow Conti likes this.
  7. Rainbow Conti

    Rainbow Conti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2021
    Well it's good he has no symptoms but gee whizz Eddie cant you just pick the numbers in between blue and lime.....le sigh
     
    Jodey&Eddie&Blue likes this.
  8. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    He is just so dramatic, although he would never show it.
     
    Rainbow Conti likes this.
  9. JL and Chip

    JL and Chip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Did you test again yet?
    On an AT, 54 is still way too low, especially this early in the cycle.
     
  10. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Not to worry, JL, I know!! Just testing and not simultaneously posting!! But, still, @ +4 59! Fed more HC and will test again in 20 mins.
     
    Tiger(GA) and Ruth likes this.
  11. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Ok, now I've added Karo syrup to the HC.
     
  12. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Phew, ok, @4.75 on the way up with the help of Karo @ +4.5. Will keep testing.

    Am I to understand even after a dose increase 17u from 16u, that I'm going back to 16u? This was really quite dramatic. Perhaps it was waiting in the wings but we've sure had a big change.

    @Wendy&Neko Would appreciate your thoughts.
     
  13. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Glad you finally added syrup. He needs to stay UP!

    Today was a bounce breaking cycle, 382 last night sliding down to 167 this AM. Not the best time for an increase, as there is already downward momentum from the bounce break. Adding an increase gives it extra momentum you don't need. And can result in reductions that aren't really representative of what the dose could do. Having said that, I would reduce. As you said, it was quite dramatic. Your choice if you want to go back to 16 or split the difference to 16.5.
    Acros don't have breakthrough doses. It's not about pancreatic healing, but rather matching insulin to changing GH output. What acros do have is the correct dose at a particular point in time.
     
  14. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Well, this is enough to curl one's hair. I guess a "breakthrough" for an acro is the abrupt ceasing of GH, like Blue had 1.5 years ago when he suddenly went OTJ.
    I'm so glad I'm home today.
     
  15. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Finally, we made it to +6 158 . That was not how I was expecting the day to go but living with an acrokitty is never predictable.

    He's glad I'm not poking his ears any longer. Good thing he has two of them.
     
  16. Tiger(GA) and Ruth

    Tiger(GA) and Ruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Whew! I sure am glad you were home today! And, I sure hope Blue did surf safely today1 :cool: It used to be one could use Neosporin with pain relief for poor kitty's ear, or polysporin in Canada. Do you have some other ointment for poor Eddie's ears? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  17. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Today really was one of those days! But all’s well right now.
    Is Polysporin ok to use on cats?
     
  18. Tiger(GA) and Ruth

    Tiger(GA) and Ruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    I tried to screenshot from a post I saw awhile back. I think polysporin is the same thing as neosporin, if so, it is not recommended to use. I'm googling to see what else you could use. I saw it awhile back as well.

    upload_2022-8-15_18-16-46.png
     
    Ben&Squirrel likes this.
  19. Tiger(GA) and Ruth

    Tiger(GA) and Ruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Here's one option:
    upload_2022-8-15_18-21-18.png
     
  20. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    It's no problem seeing the blood, but I wish I had something to soothe his ears where they've been poked...
     
  21. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    What a day. Ok, so all the carbs have done their work and we seem to be on the bounce-rise for tonight.

    Because he went to 47 today and then hovered in the 50s until +5, I've returned to 16u from 17u. Figure it's always easier to put insulin in than it is to take it out.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2022
    Tiger(GA) and Ruth likes this.
  22. Rainbow Conti

    Rainbow Conti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2021
    Coconut oil...that's what I use.
     
  23. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Oh, that's great! I have some...thank you!!!
     
    Rainbow Conti likes this.
  24. Jodey&Eddie&Blue

    Jodey&Eddie&Blue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021

Share This Page