08/15/17 Murray AMPS 117, PMPS 117, +2 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Finn & Murray

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

So, tested Murray about ten minutes ago, his results were 117/6.5... not sure if it's safe to give him a full dose, or what I should do this morning. Do I stall? Do I shoot? Do I do a smaller dose (.75U, perhaps?) Any suggestions?
 
I am not that experienced yet, but I do know from all the reading and with what they say that you need to stay consistent with dosing. A couple days ago I had a ps number that I wasn't sure on shooting and I tested every 15 minutes. The number never changed much so I went ahead and shot full dose and just monitored closely. There are several here who can definitely help you with this though, especially since you have just started monitoring.

@Sandy and Black Kitty @Doodles & Karen @Wendy&Neko
 
I should be able to test again in 15, yes. 15 after the first test, or 30 minutes total after the first test? I haven't fed him yet, so already good on that front!
 
I am not that experienced yet, but I do know from all the reading and with what they say that you need to stay consistent with dosing.

That's the thing that's got me worried about switching up doses... He's yet to go under 4.5 in any of my tests, at least, so I have to think he should be safe with a 1U dose this morning, but being at work is the only thing making me worry about giving a full dose. I'm jazzed he's staying in a good range, but not being able to test all day makes shooting a normal dose a little intimidating :nailbiting:
 
This is where an autofeeder would come in hand. You could load it with food, either low, medium or high carb food, to be doled out should he need it. Without the feeder in place yet, it's riskier.
 
As for timing, test at least 15 minutes after the initial,test. I would go a bit more if you have a little time to decide what to do before dashing off to work.
 
Really wish I'd gotten two day shipping on that autofeeder I bought now... Things usually arrive here earlier than Amazon predicts, though, so I should have it by this upcoming Monday at the latest. Crossing my fingers for Friday! The other thing though, I can definitely bike home around lunch again to test if needed. Or, if not lunchtime, I can bike home around the +6 hour mark, whenever that is. Would that make it a little less risky?

It's been about 27 minutes since the first test, so I'm going to do that now!
 
That's the thing that's got me worried about switching up doses... He's yet to go under 4.5 in any of my tests, at least, so I have to think he should be safe with a 1U dose this morning, but being at work is the only thing making me worry about giving a full dose. I'm jazzed he's staying in a good range, but not being able to test all day makes shooting a normal dose a little intimidating :nailbiting:

That is the advantage I have, I own my own business so work from home. I can monitor as much or as little as needed. I would probably be a nervous wreck if I knew that I couldn't be home during the day to monitor.
 
That is the advantage I have, I own my own business so work from home. I can monitor as much or as little as needed. I would probably be a nervous wreck if I knew that I couldn't be home during the day to monitor.

It really is stressful not being around all the time to be able to monitor - I mean, I only live 1km from work, and on my bike that's maybe a 5-7 minute ride each way (there's one light that, if you don't catch it just right, you're waiting forever :P), so... It's possible for me to come by and check on him at least once a day if needed. But I really wish I could check a little more often!
 
He may have dropped due to lack of food, but best be safe today. It's OK if you have to reduce or skip today to keep him safe. Murray will get back on track soon enough. He's actually doing really well for a newly diagnosed diabetic, so a few higher cycles won't hurt him.

I think you have two options. The first is a skip. The second is a reduced dose and leave quite a bit of food for him, plus come back when you can to test.
 
Regardless of what you do, I think tonight you should try 0.75 units in the hope we can find a dose you can shoot twice a day.
 
He seems to have done alright on .5U doses - not that I have a ton of data from those doses, but I haven't seen any huge drastic drops or rises when I've given him that. I think I'm going to do a .25 dose this morning, though, just to be on the safe side, and I'll swing by around the +6 mark if I'm able to to get a test then and give him a bit more food. Glad to hear he's doing really well though - I'm not sure why he's been reacting so well to the treatment already, but I'm certainly not going to complain about it!
 
I was wondering if maybe 0.75 might be the right number? 0.5 seems to be too little, but 1U seems to be a little unstable... hm. Maybe I'll do a 0.5 this morning instead, and go from there. Yeah, I'll do that.
 
Alright, that's that done - gave him a nice bit of food (there's no pacing this cat, if it's left out for him, he's going to eat all of it :| ), and gave him a 0.5 dose. Will hopefully be able to check up on him around 1 or 2pm! Thank you so much for your help, both of you!
 
Well, didn't make it home for the +6 like I wanted to, but I got a +7.5 just now - tested at 122/6.8. Not too bad, right?
 
Glad he behaved himself during the day. It probably would have been okay to shoot .75, but we always recommend you err on the side of safety. "Better too high for a day than too low for a minute".
 
Me too! I've always been an overly cautious person anyways, especially when it comes to health things like this. And, when I have to be gone for an entire day, I would much rather play it safe. It's nice though, even with a low dose his levels weren't terrible, so I'm counting today as a win!

As well, I just did Murray's evening test... He was at a 117/6.5, so lower than his +10. So, I did as Wendy suggested that above, and I gave him a 0.75 dose. I think it's a good place to go from here - 0.5 doesn't seem to keep him low enough, but 1U seems almost too much - and I'm going to test him again at +2 and +3 (maybe just +3, we'll see) to see where he's at. Really hoping that 0.75 is the magic number, I have a good feeling about it though, judging by his numbers... Fingers crossed! :D
 
Well, so far, so good! +2 after the new 0.75 dose, and he's gone to 92/5.1. The results are similar to when I've given him a full 1U dose in the past, but... Still looking good, I think?

(Also, I'm not sure how many updates people usually give on here in regards to doses and current test results, so if I'm over-posting or oversharing or anything, my apologies :p)
 
No worries on the amount of updates. It's kind of what people want to do. Read some of the other people's posts, and you'll see it varies a lot. There are just two things we ask. First, don't post a very low number, then stop updates. We all like to know things are working out OK. Second, try to keep your Subject line up to date. Once your question has been answered, remove the ? prefix, and try to keep the numbers current. You don't need the "safe to shoot or stall" up there any more. Those of us who scan the board for people who might need help, would like to know you no longer need help. If you have a new question, put the ? mark back up there. And you can usually just post the numbers for the current cycle. Keeping those test numbers up to date on the subject can help us see if there might be an issue brewing.
 
I was wondering if editing the title was okay, good to know that's kind of what you'd prefer people do anyways! :D I know every forum has different ways of running things, so I wanna make sure I'm not doing anything too egregiously wrong. But, I definitely won't post low numbers and then leave everyone hanging, and if we're encouraged to edit subject lines and keep them as up to date as possible, that's something I can do as well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top